Valeo11 images cropped?

Discussion about Leaf Capture and Leaf Remote application

Valeo11 images cropped?

Postby smalldogs » Mon May 06, 2013 1:52 am

Hi all,

I just got a Leaf Vale11 that I'm using with my Mamiay 645AFD, and so far I love it. I'm new to the digibacks and especially to the Leaf Capture software, so I'm hoping someone here can help me out.

When I compose an image, say, my dog just standing in front of me, the image that shows up after it transfers will have been "cropped" (for lack of a better word). The feet and ears will be missing.

I've checked and double checked all my settings, including my Output settings, which are set to No Selection, but I can't imagine why I'm not getting the entire frame using the standard 80mm lens. It looks more like a 100mm.

Is this typical? Is there a setting I can change to fix it?

Thanks for your help,

s
smalldogs

Re: Valeo11 images cropped?

Postby PhaseoneUser55657 » Mon May 06, 2013 4:04 pm

Ok, not sure on the Valeo11, but check the size of the sensor, I believe that is what is MF cropped sensor (1.3). Normally these come with a mask you put before the focusing screen of the 645AFD. So what you see in the view-finder is more than what is recorded. I have a Valeo22, which has a 1.1 crop, but because it is such a small crop they don't produce a crop marks for that one. I believe that all MF backs are cropped to some extent from the standard 6x4.5 film, I think the 80Mpix backs are the closest, then some have a 1.1 crop, then others a 1.3 crop. My bet is that your back is one of the 1.3 crops.

Robert
PhaseoneUser55657

Re: Valeo11 images cropped?

Postby Ulf » Mon May 06, 2013 7:21 pm

Hi

There is masks for both the 6/11mp Valeo and 22/33mp Aptus backs
The focus masks for 22/33mp backs can be seen here:
http://www.mamiyaleaf.com/accessories_f ... reens.html

We have for the 6/11mp Valeo as well on stock, its just not listed on the webpage anymore since the back is discontinued.