very slow response time

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One 6.x, 5.x and 4.x for Mac and Windows

very slow response time

Postby NNN634752651967070134 » Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:14 am

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie with Capture One.

I use a MacPro (2 CPU quad Core @2,26GHz / 32GB RAM / SSD 1TB) and Capture One 6.4.5 64bits. I shoot with a Canon 5D Mark III in CR2.

I'm pretty sure that my hardware configuration should me more than enough but Capture One is very very slow ! Do you have any advice on where do I start looking to solve my problem ?

Is there any cache folder I should move to the SSD disk ? What about the pre visualization CO seems to be working on, is there any way to stop it temporarily ?

Thank you for your precious answers !!
Marc
NNN634752651967070134

Re: very slow response time

Postby Drew » Wed Sep 10, 2014 12:31 pm

I'd suggest you provide some more specifics about your workflow.

Things like; where your RAW files are saved, how many RAW files to a folder, adjustments applied/being applied, location of the session, System OS, Graphic Card, etc.

Although your system is rather robust, it is also 5 years old. It's possible that years of OS upgrades have taken their toll and a new installation will help and perhaps not all of those RAM cards are operating as they once did. The Processors are good, but certainly not the best when compared to today's hardware. For example a MacBook Pro from last year will likely outperform that system now.
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew

Re: very slow response time

Postby brianmerwin » Sat Nov 08, 2014 7:16 pm

NNN634752651967070134 wrote:I'm pretty sure that my hardware configuration should me more than enough but Capture One is very very slow ! Do you have any advice on where do I start looking to solve my problem ?