Lost raw files after moving them to another folder

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One 6.x, 5.x and 4.x for Mac and Windows

Lost raw files after moving them to another folder

Postby NN248561UL2 » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:40 am

I was on a shoot recently and had to move about 30 images to a different folder from the Capture folder; 3 minutes later I wanting to check the images, but all that was showing in the thumbnail window were proxies, un-editeable. The raws were gone. Tough one to explain to the photographer and art director of a major tv network...
Could the folder itself be corrupted? Are all the files corrupted? Camera problems? I've had corrupted files before but C1 does not erase them, it just crashes...
Used OS 10.6.8 with C1Pro 6.4.3 (Macbook Pro 17" with SSD drive).
Thanks
NN248561UL2
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 10:37 pm

Re: Lost raw files after moving them to another folder

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:24 am

How did you do the move? From Capture One, from Finder?
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9467
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Lost raw files after moving them to another folder

Postby NN248561UL2 » Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:58 am

I moved the files in Capture One. It showed the progress with the little orange pie, everything was fine, no error message. Then gone.
NN248561UL2
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 10:37 pm

Re: Lost raw files after moving them to another folder

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:22 pm

Very scary. Undelete tool perhaps?
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9467
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Lost raw files after moving them to another folder

Postby NN248561UL2 » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:23 pm

Thanks Paul,

I will get back home soon to my laptop and backup drive for the shoot, I will double check a few things and get back to you next week.

I am pretty sure the files are lost, we reshot the setup after I realized the loss. My worry is, could that happen again? I am going to delete my whole system and reinstall everything (as I do regularly), change all my tether cables; the camera wasn't mine but it should have been serviced during the holiday - I forgot to say the shutter was dying on us (5d Mark 2).

More later.

Cheers!
NN248561UL2
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 10:37 pm


Return to Capture One 6.x, 5.x and 4.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests