Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One 6.x, 5.x and 4.x for Mac and Windows

Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby greengate » Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:48 am

I can import those files and work with them. But while importing, the camera-profil is applied and this turns the images much to saturated and to dark. Comparing to the images that I get in ViewNX2, they are grouse.
What’s wrong? I use C1 6.4.3 with the latest camera-profiles.
greengate
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:10 pm

Re: Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby Drew » Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:49 am

Can you provide some examples?
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY


Re: Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby Drew » Thu Sep 13, 2012 3:52 pm

I see what you mean but Nikon NX is applying some Auto Corrections while Capture One is not.
Perhaps the adjustment is subjective.
Can you create a support case and provide some RAW files so we can look into it further?
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby greengate » Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:30 pm

Here are the Raw-files.
http://www.gardapro.ch/uploads/images/2/nef.zip

If Nikon NX is applying some Auto Corrections, they deliver better dynamic range than I could ever get in C1...
In Nikon NX you get at least one f-stop more details in the highlights and in the shadows.

What can I do to get better resultes in C1?
greengate
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:10 pm

Re: Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby Drew » Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:52 pm

Drew wrote:Can you create a support case and provide some RAW files so we can look into it further?
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby greengate » Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:07 pm

Drew wrote:Can you create a support case and provide some RAW files so we can look into it further?

And how do I do that?
greengate
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:10 pm

Re: Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby Drew » Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:27 pm

http://www.phaseone.com/en/SupportMain/ ... pport.aspx

A quick search around the forum will list that link several times. We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby RB3Photography » Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:46 am

Yeah, I actually started a support case and it took 17 days of very slow back and fourth between PhaseOne's rather incompetent support and when they were done, I got nowhere and no answers.

What is the deal with this? I basically cannot use CaptureOne at the moment with my D800 files. I'm rather upset.
RB3Photography
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:01 pm

Re: Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby RB3Photography » Sun Sep 30, 2012 9:07 am

I spend more time correcting the work back to looking normal and if there's any sort of color accuracy involved, I'm shit out of luck.

My photos are in much worse shape than the ones he provided... Especially at higher ISOs.

I need this resolved quickly for my work flow!
RB3Photography
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:01 pm

Re: Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby greengate » Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:50 pm

I feel with you. C1 is now useless for me. I get better results even with Nikon VieNX2.
Maybe they are not interested in non Phase One users...
greengate
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:10 pm

Re: Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Sun Sep 30, 2012 7:04 pm

greengate wrote:I feel with you. C1 is now useless for me. I get better results even with Nikon VieNX2.
Maybe they are not interested in non Phase One users...

Any response on your support case?
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9467
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby Drew » Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:24 am

Just to reference the answer from Phase One Support in regard to the OP's concerns;

"the problem is with the ISO extension on the D800. Capture One uses the RAW file and does not recognize the added adjustments that Nikon has embedded with the file to correct for this ISO adjustment"

Please simply use the full RAW format at normal ISO's and you should be all set.
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby RB3Photography » Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:39 pm

I am still having problems with this issue. It's very severe. Can someone provide me with answers? I'm very upset.

I've downloaded the recent Capture One v7 and still tons of problems.
RB3Photography
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:01 pm

Re: Nikon D3, D4 and D800 images are not imported correctly

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Sun Nov 25, 2012 9:44 pm

RB3Photography wrote:I am still having problems with this issue. It's very severe. Can someone provide me with answers? I'm very upset.

Can you confirm or acknowledge whether the suggested solution by Drew works for you (or not)? Just checking you checked this before stating the obvious.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9467
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Next

Return to Capture One 6.x, 5.x and 4.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests