Capture One and importing Images from Nikon D3200

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One 6.x, 5.x and 4.x for Mac and Windows

Capture One and importing Images from Nikon D3200

Postby alanmpoulin » Sun Jul 01, 2012 8:53 pm

Hi,

Does anyone know what I need to do to get Capture One to recognize images I shot on my new Nikon D3200? For some reason, Capture One 5 PRO does not recognize any images I shot on my new D3200

HELP - SOS
alanmpoulin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 11:54 pm

Re: Capture One and importing Images from Nikon D3200

Postby Keith Reeder » Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:13 pm

The D3200 is very new - much newer than Capture One 5, and that version of the software will never support the camera.

in fact, even Capture One 6 doesn't support the D3200 yet, Alan.

You can convert the NEFs into DNGs with the free Adobe DNG converter - Capture One 5 will read them (although I can't vouch for the quality of the results) - but otherwise all you can do is wait until Capture One 6 catches up to the camera, and then upgrade to 6.
Keith Reeder
Keith Reeder
 
Posts: 1188
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Blyth, NE England

Re: Capture One and importing Images from Nikon D3200

Postby alanmpoulin » Tue Jul 03, 2012 4:31 am

Hi

Thanks for the response. I did find out that you can download Nikon Capture NX2, convert the image to jpg and then you can bring it into Capture One, however you lose alot of resolution. I noticed the image file size prior to editing is about 20MB. Once you convert it, the file size goes down to about 12MB

Thanks for the quick response and I hope the come out with a version of Capture One that will start to allow for this camera

Alan
alanmpoulin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 11:54 pm

Re: Capture One and importing Images from Nikon D3200

Postby Keith Reeder » Wed Jul 04, 2012 9:43 am

Oh, I'm sure that Phase One's engineers will be working on the D3200 as we speak, Alan - they'll do their best.
Keith Reeder
Keith Reeder
 
Posts: 1188
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Blyth, NE England

Re: Capture One and importing Images from Nikon D3200

Postby NN853292 » Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:23 pm

How about it Phase One Team ?

It is a pitty that you still do not support the D3200, it has a professional heart inside and with the right lens almost perfect.
Nikon development is for sure not a big deal for you - can you please do it ? :!:

Ralph Germany Frankfurt
NN853292
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:19 pm

Re: Capture One and importing Images from Nikon D3200

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Sat Jan 19, 2013 9:55 pm

Hi Ralph,

The Nikon D3200 NEF is supported in Capture One 7.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9467
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Capture One 6.x, 5.x and 4.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron