FUJI X-1 PRO

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One 6.x, 5.x and 4.x for Mac and Windows

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby Nicolas » Mon Jun 04, 2012 8:55 pm

Ario wrote:Nicolas,
There is a difference, which I believe is substantial, The Fuji X1 Pro sensor has got a non-Bayer CFA which has to be taken into account when demosaicing the raw file, no matter if it is in the DNG format.
I tested to import into CO the DNG version of the X1 pro file and the result is a purplish image heavily pixellated, totally unusable.

Ok, I understand now…
While Phase is undoubtedly working hard to get your camera supported, you should try http://www.iridientdigital.com/products ... loper.html
they have a fully functional demo (it only embeds "demo" on the output file but you can see the result in PS or other PP software.
Who knows!
Nicolas Claris
http://www.claris.fr
User avatar
Nicolas
 
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 8:33 pm
Location: Bordeaux - Europe

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby Ario » Tue Jun 05, 2012 3:35 am

Nicolas,
The X1-Pro is not in the list of the cameras supported by Iridient, which btw uses dcraw to decode the raw files (as several others) and dcraw does not support this camera yet.
Ario
Ario
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 11:00 am
Location: Milano, Italy

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby gullevek » Fri Jun 08, 2012 7:28 am

The X-pro1 has such a different sensor that supporting it will take quite some time (especially because I guess Fuji is not really helping them out with some detail specs).

You can read more about this problem on the Chromasoft blog: http://chromasoft.blogspot.jp/2012/06/f ... kypix.html
User avatar
gullevek
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 2:50 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby jknights » Sat Jun 09, 2012 1:29 pm

Ario wrote:Nicolas,
The X1-Pro is not in the list of the cameras supported by Iridient, which btw uses dcraw to decode the raw files (as several others) and dcraw does not support this camera yet.

There is a beta of DCRAW that does a very good job of converting RAF files to TIFF Files which can then be edited in Photoshop.
Still learning after all these years. Using Nikon D3S, D800, D600 DSLRs and Fuji XT1, XPro1, XE1, X100 with CapturePro.
===================================================================================
User avatar
jknights
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:09 pm
Location: Oliva, Valencia, Spain

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby jknights » Thu Jun 28, 2012 2:16 pm

Still no sign of a Capture Pro upgrade that provides Fuji XPro1 support.
:(
Still learning after all these years. Using Nikon D3S, D800, D600 DSLRs and Fuji XT1, XPro1, XE1, X100 with CapturePro.
===================================================================================
User avatar
jknights
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:09 pm
Location: Oliva, Valencia, Spain

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby Giulio Favotto » Thu Jul 19, 2012 10:42 am

So bad!!!
Giulio Favotto
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:21 pm

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby NNN634330179264543949 » Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:54 pm

What I don'd understand: Why can't the guys from Capture One post an information if they will solve the issue. Even better would be a date which the x-pro users can mark in their calendars, no?

Thanks in advance!
NNN634330179264543949
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:45 am

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby Drew » Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:05 pm

NNN634330179264543949 wrote:What I don'd understand: Why can't the guys from Capture One post an information if they will solve the issue. Even better would be a date which the x-pro users can mark in their calendars, no?

Thanks in advance!


I think if you review the Forum you'll see that we're pretty liberal with information where it can be provided, with the exception of release dates. If we can provide information we'd be happy to update you but if we cannot, we cannot.

I apologize if your frustrated.
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby NNN634330179264543949 » Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:38 pm

In the meantime I got the information from CO-support that the x-pro 1 is "on the request-list".

That sounds promising!!!

I'm sure the integration will make lots of customers happy.
NNN634330179264543949
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:45 am

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby jknights » Thu Jul 19, 2012 8:02 pm

NNN634330179264543949 wrote:In the meantime I got the information from CO-support that the x-pro 1 is "on the request-list".

That sounds promising!!!

I'm sure the integration will make lots of customers happy.


Yes I requested it back in March2012!!!
Still learning after all these years. Using Nikon D3S, D800, D600 DSLRs and Fuji XT1, XPro1, XE1, X100 with CapturePro.
===================================================================================
User avatar
jknights
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:09 pm
Location: Oliva, Valencia, Spain

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby Ario » Fri Jul 20, 2012 5:56 am

I dont know if this is the case for Phase One, but many "raw developers" are staying away from this unconventional raw file for which apparently it is not easy to find out an algorithm for demosaicing good enough for their standard.
Ario
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 11:00 am
Location: Milano, Italy

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby jknights » Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:44 am

Ario wrote:I dont know if this is the case for Phase One, but many "raw developers" are staying away from this unconventional raw file for which apparently it is not easy to find out an algorithm for demosaicing good enough for their standard.

That is laziness and incompetence rather than anything difficult about the RAW file layout. It is just not standard Bayer which everyone knows how to do.
The americanism of JFDI springs to mind. :twisted:


See here for discussions of the demosaicing.
http://chromasoft.blogspot.com.es/2012/ ... trans.html
http://chromasoft.blogspot.com.es/2012/ ... art-2.html
http://chromasoft.blogspot.com.es/2012/ ... art-3.html

In addition Dave Coffin has produced as usual way ahead of the rest a version of DCRAW that supports the sensor.
This is one man alone. If he can do then PhaseOne certainly can, if they dont know how then they have deep enough pockets to hire in Dave Coffin for consultancy on a daily rate. :lol:

I dont do excuses, only rationale.
If PhaseOne dont think there are enough users out there who want the RAW support for the XPro1 then that is different situation as then we need to chase marketing, not engineering.
Last edited by jknights on Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Still learning after all these years. Using Nikon D3S, D800, D600 DSLRs and Fuji XT1, XPro1, XE1, X100 with CapturePro.
===================================================================================
User avatar
jknights
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:09 pm
Location: Oliva, Valencia, Spain

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby Ario » Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:09 pm

I'm following since the beginning all this matter everywhere it is being discussed (including Sandy's blog and Sean Reid evaluations) quite closely and I had also some private exchange of view with Dave. My comment was not just based on nothing.
Ario
Ario
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 11:00 am
Location: Milano, Italy

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby jknights » Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:12 am

Ario wrote:I'm following since the beginning all this matter everywhere it is being discussed (including Sandy's blog and Sean Reid evaluations) quite closely and I had also some private exchange of view with Dave. My comment was not just based on nothing.

Since we see each other in other forums as well ;-)

However I do think that we should be seeing beta support from CPro sometime soon (completely guess and wishful thinking).
The CP team are usually very good at getting these out. I know Fuji sensors tend to be more exotic than Canon or Nikon but CPro dev team are very good as well. We can see that in the current product and there is very little to compare with it except Bibble5/Aftershot Pro but that has different features more suited to general work while the Capture Pro product is more suited to working professionals and studio use.

I was recently discussing with a wedding photographer who has moved almost completely from using his Nikons to two XPro1 units.
Still learning after all these years. Using Nikon D3S, D800, D600 DSLRs and Fuji XT1, XPro1, XE1, X100 with CapturePro.
===================================================================================
User avatar
jknights
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:09 pm
Location: Oliva, Valencia, Spain

Re: FUJI X-1 PRO

Postby Ario » Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:34 am

(our) World is pretty small. :wink:
I am a faithful user of Capture One since many, many years and I have a lot of confidence in the capabilities of their development team.
Ario
Ario
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 11:00 am
Location: Milano, Italy

PreviousNext

Return to Capture One 6.x, 5.x and 4.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron