Lost/stolen, corrupt HD or simply need to reset activations?

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One 6.x, 5.x and 4.x for Mac and Windows

Lost/stolen, corrupt HD or simply need to reset activations?

Postby Jim_DK » Wed Jan 04, 2012 1:27 pm

If you have a machine stolen, have an epic data failure and can't recover the HD or sell a machine and forget to de-activate it then there is an easy way to remedy the lost activations without the need to contact support.

This knowledge base article describes how to reset the key from your profile, zeroing the key and giving you a blank slate to then re-activate your machines:

http://www.phaseone.com/en/search/article.aspx?articleid=1184&languageid=1

If you still have issues then contact support via the support page: http://www.phaseone.com/en/SupportMain.aspx
James
Phase One DK
Jim_DK
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:00 pm

Re: Lost/stolen, corrupt HD or simply need to reset activations?

Postby Kevin » Sun Jan 08, 2012 4:05 pm

link not working - Appears to be truncated by forum software?
Kevin
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 6:23 pm

Re: Lost/stolen, corrupt HD or simply need to reset activations?

Postby Jim_DK » Sun Jan 08, 2012 5:56 pm

Copy paste error. Should be fixed now.

Thanks.
James
Phase One DK
Jim_DK
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:00 pm

Re: Lost/stolen, corrupt HD or simply need to reset activations?

Postby NNN634834952528623622 » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:13 am

For change of computer, I think there is an FAQ for that.

But I would like to ask in such a scenario as describe below, what should we do?

1) Change of hard disk - should we deactivate it first?
2) Upgrade to Windows 8 - instead of using the upgrade function, decided to reformat it as a new system?

Thank you in advance.
NNN634834952528623622
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 5:14 pm

Re: Lost/stolen, corrupt HD or simply need to reset activations?

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:38 am

NNN634834952528623622 wrote:...
But I would like to ask in such a scenario as describe below, what should we do?

1) Change of hard disk - should we deactivate it first?
2) Upgrade to Windows 8 - instead of using the upgrade function, decided to reformat it as a new system?


1] Yes, better safe then sorry
2] Whole different subject, depends on many factors, but my personal preference is to start fresh if possible. But if your Win7 system is in pristine condition an Win8 upgrade on top of it should be fine.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9467
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Lost/stolen, corrupt HD or simply need to reset activations?

Postby NNN634834952528623622 » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:52 am

Paul_E wrote:
NNN634834952528623622 wrote:...
But I would like to ask in such a scenario as describe below, what should we do?

1) Change of hard disk - should we deactivate it first?
2) Upgrade to Windows 8 - instead of using the upgrade function, decided to reformat it as a new system?


1] Yes, better safe then sorry
2] Whole different subject, depends on many factors, but my personal preference is to start fresh if possible. But if your Win7 system is in pristine condition an Win8 upgrade on top of it should be fine.


Thanks for the information. My apology as I didn't clarify clearly for question 2. What I meant was if I decided to start fresh new and reformat my hard disk so that I can install a fresh Windows 8, does one still need to deactivate it first?
I do wonder if I take the upgrade route, do we also need to deactivate it as well?
NNN634834952528623622
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 5:14 pm

Re: Lost/stolen, corrupt HD or simply need to reset activations?

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:52 am

NNN634834952528623622 wrote:
Paul_E wrote:
NNN634834952528623622 wrote:...
But I would like to ask in such a scenario as describe below, what should we do?

1) Change of hard disk - should we deactivate it first?
2) Upgrade to Windows 8 - instead of using the upgrade function, decided to reformat it as a new system?


1] Yes, better safe then sorry
2] Whole different subject, depends on many factors, but my personal preference is to start fresh if possible. But if your Win7 system is in pristine condition an Win8 upgrade on top of it should be fine.


Thanks for the information. My apology as I didn't clarify clearly for question 2. What I meant was if I decided to start fresh new and reformat my hard disk so that I can install a fresh Windows 8, does one still need to deactivate it first?
I do wonder if I take the upgrade route, do we also need to deactivate it as well?

Yes, deactivate. With a fresh install the activation is lost. Deactivation first is now mandatory.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9467
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Capture One 6.x, 5.x and 4.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests