Crop Tool Buggy

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One 6.x, 5.x and 4.x for Mac and Windows

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Mon May 16, 2011 1:05 pm

Kit Laughlin wrote:...
OK: if I can make the time tomorrow, I will shoot the screen, try using the crop tool, record that attempt, and start a support case.

Lovely.
Cheers,
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby picman2 » Mon May 16, 2011 2:22 pm

Paul_E wrote:Posting while on the road (or train) with a tablet one does not always have the tools one might need. ;-)


I know what you mean Paul. Cheers Bob. :wink:
User avatar
picman2
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:17 am

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby SAlessi » Mon May 16, 2011 4:10 pm

Hey Drew

Sorry been traveling and haven't checked the forum recently. Did you get what you need video wise? Otherwise I can definitely make one tomorrow and send it to you. Maybe I should anyway because the problem I am referring to doesn't have to do with crops coming out the wrong size, but just the tool being 'sticky'. where do i send it? and thanks for the attention!

SA
SAlessi
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:24 pm

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby Daniel1111 » Mon May 16, 2011 10:32 pm

I submitted a support case about this issue 3 months ago. See Case ID 84740. Apparently someone forgot to fix this very annoying bug before the 6.2 release.

01. Feb 2011 22:56
2. Input from web

Current entry description
I'm having an issue with the crop tool in C1 Pro 6.1. This happens with OpenCL Auto or Never.
I find that crops that extend all the way to 2 edges do not move smoothly, regardless of aspect ratio. Coming in just a bit from the edge allows it to move fine.
Is this a software bug or a specific machine issue, or some setting like snap to edges in photoshop?

1Ds Mark III files.
MacBook Pro 6,1
10.6.6
C1 6.1


Case ID 84740
Customer Support US
5. Finished
01. Feb 2011 22:56
2. Input from web

Journal details
Current entry description
Hi Daniel,

This is a bug in Capture One. We are addressing it and it should be resolved in the future.

Best regards,
Phase One support
Daniel1111
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 4:02 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby Daniel1111 » Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:04 pm

Are other users still experiencing this bug with the crop tool?

When i crop an image from edge to edge and try to move it up or down, it does not move smoothly.
If I bring in the crop from the edge a tiny bit, it moves fine.
This is so annoying! I've been waiting over 9 months since 6.1 and this is still not fixed.
Come on Phase One, if you break something, please fix it ASAP!

10.6.7 C1 6.3.2
Daniel1111
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 4:02 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby Coach2 » Fri Nov 04, 2011 12:42 pm

Yes, I'm still having the same problem using the Window's XP 32bit version, exactly as you describe it. I like cropping as 5x7's, so I usually start by dropping the top (or bottom) of the camera's 2:3 frame by clicking the corner and snapping it to 5:7 with the maximum dimensions possible. I then want to slide the 5:7 frame up or down to balance the photo just right but this is where it will "stick." If I try dragging enough sometimes it will move but it's hard to control without smooth movement. It use to work fine in earlier versions, but I can't recall when I started having the problems, perhaps with v6.0. I haven't tried v6.3.2 yet, but there's nothing about Window's improvements in the release notes.
Coach2
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:12 pm

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby Hank » Mon Nov 07, 2011 2:18 pm

Crop Tool seems to be very cumbersome to work with but perhaps it's me not knowing the correct way to use it. It certainly does not work like the competition. Can anyone tell the proper way to use it?

Thanks! Hank
Hank
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby Coach » Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:13 pm

Is this still a problem for others? It is definitely still "bugging" me.
Coach
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:14 am

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:14 pm

Coach wrote:Is this still a problem for others? It is definitely still "bugging" me.

Yes.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby DennisK » Wed Feb 15, 2012 4:56 pm

The sticky crop tool bug is still not fixed and it is driving me NUTS. How can a serious bug like this persist unfixed for such a long time?Please get this sorted out as soon as possible.
DennisK
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:12 am

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby LDJ » Sat Mar 03, 2012 5:23 pm

Using C1 Pro 6.3.3 on OS X and the 'sticky cropping' bug definitely still persists. I was just about to open a support case, when I saw this thread, as this issue has been frustrating me for a long time. How can the problem still not be fixed when it was first reported as early as April 2011? Long term issues relating to fundamental features of Capture One (of which there have been a number over recent times) make me start to question Phase One's ability to respond to and resolve problems in a timely and efficient manner.

Whilst we are on the subject of the crop tool, something else that I find frustrating is the fact that if you straighten an image using the rotation tool, then Capture One automatically applies a crop frame; this then means that you can only size the crop area by dragging in the corners/sides of the applied frame, rather than being able to 'draw' the crop area from any chosen point.

Capture One Pro is supposedly designed for professional use and I would therefore expect the crop tool to be totally intuitive, efficient and absolutely bug free. Why is this not the case? The fundamentals should all be in place before further enhancements are developed.

I really do hope that the support team are pushing the developers to sort out the bugs with the crop tool as the current situation is really not something that users should have to put up with.

Liam
LDJ
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 4:07 pm

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby Daniel1111 » Tue Mar 13, 2012 6:29 pm

Another update 6.3.4 comes along and crop tool still buggy! Why haven't they fixed this bug, it's been over a year?
For those running lion, does this bug affect you, or is it just a snow leopard issue?

Perhaps some one with inside knowledge can chime in? Does it take a certain number of support cases before R&D bothers to fix something they broke? I recently updated my support case, but perhaps if a few more of us submit one, it will get more attention.

On the plus side 6.3.4 does seem slightly more stable overall.
Daniel1111
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 4:02 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby Coach » Tue Mar 13, 2012 6:34 pm

Daniel1111 wrote:For those running lion, does this bug affect you, or is it just a snow leopard issue?


It's not just Mac's, I have the problem using Windows XP.
Coach
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:14 am

Re: Crop Tool Buggy

Postby Coach » Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:12 pm

Seems to be fixed in v7.
Coach
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:14 am

Previous

Return to Capture One 6.x, 5.x and 4.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests