Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Questions and comments regarding Capture One PRO/DB/LE for Mac and Windows

Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby david3621 » Sat Oct 09, 2010 1:36 pm

I like to capture using a p25+ with 3.7.9 as I find the stitch preview essential.
At the moment I have an old powerbook G4 which works OK but at 6 years old is on it's last legs.
If I buy a new macbook pro will the old 3.7.9 work OK?
I know it is not officially supported but it would just be to capture.
After the shoot I will process them using the latest version of 5 on a Mac Pro.
david3621
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 5:27 pm

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Sat Oct 09, 2010 4:48 pm

The Intel Mac (versus PPC Mac) is not the issue, it is OS X 10.6 (a.k.a. Snow Leopard) that can causes several issues with CO 3.7.9 but it does run on it. Do a search on this forum for 'Snow Leopard' to get more feedback.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist, Capture One trainer
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 8959
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby Drew » Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:59 pm

David,
If you are shooting tethered there is no benefit to using 3.7.9 and then going into Capture One 5. You would be better served using just Capture One 5.
Since Capture One 3 is not supported we cannot account for how the OS changes will effect the software. At any point a simple update to the Mac 10.6 OS could render the software inoperable.
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby noel1 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:17 pm

i still run 3.7.9 and all is hunky doorey on both 10.5 and 10.6 operating systems the only problem i have had is processing out jpgs "i do this in cs as a batch now", everything else works fine well amazing oh and there is the work flow.

pitty me i have to work in 5.2 all this week - bring on the rant. viva 3.7.9
noel mclaughlin
noelmc@mac.com
noel1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 10:45 am
Location: london

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Tue Oct 26, 2010 6:27 am

noel1 wrote:i still run 3.7.9 and all is hunky doorey on both 10.5 and 10.6 operating systems the only problem i have had is processing out jpgs "i do this in cs as a batch now", everything else works fine well amazing oh and there is the work flow.

pitty me i have to work in 5.2 all this week - bring on the rant. viva 3.7.9

It seems some diehards still love Capture One 1.3 Special Edition but that was a Windows only release.
(just kiddin' for a change)
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist, Capture One trainer
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 8959
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby Dana111 » Thu Nov 04, 2010 9:46 pm

If I buy then newest 5.? pro or db...and put it on my imac intel...does it need Snow Leopard and will it work with my H-25?
Thanks, Dana
Dana111
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:42 pm

Dana111 wrote:If I buy then newest 5.? pro or db...and put it on my imac intel...does it need Snow Leopard and will it work with my H-25?
Thanks, Dana

Dana, CO 5.x DB is free, Pro you have to buy. Works with Leopard and Snow L on your Intel Mac. And works with your H25. Always check the release notes which you can find on the download page with the software and in the software after installation for such kind of details. Pro has a 30-day trial. It is one download for either DB or Pro.

And we have a Capture One 4 & 5 forum available here as well, next time.
Cheers,
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist, Capture One trainer
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 8959
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby Dana111 » Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:15 pm

Paul_E wrote:
Dana111 wrote:If I buy then newest 5.? pro or db...and put it on my imac intel...does it need Snow Leopard and will it work with my H-25?
Thanks, Dana

Dana, CO 5.x DB is free, Pro you have to buy. Works with Leopard and Snow L on your Intel Mac. And works with your H25. Always check the release notes which you can find on the download page with the software and in the software after installation for such kind of details. Pro has a 30-day trial. It is one download for either DB or Pro.

And we have a Capture One 4 & 5 forum available here as well, next time.
Cheers,

Thanks Paul...I have been shooting 3.7.9 for quite a while and have no problems with it. That being said, I have to run an older OS on my imac and at some point I guess I'm going to have to upgrade it since my understanding is CO5 won't run on the older OS's...D
Dana111
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby Ulf » Fri Nov 05, 2010 12:27 pm

I'll clarify it as simple as possible.

CO4/5: Works with Mac OS 10.5 and 10.6 with Intel based Mac's Only.

CO 3 (3.7.9): Works with Mac OS 10.4 and 10.5 with both PPC (G4/G5) and Intel

Could you use 3.7.9 on a Mac OS 10.6? Yes but there is known issues and it is not supported.

Hope this helps! :-)
Kind Regards
Ulf Liljegren
Phase One
Ulf
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3349
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby Antti10 » Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:19 am

Hi!

I have Snow Leopard and C1 5pro. I have old files done with 3.7.8. that I need to convert. Does the license allow me to install 3.7.8 to an another disk in 10.5?
Antti10
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 12:33 pm

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Mon Nov 08, 2010 12:07 pm

Antti10 wrote:Hi!

I have Snow Leopard and C1 5pro. I have old files done with 3.7.8. that I need to convert. Does the license allow me to install 3.7.8 to an another disk in 10.5?

From my (a user) point of view, you can install and use CO up to the limit of activations you have for your license.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist, Capture One trainer
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 8959
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby Drew » Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:22 pm

Antti10 wrote:I have Snow Leopard and C1 5pro. I have old files done with 3.7.8. that I need to convert. Does the license allow me to install 3.7.8 to an another disk in 10.5?


If you install Capture One 5 AND Capture One 3 on the same machine, we see that as 1 user activation. We recognize the Computer and allow as many installations as you would like on that single computer (1 user). Just be sure the installation is on the OS Disk in the Applications folder and if you have any issues create a support case so we can clear it up.
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby Dana111 » Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:15 pm

Ulf wrote:I'll clarify it as simple as possible.

CO4/5: Works with Mac OS 10.5 and 10.6 with Intel based Mac's Only.

CO 3 (3.7.9): Works with Mac OS 10.4 and 10.5 with both PPC (G4/G5) and Intel

Could you use 3.7.9 on a Mac OS 10.6? Yes but there is known issues and it is not supported.

Hope this helps! :-)

Thanks, yes this does help. My other question would be...I would like to give CO5 a test run....its seems as though CO5 DB is free, while there is a significant cost for the PRO version. If I'm only using my H25, (not any dslr's) are there many differences in the two versions? Thanks again, Dana
Dana111
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby Ulf » Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:29 pm

Hi Dana

There is no difference for you between the versions if you only use your H25.

The only difference is the functionality with 35mm DSLR's
Kind Regards
Ulf Liljegren
Phase One
Ulf
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3349
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: Will 3.7.9 work ok to capture on a new intel mac?

Postby Dana111 » Thu Nov 11, 2010 6:34 pm

Ulf wrote:Hi Dana

There is no difference for you between the versions if you only use your H25.

The only difference is the functionality with 35mm DSLR's



Thanks Ulf for the quick response...Dana
Dana111
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Next

Return to Capture One 3.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests