Multiple "Remember" Problems w/ Win 7 and Capture 3.7.9

Questions and comments regarding Capture One PRO/DB/LE for Mac and Windows

Multiple "Remember" Problems w/ Win 7 and Capture 3.7.9

Postby cannga1 » Tue Jun 22, 2010 6:43 am

Hi,

I am a long-time user of 3.x series, but using 3.7.9 for first time now with Windows 7 (while traveling through Sicily and Tuscany :P ). Notice some problems with C1 remembering my default settings, and have not found an answer:

1. Under Pref,->Misc,-> Default Sharpening, Capture One does not "remember" my Sharpness Setting (amount 130). Every time I open C1, it opens to the default sharpness of 35.

2. Does not remember preview cache. Every time I open C1, it asks me to set the preview cache folder.

3. Does not remember system color profile. Every time I open C1, it tells me C1 color profile is not same as system profile and asks if I want to reset them to be same.

I am a "veteran" user of 3.x series and therefore don't think I am doing anything wrong. i.e. Problems are with C1? Thanks in advance.
cannga1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 6:14 pm

Re: Multiple "Remember" Problems w/ Win 7 and Capture 3.7.9

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:38 pm

Out of the box CO 3.7.x is not running correctly on Windows Vista and 7. However, there is a workaround in a Phase One knowledge base article:
http://www.phaseone.com/en/search/artic ... nguageid=1
Note that you have to follow up both the installation and how-to-run instructions.

You also might want to download and install CO 3.7.10 (after uninstalling your current installation).
http://www.phaseone.com/en/Downloads/So ... veWin.aspx

Have a very nice trip! ;-)
Last edited by Paul_Steunebrink on Sun Dec 26, 2010 11:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist, Capture One trainer
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 8959
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Multiple "Remember" Problems w/ Win 7 and Capture 3.7.9

Postby cannga1 » Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:17 am

Hi Paul,

Thank you as always. Yes I am indeed having a great time in Italy - always seems to be the case with Italy.
http://picasaweb.google.com/cannga/2010ItalySicilyTuscany#slideshow/5485829151522074338

1. Does upgrading to 3.7.10 correct the problems? Or do you still have to do the work-around corrections with 3.7.10?
TIA.

2. BTW, I have noticed that, with my original 1D, Capture One 3.x's picture quality is "better" than 4.x's, all things considered. No matter how I set the parameters in 4.x, it's not the same as 3.x, and don't think it's my imagination either. I wonder if others have had the same observation and if this has to do with "camera profile" in 4.x not as "well developed" for the old 1D.
cannga1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 6:14 pm

Re: Multiple "Remember" Problems w/ Win 7 and Capture 3.7.9

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Sun Jun 27, 2010 7:54 pm

Hi Can,
Yes, when installing 3.7.10 on Windows Vista or 7 you still have to follow the special instructions.
Re. the 1D profiling I am not experienced. Maybe some other user. You could post this in the CO4/5 forum as well because of the CO4 users that visit that particular subforum.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist, Capture One trainer
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 8959
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Multiple "Remember" Problems w/ Win 7 and Capture 3.7.9

Postby cannga1 » Sun Dec 26, 2010 11:06 pm

Paul_E wrote:Out of the box CO 3.7.x is not running correctly on Windows Vista and 7. However, there is a workaround in a Phase One knowledge base article:
http://xchange.phaseone.com/content/sup ... nguageid=1
Note that you have to follow up both the installation and how-to-run instructions.

You also might want to download and install CO 3.7.10 (after uninstalling your current installation).
http://www.phaseone.com/en/Downloads/So ... veWin.aspx

Have a very nice trip! ;-)


The "xchange.phaseone.com" link above by Paul is not good.
I looked at the problem list for win 3.7 and found this: http://support.phaseone.com/KBFiles/200 ... ndows.html

However the problem I mentioned on the first post of this thread is not listed at all. So... does anyone know of a work-around for the problems I listed on the first post please? Thanks in advance.

If there is no solution, I assume I should try the latest 3.7.x?
cannga1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 6:14 pm

Re: Multiple "Remember" Problems w/ Win 7 and Capture 3.7.9

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Sun Dec 26, 2010 11:10 pm

The xchange.phaseone.com links have been replaced indeed. The new link is:
http://www.phaseone.com/en/search/artic ... nguageid=1
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist, Capture One trainer
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 8959
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Multiple "Remember" Problems w/ Win 7 and Capture 3.7.9

Postby cannga » Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:13 am

Paul_E wrote:The xchange.phaseone.com links have been replaced indeed. The new link is:
http://www.phaseone.com/en/search/artic ... nguageid=1


Thank you Paul. Your help is off-the-chart fantastic!
Everything seems to be working fine now after I did the 2 things, run as administrator and with XP service pack 2 option.

BTW, thought it would be appropriate to show pics of the trip that started these questions (hit F11 to view full screen): http://picasaweb.google.com/cannga/2010 ... 1522074338
cannga
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 12:12 am

Re: Multiple "Remember" Problems w/ Win 7 and Capture 3.7.9

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:23 pm

cannga wrote:...
BTW, thought it would be appropriate to show pics of the trip that started these questions.

Very, very nice images, interesting, pleasant atmosphere, beautiful details and excellent image processing (IMHO).
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist, Capture One trainer
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 8959
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Capture One 3.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests