3.7.9 Colour profile issue

Questions and comments regarding Capture One PRO/DB/LE for Mac and Windows

3.7.9 Colour profile issue

Postby Adrian2 » Thu Mar 26, 2009 6:17 am

Firstly we have two identical computers, with fresh leopard installs always updated to latest OS and app versions. One is fine, the other has the following problem.
If we select the output colour profile to be Adobe RGB the images get severe colour banding. The processed image matches the preview, and is thus useless. The same image processed with the cameras embedded colour profile is fine. The same image processed on the twin computer is fine whichever profile is used. Anyone else seen this issue?
Adrian2
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 10:11 am
Location: Western Australia

Re: 3.7.9 Colour profile issue

Postby Henry1 » Thu Mar 26, 2009 6:40 am

sounds like you may need tp profile your monitors
===================
P1 645DF Camera / P30+
EOS 1Ds MKIII

===================
Henry1
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Singapore

Re: 3.7.9 Colour profile issue

Postby Adrian2 » Thu Mar 26, 2009 7:43 am

Thanks, but they were both re-profiled just the other day.
Would the profile of the monitor effect the AdobeRGB proofing from capture one but nothing else?
Adrian2
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 10:11 am
Location: Western Australia

Re: 3.7.9 Colour profile issue

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:41 am

I would suspect either the AdobeRGB profile in use or the monitor profile. What I suggest is that you swap profiles between computers and see what happens (does the problem travels with the profile). Mark the profile file names with some extra characters to be able to trace it and distinct from the original.

You can find the monitor profile through ColorSync app. It is most of the time either in the system or personal Library / ColorSync / Profiles folder. The AdobeRGB profile might be more difficult to trace since many applications store one on your system in different folders. This allows you to try out different AdobeRGB profiles on the same computer without swapping with the other system.

Change one profile at a time and run a test in CO3.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 3.7.9 Colour profile issue

Postby Adrian2 » Thu Mar 26, 2009 12:36 pm

makes sense but from various apps installing profiles, each computer has three copies of AdobeRGB to select from. The bad computer shows the banding on all three.
Has anyone else seen this?
Adrian2
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 10:11 am
Location: Western Australia

Re: 3.7.9 Colour profile issue

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Thu Mar 26, 2009 12:40 pm

Adrian wrote:makes sense but from various apps installing profiles, each computer has three copies of AdobeRGB to select from. The bad computer shows the banding on all three.
Has anyone else seen this?

Focus on the monitor profile then when swapping between computer, as suggested above.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 3.7.9 Colour profile issue

Postby Adrian2 » Mon Mar 30, 2009 1:57 am

The profiles have been recently remade. So the issue has persisted though several monitor profiles. Obviously no two monitors have the same profile in a colour managed workflow.
Adrian2
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 10:11 am
Location: Western Australia

Re: 3.7.9 Colour profile issue

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:56 pm

Adrian wrote:The profiles have been recently remade. So the issue has persisted though several monitor profiles. Obviously no two monitors have the same profile in a colour managed workflow.

Swapping profiles as I earlier suggested was intended to get a finger behind a potential cause. It can/could give information about your setup which is not possible to get to creating multiple profiles on the same computer. Well, never mind. :cry:
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Capture One 3.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests