magenta cast with canon 1ds mk2 when using ISO L(50)

Questions and comments regarding Capture One PRO/DB/LE for Mac and Windows

magenta cast with canon 1ds mk2 when using ISO L(50)

Postby will121 » Mon Oct 20, 2008 6:17 pm

This only happens when shooting on ISO L (50)

Raw files show an unfixable magenta cast in the highlights. c1 version 3.7.9
Processed raws also have the cast.

When looking at the raws in CL 4 PRO previews have cast but cast does not appear in processed files. Same as for photoshop and canon photo proffesional.

I like to use ISO L whenever i can and C1 3.7.9 is my preferred software for the moment.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated.
will121
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 12:18 am

Re: magenta cast with canon 1ds mk2 when using ISO L(50)

Postby Drew » Mon Oct 20, 2008 9:07 pm

Will,
There is a KB article about this issue, it is due to the adjustment made in camera to account for ISO 50. Effectively this adjustment reduces your Dynamic Range, so it's doing "in camera" what you can be doing in the software at ISO 100. The adjustments are controlable when using the software apporoach rather then letting the camera do it for you.

http://www.phaseone.com/HOME/Content/Su ... 20-%20Main
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: magenta cast with canon 1ds mk2 when using ISO L(50)

Postby will121 » Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:01 am

Thanks for the reply. i always wandered why it was called ISO L. Calling it ISO 50 would have been misleading.

This has only just started happening.
i think it may have coincided with the latest firmware update from Canon.
will121
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 12:18 am


Return to Capture One 3.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests