can't make connection with 5D

Questions and comments regarding Capture One PRO/DB/LE for Mac and Windows

can't make connection with 5D

Postby NN127323UL » Thu May 08, 2008 3:10 am

I am using a Canon 5D, and Capture One Pro 3.7.6 on a MacOsX 10.4.11.

The connection always fails. can anyone help?

thanks.
NN127323UL
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 3:07 am
Location: Savannah

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Thu May 08, 2008 7:12 am

Some first aid on tethering.
    Keep CO up to date, latest is 3.7.8, especially if you are working tethered
    Check communication settings on the camera (PC, not PTP or Print)
    Check if Image Capture (Preferences) does not start another utility that connects to the camera
    If connection with CO still fails, test connectivity with EOS Utility (latest version, now 2.3.0)
    Check the USB cable
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Robert5 » Thu May 08, 2008 4:58 pm

To echo Paul - update to the latest version of CO Pro. The updates from 3.7.6 to 3.7.8 are free (so you're not using any of your \"courtesy updates\"). Your system (10.4.11/5D) should work fine with that setup.

-Gully
Robert5
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:03 pm
Location: New York

other software, usb cable specs, canon printers and usb mode

Postby NNN634271694486305414 » Wed Jun 18, 2008 11:59 pm

1. double check the setting on the camera to PC... make sure it's not trying to link directly to a printer per Paul's previous tip

2. tethering this camera to a computer with it's USB 2 port requires short cables (1-1.5m) on the end of a really good repeater-extention rated for USB 2. I've used ones from tigerdirect and radio shack that seem to work well

3. disconnect any canon printers connected to your computer, they'll distract Capture One

4. be sure the O.S. \"image capture\" or \"IPhoto\" softwares and Canon shooting softwares aren't grabbing the camera before C1 by placing them temporarily in the trash.

cheers,

aaron
NNN634271694486305414
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Denton, Texas U.S.A.


Return to Capture One 3.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests