windows 7 and CO3.7.10

Questions and comments regarding Capture One PRO/DB/LE for Mac and Windows

windows 7 and CO3.7.10

Postby NN109526UL2 » Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:24 am

I like my little old P25/H1 system. Great resolutions and colors. I use XP/SP3 and CO 3.7.10 and love the color and speed of my post process, as compared with my Windows 7 and CO6. CO6 has more options than I need for my P25 images. CO6 works fine with IQ180 images. Can I upgrade to Windows 7 OS and still use my CO3.7.10 software?
NN109526UL2
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:39 am

Re: windows 7 and CO3.7.10

Postby Drew » Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:44 am

Capture One 3 is not supported in Windows 7.
You're welcome to give it a try but we certainly cannot assist with any issues you encounter as the software is simply not built for that OS.
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: windows 7 and CO3.7.10

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:11 am

I see three options from the top of my head:
- use CO 3.7.10 in XP compatibility mode (this is a feature you can set per program in Win7)
- install an XP SP3 system in a virtual machine (VM) on top of Win7; for the professional/business versions of Win7 the XP VM was a free download; note that you can not tether to the VM as firewire is not virtualized.
- make your system dual boot, Win XP and 7, and have both, each on their respective disk or partition

tip: try CO7 and forget all the old stuff > to much a hassle; more than you need, I know, but your images (both IQ180 and P25) will look so incredibly good with the new engine!!!
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist, Capture One trainer
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 8959
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: windows 7 and CO3.7.10

Postby NN109526UL2 » Thu Dec 20, 2012 6:45 am

I am not surprised. I have three different totally custome desktop computer systems. Each is maxed out for the MoBo inside, RAM and Chips. One system does the XP/CO3.7.10 while the other two do Win7/CO6 and AVID video productions, respectively. All are single purpose, dedicated machines. I was hit by the Goggle Chrome Redirect Virus that can't be removed without a clean install. ( I avoid Google Chrome searches for anything now. These redirect viruses have been around for a year and I was just hit. ) Since I was going to reinstall my Windows OS, on a new internal HDD or SSD, I thought I would confirm my suspicions that CO3.7.10 was meaant for XP only. Naw warries, myte. I was going to Beta-test your CO7 but just didn't have time to help. CO3.7.10 is so fast and great now, how much better can it get? In your opinion, would the same P25 RAW file look any better or different if processed in CO7 instead of CO3.7.10? Is the CO3.7.10 per-image processing time similar or about the same with Win7 and CO7? It takes me between 20 and 30 seconds to do my post production on each one of my P25 RAW files. Thanks for the confirmation. Paul
NN109526UL2
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:39 am

Re: windows 7 and CO3.7.10

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:58 am

NN109526UL2 wrote:...
In your opinion, would the same P25 RAW file look any better or different if processed in CO7 instead of CO3.7.10?

I dear say yes.
NN109526UL2 wrote:...
Is the CO3.7.10 per-image processing time similar or about the same with Win7 and CO7? It takes me between 20 and 30 seconds to do my post production on each one of my P25 RAW files

That I can not answer conclusively. The computation of the CO7 engine is much more complex, I believe. But hardware acceleration is on-board to (OpenCL support) but that depends on your video card.

Based on output (time and quality) you decide what's best for you.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist, Capture One trainer
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 8959
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: windows 7 and CO3.7.10

Postby NN109526UL2 » Thu Dec 20, 2012 6:30 pm

Thank you. I have just seen some side-by-side, high-ISO luminance and color noise comparisons, using CO6 and CO7 and they are dramatic. I will buy CO7 after I do my upgrade to get rid of the Google Chrome Redirect Virus remnants. Paul
NN109526UL2
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:39 am


Return to Capture One 3.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests