Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One DB and Capture One Express 7.x

Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:04 pm

Hi,
This is a description of a workaround for Canon shooters who have problems tethering to Capture One Pro 7.0 in combination with OS X Lion and Mountain Lion.

Status
Currently Canon has not yet released the needed software (SDK or Software Development Kit) to support both Lion (up to 10.7.5) and Mountain Lion (10.8.x). However, Canon's latest EOS Utility 2.12.x does support Lion and Mountain Lion for tethering. As soon as Canon releases the new SDK and Phase One builds it into CO7, this workaround becomes obsolete.

Solution/workaround
What I propose and explain in this post is how you get the best from Canon and put it into Capture One Pro 7. In plain English: copy the SDK in EOS Utility and place it into Capture One Pro 7.

Prerequisites
You need administrative privileges on your system (be an admin, not regular user).

Process
The process involves the following steps
1) download and install EOS Utility 2.12.0 (or later)
2) get the SDK from EOS Utility
3) replace the SDK in Capture One Pro 7.0 with the newer version from EOS Utility
The steps described below may seem complicated and overwhelming at first sight, but it is really easy to do.

Step 1
Go to your localized Canon site and download and install EOS Utility 2.12.0 Updater (or later). If you do not have already EOS Utility installed on your computer, you only need to insert your Canon EOS Digital Solution disk in your CD/DVD drive for detection and the updater will install the software.

Image

Step 2
In Finder, go to the EOS Utility program icon (Applications/Canon Utilities/EOS Utility). As you might know, this a folder with subfolders.

Image

Right-click on the application (do not start it up), select "Show Package Contents" (SPC).
The path to the SDK folder is:
EOS Utility (SPC) > Contents > Frameworks > EDSDK.framework > Versions > A


Image

Copy the entire contents of folder A to a temporary location (Desktop for example). This should be 4 items.

Step 3
In Finder look up Capture One in the Applications folder.

Tip
Before we proceed, you might want to rename it, for example into "Capture One - Canon". This allows you to install a second and unaltered version of Capture One 7 in the Applications folder as a backup and fall back scenario. This also prevents you from accidentally overwriting the modified version when installing an update.


As with EOS Utility, do not start it but right-click in Finder on Capture One and select "Show Package Contents" (SPC). Now we drill into it until we find the SDK folder:
Capture One (SPC) > Contents > MacOS > CaptureCoreServer (SPC) > Contents > Frameworks < CaptureCore > Canon > ED-SDK > EDSDK.framework > Versions > A


Image

Copy the the 4 items from the A folder of EOS Utility to this Capture One A folder to replace 4 items with the same name.

Image

Close the Finder window and start Capture One, connect your camera and shoot tethered.

Good luck!
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby Dave50 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 2:13 pm

Can this workaround be used for 6.4.4?
Dave
Dave50
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 5:00 pm

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Fri Oct 26, 2012 2:54 pm

Dave50 wrote:Can this workaround be used for 6.4.4?
Dave

Yes, same issue, same workaround. See:
viewtopic.php?p=59346#p59346
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby Photoshooter » Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:38 pm

Many thanks for the workaround.

I ran it and works perfectly fine!! My two computers are tethering in a snap, something that was not hapenning since versions 6.4.2. I wish I knew this workaround in the latest updates of Version 6.

I would add one last action: just duplicate the original Folder "A" from Capture One, BEFORE replacing that SDK content with the EOS SDK content, so you can restore the program quickly into it's default code, and you can have it all ready to go when new updates come our way.

Now, I created a Folder called Capture One-Canon, and inside there are two folders, one with the new SDK data from the EOS Utility, and the Original data inside C1. This way,I can go back and forth very quickly.


Cheers!

Jorge Parra
Jorge Parra
www.JorgeParra.com
Certified POCP
Photoshooter
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:25 pm
Location: Miami FL

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby dale11833 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:23 am

Hi,
I am on 10.6.8 Will I be able to tether Canon cameras directly to C1 7 ?
dale11833
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 9:44 pm
Location: L.A. CA

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:43 am

dale11833 wrote:Hi,
I am on 10.6.8 Will I be able to tether Canon cameras directly to C1 7 ?

Regarding the relationship between tethering Canon, Capture One and OS X version, does CO 7.0 behave like 6.4.3 and 6.4.4 as they all have the same SDK (2.11.3). This SDK version is compatible with 10.6.8.

Since the issues involved affect mainly the versions OS X 10.7.5 and 10.8.x, you should be able to connect without problems with 10.6.8.

Note however, that SDK 2.11.3 has a disconnect issue after sleep mode. The workaround there is to set the camera's Auto Power Off to Off (or 30 min. will do to). A restart of CO recovers the connection.

Canon has some work to do.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby NNN634554284959237225 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 8:36 pm

I tried the work-around solution moving the SDK from Canon Utility to a Trial version of C1 7 and it worked well, mostly. Cap 1 7 crashes a lot on start up though. I also copied the Canon SDK to my copy of Cap 1 6.4.4 but all I get is a busy sign on my camera and it will not allow me access to any controls and will not fire. I tried 3 different cords. Very frustrating to say the least although I do applaud the efforts of the work-around. I really like Cap 1, 7 but unless I can rely on it in the studio I am prob not going to upgrade. Unfortunately this means I will have to go back to using Lightroom 3 until a solution comes up.

Canon 5d Mk 2
Mid 2009 Mac Book Pro
Mountain lion (Why, oh why did I upgrade?).
NNN634554284959237225
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 8:54 pm

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby Horst5 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:33 pm

Vielen Dank für den Hinweis!
Das Einbinden der Conon 5D II - Daten in CaptureOne 7 hat Dank der guten Anweisung geklappt.
Die Kamera kann in allen Funktionen mit CO 7 gesteuert werden.

Horst Wittmann.
Horst5
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 7:26 pm

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby FPS » Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:50 pm

I ran it and works, but i don't have live view with canon 5d markii????
FPS
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:23 am

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:51 pm

FPS wrote:I ran it and works, but i don't have live view with canon 5d markii????

Can you confirm you run CO7, not 6?
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby FPS » Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:59 pm

iam runing CO 7 with osx 1.7.5 and canon 5d mark ii
FPS
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:23 am

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby FPS » Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:02 pm

must i have the latest firmware for the live view?
FPS
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:23 am

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:04 pm

FPS wrote:must i have the latest firmware for the live view?

In short: yes. The camera firmware and the Canon SDK must be in-line.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby FPS » Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:07 pm

i have coped the sdk from 2.12.0 and i have firmware 2.0.9 is the sdk ver. the latest?
FPS
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:23 am

Re: Canon tethering on Capture One 7

Postby FPS » Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:21 pm

Paul evrithing working fine!!! I update the camera firmware 2.0.9 to 2.1.2 and its ok!! Thankes
FPS
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:23 am

Next

Return to Capture One 7.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests