Where to, now?

Discussions about Phase One Media Pro and Media Pro SE

Re: Where to, now?

Postby syncrasy » Tue Jul 09, 2019 5:21 am

NN634436865827023491UL wrote:Has Camera Bits released the cataloging feature out of Beta? I've searched the internet for reviews and can't find any. Would love to know how it's coming along as I'd like to ditch MP ASAP so I can update my OS.


No, PM+ is still in Beta. I'd advise reading (and joining) the Camera Bits Forums to keep up with the latest developments.

Because new software development is so unpredictable, I'd also advise making contingency plans in case PM+ doesn't have the features/functions you need. I plan to continue using Media Pro on my High Sierra OS for the foreseeable future (at least another year). My older Mac can't be upgraded to the latest OS anyway, so my "worst case scenario" contingency plan includes keeping/maintaining this computer just to run Media Pro.
syncrasy
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:05 am
Location: USA

Re: Where to, now?

Postby NN634436865827023491UL » Tue Jul 09, 2019 7:37 am

Ugh. Unfortunately I don't have another computer I can dedicate just for MP. I really hope they listen to the needs/wants of former MP users.
NN634436865827023491UL
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:16 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby B.Sadr » Mon Sep 09, 2019 12:57 pm

Hey guys,

Thought I might give my two cents about moving from Media Pro.

I must admit I have been searching for a long time to find something similarly good as MP but I was always getting disappointed by the new app eventually.

Now I know that everyone uses MP in their own unique way and mine is probably different as yours...

I mainly use the "Catalog Sets" inside MP to organize my images. I don't use keywords or anything else. And it seems that transferring Catalog Sets from MP to other DAM apps was the most difficult.

One app that finally got my attention and which I explored and tested more in detail is Digikam. Not only does this app work the way I need it to it is free as well.

I found out a way to seamlessly transfer all my images with the right Catalog Sets associated with them. Inside Digikam the Catalog Sets are recognized as "Tags".

I definitely recommend this app. Is it perfect? No. Is it as good as MP? No. But it does beat all the rest out there and it some ways works better than MP.

If anyone is interested in giving it a try, here are my steps

The first thing I have done inside of Media Pro is getting rid of all the
keywords and annotations that I wasn't using.

- highlight all the thumbs inside the catalog
- choose Clear Annotations under the Action menu in the menubar
- DO NOT CHOOSE!!! Clear all - instead click on "Choose Fields" and
highlight all the fields and the click "Remove"
If you choose "Clear All" you will delete all your Catalog Sets too
- highlight all your thumbs again and under "Hierarchical Keywords" remove terms from selected
- delete all terms

- After that is done under the Action menu choose "Export Annotations"
- in this menu check only "Include catalog sets"
- at the bottom of the same menu check everything in regards to metadata and
XMP

- inside Digikam go to preferences -> Metadata -> Sidecars and check "Read
from sidecar files" and click ok
- the previous step was necessary for me because I have some png files that
don't have embedded metadata
- If you haven't added already the new folder to Digikam then do so as you
normally would
- if the folder already exists then highlight all the relevant thumbnails go
to the Item menu and choose "Reread metadata of from selected files"

Done

Please remember that my steps will get rid of ALL Keywords! If you want your keywords I think it is straight forward how to keep them in those steps I have provided

Hope this helps
B.Sadr
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:42 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby syncrasy » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:58 pm

B.Sadr wrote:One app that finally got my attention and which I explored and tested more in detail is Digikam. Not only does this app work the way I need it to it is free as well.


Thanks for the information. I've added digiKam to the list of DAM options on page 1 of this thread. I notice DigiKam has the ability to "Export to HTML gallery." How does this work? Does the app include built-in HTML templates or the ability to incorporate Media Pro templates?
syncrasy
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:05 am
Location: USA

Re: Where to, now?

Postby B.Sadr » Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:56 pm

I will let you know once I have tried it
B.Sadr
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:42 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby B.Sadr » Wed Sep 11, 2019 1:05 pm

Yes, you can export to html and it offers 16 templates that you can choose from. They can all be customized individually. I am not sure about importing MP templates but given that DK is open-source I am sure there must be a way
B.Sadr
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:42 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby B.Sadr » Thu Sep 12, 2019 2:19 pm

I must admit, I switched back to MP. It seems to me that it is the best DAM for me. No other app can beat it for the way I use it.

I really hope Phase One won't kill the app and sells it to another company or at least make Capture One's Catalogs just as convenient and good
B.Sadr
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:42 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby syncrasy » Thu Sep 12, 2019 3:41 pm

B.Sadr wrote:I must admit, I switched back to MP. It seems to me that it is the best DAM for me. No other app can beat it for the way I use it.


I agree, but if you or I have to buy a new computer, Media Pro probably will no longer work. Can you summarize why digiKam does not work for you? (In a few words.)
syncrasy
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:05 am
Location: USA

Re: Where to, now?

Postby B.Sadr » Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:54 pm

Some things that put me off were:

1. Moving around thumbnails within the thumbnail view. It's not very clear and straightforward visually

2. Sharing the Albums/Collections on two/or more computers (like with dropbox)

3. You always have to be connected to the folder where your images or you only get to view the thumbnails and not the whole preview
4. Certain functions don't work or crash the app. Main ones for me, using the Tags Manager and closing it crashes the app. Or, creating contact sheets didn't work as it was supposed to.
5. IMO once you work with Digikam it comes clear quite quickly that it is not a native mac app
B.Sadr
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:42 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby NN634436865827023491UL » Tue Oct 22, 2019 3:20 pm

Is this setup still working for you?

C-F wrote:
(though I have never done that so it kind of scares me...any tips or walk-throughs you know of?).


Well, ditto, but I just downloaded the trial sw and installed, leaving everything at its default settings; then did the same with iMatch... guess I was 'lucky' it worked right out of the box...- after my test runs I just purchased the license keys.
Be aware though, there is a steep learning curve and it definitely is not the cheapest solution ( I upgraded my MacBook Pro to a 2TB ssd before starting the adventure + parallels sw, + Windows 10 sw, + iMatch). My most time consuming effort is to wade through my 12+ external HDD's and bring some order and standard naming while consolidating and eliminating duplicates. Right now I am about 30% done :shock: ...
The only 'inconvenience I found so far, and that seems a windows quirk, when hooking up external Hd's, the letter is not always the same so you have to manually tell iMatch where your images are ( funny part is, so far I have not found a pattern on when it changes or when it does not...).

P.S. you talk like you've read The Dam Book, which is incredibly helpful!


lol, right, not only one, but the original AND the latest edition - you are right very helpful in understanding the intricacies of what seems a 'black hole' of image organization.

btw, several bottles of rum will indeed do the trick... :wink:
NN634436865827023491UL
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:16 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby C-F » Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:33 pm

Yes it is - flawless , knock on wood...
C-F
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby HansDeZomers » Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:07 am

I came across this blog on dpreview, which might be helpful here too.
https://oldgoodlight.blogspot.com/p/photo-supreme.html
HansDeZomers
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 12:11 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby NN634436865827023491UL » Mon Nov 11, 2019 9:48 am

B.Sadr wrote:Hey guys,

One app that finally got my attention and which I explored and tested more in detail is Digikam. Not only does this app work the way I need it to it is free as well.


I hadn't seen this. Thanks for pointing it out. I'm going to give it a try. Is there anything else you think I should know before diving it? Anything you came across you wish you would have known when starting to use it?
NN634436865827023491UL
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:16 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby NN634436865827023491UL » Tue Nov 12, 2019 2:07 pm

B.Sadr wrote:Please remember that my steps will get rid of ALL Keywords! If you want your keywords I think it is straight forward how to keep them in those steps I have provided


I use keywords quite extensively. I wrote all my metadata to a select group of files in Media Pro and then imported those files into DigiKam. The good news is Digikam will import your Catalog Sets as "Tags." The bad news is it reads all keywords are tags as well. So it groups all of them (keywords & catalog sets) together, making it all a mess. For someone using keywords & catalog sets like me this probably won't work. Bummed to say the least.
NN634436865827023491UL
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:16 pm

Previous

Return to Media Pro and Media Pro SE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests