Colour shift while Importing

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x

Colour shift while Importing

Postby NN636986175608413228UL » Sat Jul 13, 2019 11:39 am

While Importing from Photo Mechanic there is a considerable colour shift in the images. But when these images are then exported, it goes back to the original colours. I feel it's just a preview problem with CO. Here is a screenshot showing the same.

Image
NN636986175608413228UL
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:26 pm

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby NNN636906288793825584 » Sun Jul 14, 2019 2:44 am

I also have this problem. I previously had this issue in fujifilms silkypix raw converter and to settings > display settings > uncheck enable display color management and that fixed it. Can't find such an option in capture one though.
NNN636906288793825584
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 2:21 am

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby NN636986175608413228UL » Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:03 am

This problem seems to happen in Lightroom and Photoshop too, with the same files..... I'm guessing the problem is with the file itself. It was shot on Acros film simulation in an Fujifilm Xpro2.
NN636986175608413228UL
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:26 pm

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby Ian3 » Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:07 am

Isn’t this a question of whether the film simulation is being applied? What does it say under Curve in Base Characteristics on the Colour tool tab?

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 3184
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby NN636986175608413228UL » Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:21 am

Ian3 wrote:Isn’t this a question of whether the film simulation is being applied? What does it say under Curve in Base Characteristics on the Colour tool tab?

Ian

Under base characteristics it says, ICC Profile: From File and Curve: Auto
NN636986175608413228UL
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:26 pm

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby NNN636906288793825584 » Sun Jul 14, 2019 1:49 pm

I don't think this has anything to do with the files themselves or the film simulation mode, especially if you're shooting in RAW because the film simulations are then somewhat arbitrary. I have two monitors and somehow, if I use the primary monitor, i.e. the one designated as "1" under display settings, the colors are normal. But the instant I drag the image to the other screen it turns orange. The catalog preview images are also orange on the other monitor but not on the primary one. Perhaps it has something to do with having two screens?
NNN636906288793825584
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 2:21 am

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby Bobtographer » Mon Jul 15, 2019 2:03 am

NNN636906288793825584 wrote:I don't think this has anything to do with the files themselves or the film simulation mode, especially if you're shooting in RAW because the film simulations are then somewhat arbitrary.

screenshot shows JPEG files

do you mind uploading an original file so we can take a look?
Bobtographer
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:01 am
Location: England

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby NN636986175608413228UL » Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:11 am

NNN636906288793825584 wrote:I don't think this has anything to do with the files themselves or the film simulation mode, especially if you're shooting in RAW because the film simulations are then somewhat arbitrary. I have two monitors and somehow, if I use the primary monitor, i.e. the one designated as "1" under display settings, the colors are normal. But the instant I drag the image to the other screen it turns orange. The catalog preview images are also orange on the other monitor but not on the primary one. Perhaps it has something to do with having two screens?


But here it's different on the same screen. The Windows preview shows the same file as B&W and when open in Capture One it shows a sepia tint.
NN636986175608413228UL
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:26 pm

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby NN636986175608413228UL » Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:14 am

Bobtographer wrote:
NNN636906288793825584 wrote:I don't think this has anything to do with the files themselves or the film simulation mode, especially if you're shooting in RAW because the film simulations are then somewhat arbitrary.

screenshot shows JPEG files

do you mind uploading an original file so we can take a look?


Here is link to the original file from camera

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1u5bl4 ... H8vh3szliy
NN636986175608413228UL
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:26 pm

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby Bobtographer » Mon Jul 15, 2019 12:06 pm

Ok so my import shows B+W without any toning, you haven't set a style up on import by mistake?
Bobtographer
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:01 am
Location: England

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby NN636986175608413228UL » Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:17 pm

Bobtographer wrote:Ok so my import shows B+W without any toning, you haven't set a style up on import by mistake?


No. No style in Import settings. Strangely this colour shift is happening in all photo editing apps, like Capture One, lightroom & Photoshop. But the colors are proper B&W in Image viewing apps.
NN636986175608413228UL
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:26 pm

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby SFA » Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:07 pm

The sample jpg looks OK on my system.

I can shift it towards sepia/brown if I change the WB setting to 6000 rather then the default 5000.

I note the jpg has sRGB colour space embedded as one might expect. Is your monitor running as sRGB or some other default colour space? A long shot but it might be worth checking.
SFA
 
Posts: 7174
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby NN636986175608413228UL » Wed Jul 17, 2019 6:06 am

SFA wrote:The sample jpg looks OK on my system.

I can shift it towards sepia/brown if I change the WB setting to 6000 rather then the default 5000.

I note the jpg has sRGB colour space embedded as one might expect. Is your monitor running as sRGB or some other default colour space? A long shot but it might be worth checking.


I don't think it's a problem with the monitor. As you can see in the first image, The photo preview window has the correct colour, whilst the same image open in Capture One has a tint. If it were an issue with the monitor, both images would have shown the same colour shift.
NN636986175608413228UL
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:26 pm

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby SFA » Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:29 am

NN636986175608413228UL wrote:
SFA wrote:The sample jpg looks OK on my system.

I can shift it towards sepia/brown if I change the WB setting to 6000 rather then the default 5000.

I note the jpg has sRGB colour space embedded as one might expect. Is your monitor running as sRGB or some other default colour space? A long shot but it might be worth checking.


I don't think it's a problem with the monitor. As you can see in the first image, The photo preview window has the correct colour, whilst the same image open in Capture One has a tint. If it were an issue with the monitor, both images would have shown the same colour shift.


Not necessarily. Your photo editing applications will be colour managed. The viewer maybe not.

There is an additional variable in terms of what maybe happening in Photo Mechanic.

How do things look if you import straight into C1?
SFA
 
Posts: 7174
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby NN636986175608413228UL » Wed Jul 17, 2019 1:04 pm

SFA wrote:
NN636986175608413228UL wrote:
SFA wrote:The sample jpg looks OK on my system.

I can shift it towards sepia/brown if I change the WB setting to 6000 rather then the default 5000.

I note the jpg has sRGB colour space embedded as one might expect. Is your monitor running as sRGB or some other default colour space? A long shot but it might be worth checking.


I don't think it's a problem with the monitor. As you can see in the first image, The photo preview window has the correct colour, whilst the same image open in Capture One has a tint. If it were an issue with the monitor, both images would have shown the same colour shift.


Not necessarily. Your photo editing applications will be colour managed. The viewer maybe not.

There is an additional variable in terms of what maybe happening in Photo Mechanic.

How do things look if you import straight into C1?


Tried importing to C1 directly from the card. Same problem.
NN636986175608413228UL
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:26 pm

Next

Return to Capture One 12.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests