Can't import TIFs

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x

Can't import TIFs

Postby NNN636364181394546668 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 12:13 pm

Screen Shot 2019-02-08 at 13.08.00.pngWhen I import images into C1, the TIFs are greyed out and no thumbprint is visible.

What am I doing incorrectly?

Thanks

[img]Screen%20Shot%202019-02-08%20at%2013.08.00.png[/img]
NNN636364181394546668
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby hendrik_p » Fri Feb 08, 2019 2:03 pm

I had the same problem yesterday, as workaround you can copy your files to the destination folder manually and then drop the images in CaptureOne instead of using the import utility.

Henk
hendrik_p
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 4:49 pm

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby NNN636364181394546668 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 2:12 pm

I don't like workarounds except for a quick fix :twisted: but my images are in the destination folder, placed there by the apps which produced them. They appear in the "Import Image" pop us screen, but are not accessible.

I'm not sure I understand what you mean by "then drop the images in C1". How do you do that other then with the import utility?

I have a screen shot of the pop up window, but how do I add this to a post?

Thanks

Menachem
NNN636364181394546668
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby hendrik_p » Fri Feb 08, 2019 7:01 pm

NNN636364181394546668 wrote:I don't like workarounds except for a quick fix :twisted: but my images are in the destination folder, placed there by the apps which produced them. They appear in the "Import Image" pop us screen, but are not accessible.

I'm not sure I understand what you mean by "then drop the images in C1". How do you do that other then with the import utility?

I have a screen shot of the pop up window, but how do I add this to a post?

Thanks

Menachem


Open C1, do not start the import utility. Open the folder with your tiff images in Finder, select the images you want to import in C1, drag and drop the images in the Browser window of C1. The import utility opens with the files you dropped in C1 - greyed out, click import all and your images are imported in C1.

Henk
hendrik_p
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 4:49 pm

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby NN635680879799322049UL » Sat Feb 09, 2019 5:10 pm

I was not sure where in your workflow you could not see the thumbnails. If you are referring to the thumbnails in the import window, itself, I can confirm that COP does not show you the thumbnails of the TIFFs to be imported. This means you can't select which of the TIFFs you want to import. However, If you select all and import to an album, they will be imported and the thumbnails should appear in that album. You can then delete the ones you don't want.
NN635680879799322049UL
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 7:12 pm

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby NNN636364181394546668 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 6:48 pm

Thanks.

Yes in the import window.

I couldn't select all here because I only want to import TIFs created I already have imported in to the catalogue.

Interesting question, what happens to work you've already done on a catalogue and then you re-import?

I'll try dropping in via Hank's suggestion.
NNN636364181394546668
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby NN635680879799322049UL » Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:43 pm

NNN636364181394546668 wrote:Thanks.

Yes in the import window.

I couldn't select all here because I only want to import TIFs created I already have imported in to the catalogue.

Interesting question, what happens to work you've already done on a catalogue and then you re-import?

I'll try dropping in via Hank's suggestion.


You can always import images by dragging them from Finder into an album. When you do this the thumbnails, or in the case of TIFFs, the names of the files, will appear in the import dialog box, but If you wanted to use Capture One's Import function, you can sort by date and include only those from the date range having the ones you want to import. If you want to import only new TIFFs not previously imported, check the Exclude Duplicates box in the Import From window of the Import dialog box.

Regarding re-importing: If you import the same image multiple times, a thumbnail will appear multiple times in the album into which you import it in the Recent Imports folder for the date and time of the import. Each time you import it, a new Recent Import folder will be created for that date and time. Removing a thumbnail from the album just removes it from the album, but the duplicates will remain in the database as seen in the Import Folders. You can delete the duplicates from appropriate import folder(s), leaving the one you want to keep.
NN635680879799322049UL
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 7:12 pm

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby tenmangu81 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 11:17 am

Same issue since last version/update. Worked fine with 11.3. Will submit a case to the support.
Cheers,
Robert
tenmangu81
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby tenmangu81 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 11:29 am

Done.
Case 318882.
Cheers,
Robert
tenmangu81
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby NNN636364181394546668 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:52 pm

Sorry to reopen the thread, but I did what was suggested and imported all the files into a newly created catalogue, RAWs and TIFs.

I don't know if this is connected, but for the first time I do not have the filenames under each thumbnail.
I checked all the view options and everything seems correct.

Thanks

Menachem
NNN636364181394546668
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby NN635680879799322049UL » Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:24 pm

For me, TIFFs show as gray blanks with the file name below in the import window. I also reported this to support and they acknowledge that it is a bug and has been reported by others and that it will be addressed.

Jerry C
NN635680879799322049UL
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 7:12 pm

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby tenmangu81 » Wed Feb 13, 2019 12:04 pm

Hi all,

I got an answer from the PO staff. They only give me a trick/workaround to deal with the issue !!
See below....

I see your point. With no thumbnail you can not click to select it. Very annoying indeed. A workaround is to in the import window press command+A (this will select all images) then press and hold the command button and click on all images that have a thumbnail to deselect them from the selection. Or simply hit the exclude duplicates.

When you created these in Capture One 11, there is an option on the Process Recipe tool on the File tab to check "Create thumbnails on save". this will embedd a thumbnail into the file it self. If this option is not checked a thumbnail will not be embedded and some applications and systems will fail to display a thumbnail of the image of that file.


Obviously, it was not the same person who answered me as the one who answered Jerry :roll:
tenmangu81
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby SFA » Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:25 pm

So is this a situation where the tiffs, lacking en embedded thumbnail, are available for import but cannot display the content of the file making selection inconvenient? Or do they become un-importable because they have no thumbnail? Or un-importable for some other reason of compatibility?

If it is mainly a selection problem due to lack of embedded thumbnail don't forget that there may be other ways to identify the images to be imported - date and time of creation for example - and you can use the filter facility to target a selection of the files at the specified 'import from' location. If that is not a complete solution because more specific selections are required then maybe the file info section in the import screen could help further.

Alternatively if lack of an embedded thumbnail and a need for specific limitations for the files needed after import are paramount then maybe importing all and then deleting the ones that are not required might be a better overall option. Or maybe segregating the images into 'to be imported' and 'not to be imported' at the point generation would be better still of possible.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 7103
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby tenmangu81 » Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:09 pm

Thanks Grant for all these workarounds. I thought about most of them, but it doesn't seem logical for C1 not to be able to import TIFF obtained from scans (i.e. not created by C1) or, in a more general way, any TIFF. I never faced this issue of importing such files until then. And of course, the suggestion of embedding a thumbnail using C1 isn't relevant, as the blocking step is at the import level, before any processing.
I'll wait for the next update.....
Robert

Edit : and, what is very surprising, is that I already imported the same TIFF files from an other disc with Capture One 11, and it worked perfectly !!

Edit bis : I tried to re-import these files from the same location as when I did it with Capture One 11, and the thumbnails are gray and un-selectable in the import window of Capture One 12. Same import process, different "results".
tenmangu81
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Can't import TIFs

Postby SFA » Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:42 pm

tenmangu81 wrote:
Edit bis : I tried to re-import these files from the same location as when I did it with Capture One 11, and the thumbnails are gray and un-selectable in the import window of Capture One 12. Same import process, different "results".


So that suggests the the "embedded thumbnail" related observations that came up earlier are not as relevant as they may have seemed. Nevertheless it is still mostly a question of being able to identify which images are to be imported rather then an inability to import at all, is it not? Or have I missed something in the discussion?


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 7103
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Next

Return to Capture One 12.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests