What are your HDR and Panorama workflow?

General discussion regarding photography practices and Capture One workflow as well as integration with third party applications.
Please DO NOT post to this thread regarding OS specific concerns or questions.
Forum rules
For the sake of being thorough, please remember to note if you are using Mac or Windows.
Hopefully this will keep any confusion to a minimum.

What are your HDR and Panorama workflow?

Postby Jakerlund » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:37 am

Hello,

Just got my Sony A7 III and bought C1 Pro.
I can't seem to find the least cumbersome workflow from bracketed images to HDR and merge to HDR and back to C1 for final grading.

Right now i have PS/LR, Affinity Photo, PTGui and Photomatix, but no matter what insane series of steps neded to make a bracketed panorama i still end upp with C1 not being able to import 32 or 16 bit PSD, PSB, EXR or TIFF.
I want to try keep things as simple as possible and in the long run get rid of Adobe and unnecessary programs.

I'd hoped for a more easy workflow. I mean, i often shoot bracketed and panoramas, why does it have to take so much time and effort even to get it done?
I have to give it to LR, import your RAW's, make both HDR and Panos within LR and it looks great.

What programs and workflows do you guys use for these things?

Thanks / Johny
User avatar
Jakerlund
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:32 pm

Re: What are your HDR and Panorama workflow?

Postby cdc » Wed Feb 06, 2019 12:24 am

Lr & Ps.
cdc
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:15 am

Re: What are your HDR and Panorama workflow?

Postby NN635403242337236250UL » Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:47 pm

I am in the same boat. I try to search this forums if there are requests by others to ask for compositing images within C1P. The masking opportunities are already great, so I’ love to be able to merge a few cr2 files and create a file with parts of these images (manually) blended together. All without leaving C1P.

For stitching panoramas I use PTGUI as well, and that is super. I don’t expect Phase One to deliver on par performance for panorama stitching.

Blending images together without leaving C1P would be great though.
NN635403242337236250UL
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 11:03 am

Re: What are your HDR and Panorama workflow?

Postby SFA » Wed Feb 06, 2019 2:23 pm

NN635403242337236250UL wrote:I am in the same boat. I try to search this forums if there are requests by others to ask for compositing images within C1P. The masking opportunities are already great, so I’ love to be able to merge a few cr2 files and create a file with parts of these images (manually) blended together. All without leaving C1P.

For stitching panoramas I use PTGUI as well, and that is super. I don’t expect Phase One to deliver on par performance for panorama stitching.

Blending images together without leaving C1P would be great though.


That would require the creation of an intermediate file of some sort where the blending could be applied. Which is basically how such applications already work - Photoshop for example expects an input file it can use.

It would be a whole system of functionality beyond that of a RAW converter. One heck of a lot of development time to create an alternative to PS and its similars.

The options for plugins and the management of the results would seem to be a way to address such requirements and use existing and proven applications - as many do already.

Unless something comes out of developments for the IQ backs I would imagine that at this stage the partnership with well regarded existing specialist applications for plugins, like that with Helicon Focus, is a more likely scenario for the time being.

Just my opinion of course.

Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 7252
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: What are your HDR and Panorama workflow?

Postby Jakerlund » Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:36 pm

Thanks guys,

LR+PS is what i have been using to and LR really does HDR and Pano's very well and easy.
But going over to C1 i want get rid of Adobe and find some solution that's close to as easy as with LR+PS.

Working with bracketed and panoramas is quite common and it should be easy.
It would at least be helpful to be able to select images in C1 and send them to PTGui or Aurora and when they are done the image would be saved right back into C1 for final tweaking.
From very easy in LR to many awkward steps from C1->PTGui/PhotoMatix/Affinity Photo and export and try to import back to C1 is such a huge step down in productivity.

Btw: NN635403242337236250UL
(You also need to update your profile name at phaseone.com to something else than all those letters and numbers :shock: )
When i stich a bracketed pano in PTGui, no matter what i save it as C1 won't recognize it and i can't import the image.
How do you do that?
My 16 bit tiff or PSD panos from PTGui is not possible to import in C1 :cry:

Best regards / Johny
User avatar
Jakerlund
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:32 pm


Return to Workflow and Common Photography Exploration



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests