Missing adjustment layer masks

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 11.x for Mac

Missing adjustment layer masks

Postby Ian3 » Mon Sep 24, 2018 10:51 am

I have several times recently had a problem again that used to crop up in the past, and that I know other users have complained of here. Capture One tells me that an adjustment mask is missing and has been replaced by an empty mask. So then in the session Selects>Capture One>Settings 110 folder, there is a .comask file with today's date on it and although the layer still exists in Capture One, it has no mask. (Press M and no red area shows.)

I can recover from this by getting the .comask files in question from my Time Machine backup and pasting them in to the Settings 110 file in place of the new (empty) .comask files, and that does work.

BUT two issues arise.

(1) I am beginning to use a catalog and importing sessions into it once I have finished work on them. (Because I want to use Capture One cataloguing with keywords etc in place of the soon-to-be-defunct Media Pro.) If this were to happen once my images were in the catalog, how easy would it be to locate and restore the previous .comask files? I am not sure how to do that in a catalog.

(2) How do I stop this problem arising in the first place?

I am worried about losing a lot of work in some images where I have done extensive local adjustment work in layers.

Ian

Edited to add: and it's just happened again! I had restored masks to the images in question in my session just this morning, opened the session and verified that they were there, but now I have opened the session again and they are gone again! I have already verified the session in case there was a problem with it, and none was reported.
Ian3
 
Posts: 3168
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Missing adjustment layer masks

Postby NNN636593850282134436 » Tue Jan 01, 2019 6:29 pm

This seems to have been a perennial problem with Capture One. The .comask files seem to reset themselves arbitrarily, losing the mask data. Phase One appear to have no interest in fixing the problem.
NNN636593850282134436
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 11:30 am

Re: Missing adjustment layer masks

Postby ben_US » Wed Jan 02, 2019 6:30 pm

Best option here is to create a tech support case (via the link in my profile) and send us your log files, which can be generated via the Scripts > Get Logs option.
ben_US
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 681
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:51 pm
Location: New York, USA

Re: Missing adjustment layer masks

Postby Ian3 » Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:30 pm

ben_US wrote:Best option here is to create a tech support case (via the link in my profile) and send us your log files, which can be generated via the Scripts > Get Logs option.

Yes, I did create a support case and they have asked for an image and log files. I'll be sending them.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 3168
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Missing adjustment layer masks

Postby GCheriton » Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:08 am

I encountered this problem for the first time last week. I have C1 on a desktop PC running Win10 as well as a MacBook Pro with OS 10.11, both are still on Capture One 11. I had a session on a mobile hard drive (exFAT) that I first did some editing from my MBP then on the PC with no problem, then when I went back on the MBP again I got the errors for missing masks.
GCheriton
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:13 am


Return to Capture One 11.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests