Max catalog size an issue moving from LR6 to C1

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 10.x

Max catalog size an issue moving from LR6 to C1

Postby NNN636439695515887459 » Sat Oct 27, 2018 11:38 pm

I was getting close to pulling the plug and moving my 420k images from LR6 to C1 since I bought new cameras no longer supported in LR6 and also how well C1 works with Fuji RAWs.

While doing due diligence on the process, I discovered that C1 cannot have large catalogs, somewhere between 35k and 100k, depending on the entry I was reading.

If divided by years, my largest year is 92k. However, the thought of having 8-10 catalogs that cannot be search across, or have common collections like in LR is appearing to be a showstopper.

What is the max size catalog recommended in C1?
Is there a solution for me with 420k images across 3 external drives in C1?

Thanks,
Nancy Goodenough
NNN636439695515887459
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:25 am

Re: Max catalog size an issue moving from LR6 to C1

Postby Peter.Brockhausen » Sun Oct 28, 2018 9:36 am

There is no hard limit, but 420k and even 90k is way to much for the C1 catalog, in my experience.

How about using the catalog of Lightroom 6 only, and C1 in session mode for raw developing?

Personally, I use the C1 sessions. But, I would like to have a decent catalog too.

--peter
Peter.Brockhausen
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: Max catalog size an issue moving from LR6 to C1

Postby Ian3 » Sun Oct 28, 2018 10:00 am

Did you intentionally ask this in the Capture One 10 board? If you are really using Capture One 10, you might try version 11. I didn't use catalogs before v11, but I gather that the catalog functionality has improved over successive versions. A free trial couldn't harm.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2635
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Max catalog size an issue moving from LR6 to C1

Postby NNN636439695515887459 » Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:37 pm

Ian3 wrote:Did you intentionally ask this in the Capture One 10 board? If you are really using Capture One 10, you might try version 11. I didn't use catalogs before v11, but I gather that the catalog functionality has improved over successive versions. A free trial couldn't harm.

Ian

Ah, I missed that. I'll move over to a more recent board. A free trial won't help me with seeing how big a catalog can get. I was hoping for user experiences. Thanks.
NNN636439695515887459
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:25 am

Re: Max catalog size an issue moving from LR6 to C1

Postby NNN636439695515887459 » Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:40 pm

Peter.Brockhausen wrote:There is no hard limit, but 420k and even 90k is way to much for the C1 catalog, in my experience.

How about using the catalog of Lightroom 6 only, and C1 in session mode for raw developing?

Personally, I use the C1 sessions. But, I would like to have a decent catalog too.

--peter


LR6 won't recognize my new cameras' RAWs and won't import them. I could first use DNG Converter or Iridient X-Transformer to convert the RAWs on the new cameras, but LR6 is near end-of-life so I was trying to get ahead of the game. thanks.
NNN636439695515887459
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:25 am

Re: Max catalog size an issue moving from LR6 to C1

Postby NNN636439695515887459 » Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:52 pm

I have now put the question in the correct board. Sorry for not paying attention to the current version of C1.
n
NNN636439695515887459
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:25 am


Return to Capture One 10.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests