ISO + FW question

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Phase One P+ series and P series digital camera backs.

ISO + FW question

Postby swissmade » Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:41 am

Hi folks

I have a P30 Digiback (FW MAin 2.5.2) for my Hasselblad 500 CM and

1. I can't find the ISO 50 setting in the ISO Menu. Is there a reason for that?
2. Where can I find the latest Firmware version and HOW to load it without a fireWire connection?
3- Looking for a P30 manual

Thanks in advance

Daniel
swissmade
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 8:15 pm


Re: ISO + FW question

Postby swissmade » Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:05 am

Thanks but I saw this before .....

It does not feed my needs, the firmware is not for the P30......... and I thought there is a P30 manual not formthe whole P Series.

Anyway to load the new firmware WITHOUT a firewire connection is also needed because Firewire is NOT coomon anymore, especially on a mac.

Daniel
swissmade
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: ISO + FW question

Postby Ulf » Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:26 am

Hi

You do have the latest firmware in the camera back so no firmware update is needed.
The 30mp sensor in the P30 has 100 as base ISO due to its use of microlenses on each pixel so essentially ISO 100 on P30 has the same quality as ISO 50 on a P45.
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: ISO + FW question

Postby swissmade » Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:56 pm

Hello Ulf
Ulf wrote:You do have the latest firmware in the camera back so no firmware update is needed.
The 30mp sensor in the P30 has 100 as base ISO due to its use of microlenses on each pixel so essentially ISO 100 on P30 has the same quality as ISO 50 on a P45.


Are you very sure??? I'm not. The P-Series Reference manual say's and show the ISO 50:
Image

My back shows:
Image

If you say "The 30mp sensor in the P30 has 100 as base ISO due to its use of microlenses on each pixel so essentially ISO 100 on P30 has the same quality as ISO 50 on a P45" what setting in the menu then is ISO 100? Means there is NO difference in ISO 50 and 100 because you have NOT the choice 50 or 100

Daniel
swissmade
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: ISO + FW question

Postby Ulf » Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:07 pm

Hi

The manual is generic for the "P" series.
P20, P25 and P45 has base ISO 50 while P21 and P30 have ISO 100 as base ISO.
Note how the menu shows ISO 400 as top level while you back has ISO 800 for that very reason.
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: ISO + FW question

Postby swissmade » Wed Mar 22, 2017 11:20 pm

Hi Ulf

Why say's the Data sheet something different???

Image
swissmade
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: ISO + FW question

Postby Ulf » Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:09 am

Not sure where that comes from, it is wrong.
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: ISO + FW question

Postby swissmade » Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:59 am

Good morning Ulf

It came from your website:

http://downloads.phaseone.com/P-30-Datasheet.pdf

Daniel
swissmade
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: ISO + FW question

Postby Ulf » Thu Mar 23, 2017 12:23 pm

Hmm.. well that has to be fixed :-) (even if it is old....)
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: ISO + FW question

Postby swissmade » Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:54 pm

Fact (alternatively) is, nobody knows really the tech specs of this P30. The dealer here in switzerland told me something 50-1600 ISO but he knows it not really. This is a Phase One dealer! The datasheet say's 50-800, you say 100-800.......

Sorry in fact this sounds not very serious!
swissmade
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: ISO + FW question

Postby swissmade » Fri Mar 24, 2017 9:43 am

Forgot to say:

Firmware updates are not supported when using the Apple Thunderbolt adapter. The update itself will fail, but the back can be recovered by updating the firmware on another computer with a direct firewire connection. For IQ backs we recommend updating via USB or CF card. For all other backs please use a computer with firewire ports.


Nobody tell me that. Also not the Phase One dealers......
swissmade
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: ISO + FW question

Postby Ulf » Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:13 am

HI

It is a older product, not easy for a Phase One partner to keep information on a 12 year old product.
I am sure they can tell you the data specs of a current products easily.

However:
P30: ISO 100-800
P30+ ISO 100-1600

If there is anything, then do not hesitate to contact us in the tech support team (Http://support.phaseone.com)
I will leave this thread as it is after all a user to user forum.
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark


Return to Phase One P+ and P series camera backs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest