Colour shift while Importing

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby SFA » Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:06 pm

So this is a jpg file which has been shot as jpg AND B&W in camera?

If so the B&W 'style' is presumably burned in to the jpg file. (If is was a RAW file the Camera Film Style would be applied as an adjustment to the RAW values but could be removed or replaced. The same goes for the White Balance settings.

For a jpg the Base Characteristic files settings can only be 'Linear' since the values are burned in to the file. The "Auto" selection will, in fact be the only selection available - "Linear".

It's interesting that you see the see the same problem in other editors.

Also that the appearance on my system opening the file in a session with and without import and it made no difference - the image appeared as a regular monochrome image with no sepia tint.

HTH.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 7121
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby NN636986175608413228UL » Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:08 pm

So here's the update so far.

Problem with the file: Ruled out (As the jpg file opens fine on other/your computers)
Problem with the software i.e. Capture One: Ruled out (As the file shows similar colour shift on other Image editing apps, but not on image viewing apps)
Problem with the Graphics card: Likely (As the GPU acceleration affects Image processing apps and not image viewing apps)

So i'm running a i7 8700K with a Radeon RX580 GPU. Could this be a potential problem?
NN636986175608413228UL
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:26 pm

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby SFA » Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:14 pm

NN636986175608413228UL wrote:So here's the update so far.

Problem with the file: Ruled out (As the jpg file opens fine on other/your computers)
Problem with the software i.e. Capture One: Ruled out (As the file shows similar colour shift on other Image editing apps, but not on image viewing apps)
Problem with the Graphics card: Likely (As the GPU acceleration affects Image processing apps and not image viewing apps)

So i'm running a i7 8700K with a Radeon RX580 GPU. Could this be a potential problem?


To test that theory, go to Preferences and turn off the Hardware acceleration option and try again. Probably best to at least restart C1 before trying trying. Maybe restart the whole system.

I suspect it is a long shot but only takes a couple of minutes to check.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 7121
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Colour shift while Importing

Postby NN636986175608413228UL » Thu Jul 25, 2019 7:25 am

Hello everyone!

Finally Good news. Apparently what transpired is, a Windows update changed the colour profile of the monitor. It was not a software problem, but a OS problem (as this problem was affecting various Apps). I went to the System Colour Management tool and changed the default colour profile to sRGB IEC61966-2.1. That did the trick.

Thank you everyone for your kind support and concern.
NN636986175608413228UL
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:26 pm

Previous

Return to Capture One 12.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests