"Levels - Shadows" vs "Levels - Target Shadows"

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Windows

"Levels - Shadows" vs "Levels - Target Shadows"

Postby NNN636228568741858362 » Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:23 pm

Im redoing all my keyboard short cuts and with v12 I found these... what exactly is the difference between these?

Image
NNN636228568741858362
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: "Levels - Shadows" vs "Levels - Target Shadows"

Postby SFA » Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:00 am

Way too deep into the complexity of shortcuts for me.

I'm tempted to suggest that you would know if you needed to know.

But otherwise they relate to the levels tool so why not open a set og levels tools, set up a couple of examples of the shortcuts and try them then observe what happens?

Alternatively the Help for the tool ( '?' on the top line of the tool window) may offer guidance.

HTH.


Grant.
Last edited by SFA on Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
SFA
 
Posts: 6353
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: "Levels - Shadows" vs "Levels - Target Shadows"

Postby Tibor » Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:32 am

Target Shadows and Target Highlights are your output values. With them you can narrow the DR (squeeze the histogram) of the file for printing. For example, if your printer can only print shadows (not just plain black on paper) of value 5 and above, set your Target Shadow at 5. Same for Highlights. If you can only print the highlights of value 253 and below (if 254 or 255 is just plain white on paper) set your Target Highlights at 253.
Tibor
Tibor
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 6:32 pm

Re: "Levels - Shadows" vs "Levels - Target Shadows"

Postby Denyer » Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:28 am

You know the levels tool, you have two sets of arrows, one above and one below.
The top set are "Highlight, Shadow" and the bottom set are "Target highlight, Target Shadow". You then have the ability to move those pointers in the 3 channels, R, G and B.

Thus you can bind keys to manipulate the levels dialog, avoiding the use of the mouse / exposing it to MIDI interfaces.
Denyer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:27 pm

Re: "Levels - Shadows" vs "Levels - Target Shadows"

Postby Ian3 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:27 pm

Denyer wrote:You know the levels tool, you have two sets of arrows, one above and one below.
The top set are "Highlight, Shadow" and the bottom set are "Target highlight, Target Shadow". You then have the ability to move those pointers in the 3 channels, R, G and B.

Thus you can bind keys to manipulate the levels dialog, avoiding the use of the mouse / exposing it to MIDI interfaces.

Denyer

I believe its the other way round. Target levels are the top ones. (You can verify that by setting a keyboard shortcut for one of them, using it, and seeing which slider moves.)

Target means the level that the tool is aiming at. So by default the shadow target is at 0 (top left marker) and when I move the bottom left marker in to some other value (perhaps the edge of my histogram is at 10) it arranges that the level I have moved to is mapped to the target level (so my edge of the histogram that was at 10, comes out as pure black, or 0.) If I set the target at, say 5, (perhaps because that it required by my printer) and do the same thing, C1 arranges that the 10 I set on the bottom slider doesn't become pure black, but only the almost black of 5.

Ian

Edited to add: the screen shot doesn't show this, but in my keyboard shortcuts there are options for the RGB levels as well as the separate R, G and B ones.
Ian3
 
Posts: 2548
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: "Levels - Shadows" vs "Levels - Target Shadows"

Postby NNN636228568741858362 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 6:53 pm

Thanks for the input everyone!

Edited to add: the screen shot doesn't show this, but in my keyboard shortcuts there are options for the RGB levels as well as the separate R, G and B ones.


What version of C1 are you on?
I'm on 12.0.2.3 (ea316fd)
NNN636228568741858362
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: "Levels - Shadows" vs "Levels - Target Shadows"

Postby Ian3 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 7:27 pm

NNN636228568741858362 wrote:Thanks for the input everyone!

Edited to add: the screen shot doesn't show this, but in my keyboard shortcuts there are options for the RGB levels as well as the separate R, G and B ones.


What version of C1 are you on?
I'm on 12.0.2.3 (ea316fd)

I'm on 12.0.2.17 (64c0276), and on a Mac, if that makes a difference.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2548
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England


Return to Capture One 12.x Software for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests