MX150 for Capture One?

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Windows

MX150 for Capture One?

Postby seven21 » Tue Feb 26, 2019 5:06 pm

Has anyone tried editing on a laptop with mx150 dGPU? Is it okay for basic editing or do I need something more powerful?

I'm currently looking for a new laptop for editing when not at home. Primary use is for software development, second only for photo editing. I have Surface Pro 3 and it's struggling for basic editing. If mx150 will be able to handle it (and bonus if it won't turn the fan on high like the SP3), I might get the Lenovo T480s. This unit can be customized to have mx150 and WQHD touch display.

T490s is also coming in a few months, but from my research, Lenovo removed the dGPU option.
User avatar
seven21
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 4:41 pm

Re: MX150 for Capture One?

Postby Bobtographer » Tue Feb 26, 2019 8:01 pm

its about the same power as the 1030
AMD R1700 OC 3.8GHz | AMD R9 Fury 4GB | 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200MHz DDR 4 | 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M.2 NVMe
LG 27UD88 | LG 27 ColorPrime | C1 12.1 | Win10 64Pro 17763
Bobtographer
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:01 am
Location: England

Re: MX150 for Capture One?

Postby C-M-B » Wed Feb 27, 2019 11:09 am

From my personal experience it also depends on how big the files are, that you're processing. There's a huge difference between 20MP and 150MP images and that will surely influence your performance.

I've used a 750M,a 1050Ti and a 1070 laptop and all of them were able to cope with Capture One without any issues.
Of course the 1050Ti was faster than the 750M and the 1070 was even faster, but it wasn't as big a differnce when working/editing. The real difference was exporting the files.

The MX150 is somewhere between the 750M and the 1050Ti (I think closer to the 1050Ti) so it should be fine. However, when it comes to other stuff like video editing it might not be sufficient.

I think the GPU helps with a smoother editing experience and rendering the images faster, but it's not a huge difference.
C-M-B
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:57 pm

Re: MX150 for Capture One?

Postby seven21 » Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:25 pm

Thanks C-M-B

My images are only 24MP images and I don't do videos, so I guess mx150 is a viable option.
Lenovo sites in other countries are already showing preview of the new models, but no available configuration yet. I'll hold my purchase for a couple months more and see more updates. Current models' prices will also definitely go down, so that's also good if there is no big improvement going for the new models.
User avatar
seven21
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 4:41 pm

Re: MX150 for Capture One?

Postby C-M-B » Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:02 pm

I've been working wiht 60MP images and the 750M (2GB) on a MacBook Pro and that worked perfectly fine for editing and tethered shooting, rendering the images quite fast.
Again: not quite as fast as the 1050Ti/1070 MaxQ, but considering you're going to work with 24MP the MX150 should be fine :)
C-M-B
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:57 pm

Re: MX150 for Capture One?

Postby Bobtographer » Thu Feb 28, 2019 2:43 am

Like i said it's about the same as the 1030, which is about 50% faster than the 750M, and 50%ish slower than a 1050Ti
AMD R1700 OC 3.8GHz | AMD R9 Fury 4GB | 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200MHz DDR 4 | 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M.2 NVMe
LG 27UD88 | LG 27 ColorPrime | C1 12.1 | Win10 64Pro 17763
Bobtographer
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:01 am
Location: England


Return to Capture One 12.x Software for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest