best way to fix haze and reflection

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Windows

best way to fix haze and reflection

Postby Adam172 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:36 am

Hi,
I'm still learning to use C1.
Looking to fix some haze in my image shot through store window glass. Is there a preset or style?
Any suggestion are appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Adam172

Re: best way to fix haze and reflection

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Thu Feb 07, 2019 8:40 am

You could try the Levels tool, in particular the specific channels, like the blue channel for example.

Easier is the Clarity tool. If affects surfaces.

Do not expect to much of this, by the way. A polarising filter on the lens is the only solution.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional

Postby SFA » Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:08 pm

There is a potential additional problem shooting through glass where the lens/sensor is not parallel to the glass. Worst case is double or triple glazing where a number of factors may come into play depending on the type of shot.

The basic problem is that the image will have that area "flattened" and all you can really try to do is "unflatten" it in some way. Basically making the darkest part darker, the lightest points lighter and trying to spread anything in between to increase the perceived range available. All of that while trying to keep the look as natural as possible for the subject matter.

Layer, levels (by colour channel), curve, clarity, contrast adjustments and saturation, possibly sharpness, are some of the more influential options.

Once you have worked out what works for you to get a result you like, save it as a style for re-use as the basis for another adjustment in the future.

HTH

Grant
SFA