Can I run process recipe on on-raw file?

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Mac

Can I run process recipe on on-raw file?

Postby NNN636959100363928435 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 5:32 pm

I am currently using the trial version of Capture One Pro to evaluate the possibility of migrating from Lightroom. I am an avid hobbyist and have a library of about 88k pictures dating back to 2000. As you can imagine I have many different raw formats as well as lots of JPG only pictures.

In Lightroom I had a plugin to automatically publish my "1 star or better" images so I could maintain a set of pictures which I sync with Mylio for sharing with my family. My workflow for doing this was to import, rate, retouch, and publish. This worked for raw files as well as any other non-raw files that might show up (maybe from an older camera or some other source).

I have been playing around with Capture One for the last couple days and overall I really do like the program and the interface (takes me back to my Aperature days :)). This is especially true because now I mainly use Fuji X cameras and Capture One really shines there.

Now I am trying to figure out how my publish workflow will work in Capture One and I am having some troubles. After some research it seems like a process recipe is most like what I did in Lightroom and I especially like the fact that I can have multiple recipes for different things (e.g. low res for social media, etc). I also like that it sets some metadata bout the process history so I can use that in smart filters/albums to avoid re-exporting files I've already exported without extra tagging steps.