CO 12.1 - Problems with EOS R RAW-Files

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Mac

CO 12.1 - Problems with EOS R RAW-Files

Postby NNN636505060983795622 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:02 am

Hello everyone!

Hope this hasn't been posted already yet.

Since the latest CO update I have some major problems with RAW files of my Canon EOS R.
First, I am completely unable to import new files to CO (RAW files aren't recognized in the import window although they are "physically" there in the selected folder).
Second, most of the RAW files, which I have imported earlier, get an exclamation mark warning sign in CO and are blocked for editing. It looks like this:
Image
It does show a very low-resolution preview of the image only and all control elements in the toolbox are blocked. The browser doesn't show any preview at all. However, this does not apply to all images of this set. Very few of them (<1%) are still working normally. I was unable yet to find a pattern why these images are still okay. (All other photos of the catalog, shot using different cameras, are working fine.) Plus, this whole thing only happens, as soon as I connect the NAS where the original RAW files are stored. In offline mode, all photos show fine with their offline previews, although editing tools are still blocked (which is also odd).

All these problems appeared after the update to CO 12.1 - prior everything was fine. Does anyone have a similar problem? Or maybe a solution already?

Rebuilding previews doesn't work - it seems to have no effect at all since it doesn't really build a new preview but skips every photo. Original RAW files are available on a NAS, works for all files of the catalog except for the mentioned ones. I am quite sure that there is no damage to the original RAW files on the NAS, since until the CO update everything was working well. I'm using CO Pro 12.1 on a MacBook Pro Late 2013.

Thanks and best regards!

UPDATE: It seems that some of my EOS R photos got removed from the catalog as well.
NNN636505060983795622
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:07 pm

Re: CO 12.1 - Problems with EOS R RAW-Files

Postby SFA » Mon Jun 17, 2019 11:08 am

Have you created a Support Case with the C1 Support Team?

If not you probably should.
SFA
 
Posts: 6455
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: CO 12.1 - Problems with EOS R RAW-Files

Postby NNN636909217628212595 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 4:45 pm

Same problem here!
NNN636909217628212595
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 11:42 am

Re: CO 12.1 - Problems with EOS R RAW-Files

Postby NNN636909217628212595 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 4:57 pm

I think this issue only happens whith DUAL PIXEL RAW activated on CANON EOS R. Not problem with other cameras or EOS R with DUAL PIXEL OFF.

I have a case open and waiting for response.
NNN636909217628212595
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 11:42 am

Re: CO 12.1 - Problems with EOS R RAW-Files

Postby NNN636505060983795622 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:57 pm

Thank you guys for your answers.

I can confirm that I also have Dual Pixel set to „on“.

I‘m now thinking of opening a support case as well, but since you already did that and I use CO for hobby purposes only (no hurry for me), I will just wait for any reaction on your open ticket.
NNN636505060983795622
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:07 pm

Re: CO 12.1 - Problems with EOS R RAW-Files

Postby SFA » Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:22 am

NNN636505060983795622 wrote:Thank you guys for your answers.

I can confirm that I also have Dual Pixel set to „on“.

I‘m now thinking of opening a support case as well, but since you already did that and I use CO for hobby purposes only (no hurry for me), I will just wait for any reaction on your open ticket.


Probably still a good idea to open a ticket.

There are no notes for limitations in the V12.1 release notes related to the EOS R and RS producing CR3 files BUT there is a note related to the Dual Pixel focusing option for CR2 files from the 5D MkIV.

Given the Dual Pixel thing is a specific feature it may have required some significant development resource to make it work in C1.

Weighting would be given to allocating resources (assuming that for the C1 approach it is technically viable) according to the level of interest. That is measured, in part, by the number of unique user requests logged with the Support Case system.

So I recommend that you add your voice to the conversation.

HTH.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6455
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: CO 12.1 - Problems with EOS R RAW-Files

Postby NNN636505060983795622 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:05 pm

Thanks for your answers.

I opened a support ticket and will let you know, when something happens.

Best regards.
NNN636505060983795622
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:07 pm

Re: CO 12.1 - Problems with EOS R RAW-Files

Postby NNN636505060983795622 » Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:22 pm

Update: Support told me that they are aware of the problem and working on a solution with the next service update. Unfortunately they cannot give an ETA for the update.
In the meantime, they suggested going back to CO 12.0.3 - which is not possible at least in my case, since the catalog was updated with 12.1 and cannot be opened anymore with 12.0.3. So, I have to wait for the update now.
NNN636505060983795622
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:07 pm

Re: CO 12.1 - Problems with EOS R RAW-Files

Postby Perttis » Sun Jun 23, 2019 1:44 pm

You could try to use backupped catalog.

inside of "CaptureOne Catalog.cocatalog" you should have backup copy of db:
"CaptureOne Catalog.cocatalogdb.backup" that should be older version of your database.

To be sure, I would copy whole CaptureOne Catalog.cocatalog and rename that to be something else.
Ane arter that delete that "CaptureOne Catalog.cocatalogdb" and rename backup so that there is not that backup extension. Load now this new catalog (what ever was the new name) with CO1.
Perttis
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 3:07 pm

Re: CO 12.1 - Problems with EOS R RAW-Files

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Tue Jun 25, 2019 10:00 am

Perttis wrote:You could try to use backupped catalog.

inside of "CaptureOne Catalog.cocatalog" you should have backup copy of db:
"CaptureOne Catalog.cocatalogdb.backup" that should be older version of your database.

To be sure, I would copy whole CaptureOne Catalog.cocatalog and rename that to be something else.
Ane arter that delete that "CaptureOne Catalog.cocatalogdb" and rename backup so that there is not that backup extension. Load now this new catalog (what ever was the new name) with CO1.

Please note that with this procedure you will lose any changes made to the catalog after the 12.1 update.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Capture One 12.x Software for Mac



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests