Capture One and macOS Catalina

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x

Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby rc_photo » Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:55 pm

Just before anybody asks:
macOS Catalina is in best case available as BETA-SW (for developers) in the moment

1) Do not expect a Capture One release supporting macOS Catalina before macOS Catalina is officially released
2) Do not expect a Capture One release supporting macOS Catalina before Phase One has made its checks (and possibly needed corrections / amendments)

As conclusion: trust that Phase One will start to check their SW for issues but do not expect any official release supporting macOS Catalina earlier than some time after the official release (to the public) of macOS Catalina.

Anyhow, if you are brave enough to test how Capture One works on the Beta-Releases of macOS Catalina, let Phase One know about problems (as support case?)
rc_photo
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:47 pm

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby PSS » Tue Jun 04, 2019 1:01 am

most exciting news for me today are ipadOS and Sidecar....really hoping for an iPad tethered C1 version and full Sidecar integration....a dream set up....
yes and that new screen looks nice as well....
PSS
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:47 am
Location: LA

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby fatihayoglu » Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:29 am

I was using Luna display since a while but with this new Sidecar, I might look to upgrade my iPad to a later one and what benefits it brings different than Luna.

Another exiting announcement was, iPad can read external drives. This means CO can write the app as the software heavily depends on folders. So maybe we can see an iPad version soon.

But more enthusiastically, I am waiting for those first few comments where users buy good spec new Mac Pro with new 6K monitor and having performance issues with CO and CO team says there system is not good enough :D
fatihayoglu
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby tenmangu81 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 11:56 am

fatihayoglu wrote:But more enthusiastically, I am waiting for those first few comments where users buy good spec new Mac Pro with new 6K monitor and having performance issues with CO and CO team says there system is not good enough :D


Frankly speaking, IMHO, this new Mac Pro will be very useful for high level movie makers. No use and no need for waisting money if it is only for Capture One or Photoshop :D
tenmangu81
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby Nebes » Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:10 pm

Capture One runs significantly slower in Catalina in my limited testing with it. I believe this is because although OpenCL was depreciated in Mojave, it’s now officially unsupported in Catalina. I had to disable graphics switching in order to even utilize the discrete gpu. Any computationally intensive task leads to a lot of stuttering and skipping within the interface, and tools like the radial mask and especially the luma mask are very difficult to use. I’m going to disable hardware acceleration and see how that compares. I really hope the dev team are working on migrating from OpenCL to Metal; I’ll happily test some Capture One betas!
Nebes
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 5:23 am

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby SFA » Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:16 pm

NNN636924542041805724 wrote:I’ll happily test some Capture One betas!


Then do.

As a Windows user I have nothing much to offer but you could sign up and provide useful input.

Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 7148
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby Nebes » Wed Jun 12, 2019 11:57 pm

I am no longer able to get C1 12 to recognize my camera for tethered shooting either. I have a Fuji XT-3 with the latest firmware to date, and I am able to see it in the MacOS Image Capture utility only. If any one has luck with that or any other brand camera I'd like to hear how you were able to get it recognized.

SFA wrote:
Nebes wrote:I’ll happily test some Capture One betas!

Then do.
As a Windows user I have nothing much to offer but you could sign up and provide useful input.

Is there a way to do so that you are aware of? I included that in the case that any staff read my post. I have a support case open with this information already.
Nebes
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 5:23 am

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby tenmangu81 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:42 am

Nebes wrote:I really hope the dev team are working on migrating from OpenCL to Metal; I’ll happily test some Capture One betas!


Don't worry !! Phase One is for sure aware of this big change, and they will provide in due time a version working with Metal and no longer using OpenCL.
tenmangu81
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby fatihayoglu » Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:00 pm

And I hope while they are working on integrating Metal, they will work on their GPU usage as well. What I mean with this is, CO uses GPU for very limited calculations. Take Luma masking for instance, all the calculations of Luma masking is done by CPU (according my Activity Monitor) and GPU is just awaiting there. Wouldn't it be better for a software to attack all the available sources to make the calculations faster?
fatihayoglu
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby NNN636421911387821592 » Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:25 pm

Same with Canon 5DSR and Capture One 12 !
Seems that the camera mounts (showing the tethered file copy mode on the camera screen) but neither CP12 nor Canon’s proprietary software (EOS Utility 3) can connect to it. It’s not working thru WIFI either (with the WiFi SD card dongle for Canon).

I suspect this has to do with the depreciation of 32bits software and drivers under macOS 10.15, not CP12 which Is working well under this Beta OS.


Nebes wrote:I am no longer able to get C1 12 to recognize my camera for tethered shooting either. I have a Fuji XT-3 with the latest firmware to date, and I am able to see it in the MacOS Image Capture utility only. If any one has luck with that or any other brand camera I'd like to hear how you were able to get it recognized.

SFA wrote:
Nebes wrote:I’ll happily test some Capture One betas!

Then do.
As a Windows user I have nothing much to offer but you could sign up and provide useful input.

Is there a way to do so that you are aware of? I included that in the case that any staff read my post. I have a support case open with this information already.
NNN636421911387821592
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 11:25 am

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby Peter Svancar » Wed Jun 26, 2019 5:57 pm

even if catalina will release officially this year, do not expect C1 V12 be compatible..95% they will release V13 supporting it, so you have to purchase upgrade.

have a nice day :)
Peter Svancar
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:32 pm

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby PSS » Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:40 pm

there are no surprises here....everybody knew the new mac OS was coming, there is no reason C1 would not be compatible on the day it is officially released.....public beta is already available....
the bigger question is when will C1 catch up in speed and iOs integration....its crazy how much faster LR is and i dont consider adobe in any way apple friendly (premier on mac is a joke compared to fcpx or davinci)....
PSS
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:47 am
Location: LA

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby Ian3 » Wed Jun 26, 2019 8:16 pm

PSS wrote:there are no surprises here....everybody knew the new mac OS was coming, there is no reason C1 would not be compatible on the day it is officially released.....public beta is already available....
the bigger question is when will C1 catch up in speed and iOs integration....its crazy how much faster LR is and i dont consider adobe in any way apple friendly (premier on mac is a joke compared to fcpx or davinci)....

Phase One always say that they can't bring in compatibility with a new OS version on the day of its release because Apple can, and sometimes does, make changes to the OS from the beta version at the very last minute. However, I would be very surprised if Phase One wasn't already working on Catalina compatibility. But I would much rather have a new version that had been tested with the final release of the OS than something that had been rushed out with fingers crossed in the hope that it would work. (Not that I am likely to be able to run Catalina on my existing computers! But if I could, I would also be unlikely to upgrade my OS on the first day either.)

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 3175
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby SFA » Wed Jun 26, 2019 9:52 pm

Nebes wrote:
Is there a way to do so that you are aware of? I included that in the case that any staff read my post. I have a support case open with this information already.


Log in to your C1 account to see what activity options are available. There could be something there. I cannot be sure since I have previously registered.
SFA
 
Posts: 7148
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Capture One and macOS Catalina

Postby Sansith » Thu Jun 27, 2019 7:22 am

Tethering does't work with osx Catalina

Software can't connect to camera
Sansith
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 6:02 pm

Next

Return to Capture One 12.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests