Single User License

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Mac

Single User License

Postby NN259560UL » Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:40 pm

Can I install Capture One Pro 12 Single User in more than one computer - i.e., my Mac Pro and MacBook Pro? It is currently installed on just my Mac Pro? Do I need an extra license to install it in 2 computers?
NN259560UL
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:27 pm

Re: Single User License

Postby David532 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:59 pm

Quick answer - no. Go to Help/License and you will see how many activations you have left.
User avatar
David532
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 5:31 pm
Location: Thornbury, Uk

Re: Single User License

Postby picman2 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:49 pm

I think you can install it on 2 to 3 computers depending, look here:

https://www.phaseone.com/en/Search/Arti ... nguageid=1
User avatar
picman2
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 7:12 pm

Re: Single User License

Postby NN259560UL » Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:20 pm

David532 wrote:Quick answer - no. Go to Help/License and you will see how many activations you have left.

2 activations left
picman2 wrote:I think you can install it on 2 to 3 computers depending, look here:

https://www.phaseone.com/en/Search/Arti ... nguageid=1

Therefore I am concluding, based on the KB article provided by @picman2, that I can install it in 2 additional devices.
NN259560UL
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:27 pm

Re: Single User License

Postby OddS » Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:27 pm

NN259560UL wrote:2 activations left
...
Therefore I am concluding, based on the KB article provided by @picman2, that I can install it in 2 additional devices.


I wonder if you are confusing a (potentially high) number of installations and the max number of activated (working) installations allowed by your license?
--
Odd S.
OddS
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 10:28 pm

Re: Single User License

Postby NN259560UL » Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:39 pm

OddS wrote:
NN259560UL wrote:2 activations left
...
Therefore I am concluding, based on the KB article provided by @picman2, that I can install it in 2 additional devices.


I wonder if you are confusing a (potentially high) number of installations and the max number of activated (working) installations allowed by your license?


Don't think so, Capture One 10, 11 and 12 have only been installed on one computer, my Mac Pro, and activated once. Now that I am on the road more often, I would like to have a copy installed on my MacBook Pro. I have absolutely no problem buying another license, if required, but I don't think it is needed.
NN259560UL
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:27 pm

Re: Single User License

Postby Ian3 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:06 pm

NN259560UL wrote:
OddS wrote:
NN259560UL wrote:2 activations left
...
Therefore I am concluding, based on the KB article provided by @picman2, that I can install it in 2 additional devices.


I wonder if you are confusing a (potentially high) number of installations and the max number of activated (working) installations allowed by your license?


Don't think so, Capture One 10, 11 and 12 have only been installed on one computer, my Mac Pro, and activated once. Now that I am on the road more often, I would like to have a copy installed on my MacBook Pro. I have absolutely no problem buying another license, if required, but I don't think it is needed.

You're right - it isn't needed, unless you want to keep 10, 11 and 12 all activated on the Mac Pro. Are you in fact using more than version 12? If not, there is no problem at all having 12 on both computers.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2548
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Single User License

Postby OddS » Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:14 pm

NN259560UL wrote:
OddS wrote:I wonder if you are confusing a (potentially high) number of installations and the max number of activated (working) installations allowed by your license?


...Now that I am on the road more often, I would like to have a copy installed on my MacBook Pro. I have absolutely no problem buying another license, if required, but I don't think it is needed.


Right, but if you scroll down to "Managing Activations" in the KB, you should see this:

"If you want to activate another computer, you may need to deactivate Capture One on a computer first to free up an activation. Activations can be reset from both the Phase One website, as well as within Capture One. See the links below for instructions:..."

Now back to your conclusion:
NN259560UL wrote:...I can install it in 2 additional devices.


I believe you can install on any number of devices, but your license limits the number of installations that can be activated at the same time.
--
Odd S.
OddS
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 10:28 pm

Re: Single User License

Postby NN259560UL » Tue Apr 30, 2019 7:45 pm

Ian3 wrote:You're right - it isn't needed, unless you want to keep 10, 11 and 12 all activated on the Mac Pro. Are you in fact using more than version 12? If not, there is no problem at all having 12 on both computers.

Thanks for the reply Ian, I am only using version 12 in one computer.

OddS wrote:I believe you can install on any number of devices, but your license limits the number of installations that can be activated at the same time.

My understanding is that I have 2 activations left but I am about to test it.
NN259560UL
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:27 pm


Return to Capture One 12.x Software for Mac



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests