Back testing C1

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Mac

Back testing C1

Postby Lorenzen » Thu Mar 21, 2019 8:07 pm

Hi there

Well I am trying the new C12 and wow nice software, they keep find more and more adjustments :)

but but how come that it takes 45 sec to open a 30 gb catalog (28000 reference)on a ssd
it has been imported from Aperture, and the old software opens within 8 sec.

i have tried to close C12 with no photos selected, but still it takes the same time
I tried to verify catalog, repair the disk but still the same.
i don't think it is due to me running a trial
Tell me is this me or does always takes this long

Spec
1 TB SSD 16 GB ram
Last version of Mac osx
Macbook pro 2015
Henrik
Sometimes i am so negative that i can't be developed
Mac book pro 1 TB ssd Nikon D3,D200 and D90
Lorenzen
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:27 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Back testing C1

Postby tenmangu81 » Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:29 pm

Hi Henrik,

I have a 22k images referenced catalog (41 GB), and it takes less than 15 seconds for my MacBook Pro late 2013 to open Capture One 12.
My images are stored on an external HDD, my catalog on the internal 512 GB SSD. I have 16 GB RAM, too.
Do you have any other app open while opening C1 ?
Robert
tenmangu81
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Back testing C1

Postby Lorenzen » Thu Mar 21, 2019 11:22 pm

Hi Robert

No other apps are running
No plugins just the app very strange !
since you have the speed
but I do have all the folders as projects ( comes when imported from Aperture) and keywords
Henrik
Henrik
Sometimes i am so negative that i can't be developed
Mac book pro 1 TB ssd Nikon D3,D200 and D90
Lorenzen
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:27 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Back testing C1

Postby mli20 » Thu Mar 21, 2019 11:41 pm

Lorenzen wrote:... and keywords ...

As you mention keywords you might find this interesting

Performance re. keywording... https://forum.phaseone.com/En/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=29890

MLi
mli20
 
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 5:07 pm

Re: Back testing C1

Postby Lorenzen » Fri Mar 22, 2019 11:41 am

So even with all key words remove still the same !!!
maybe I need to do a fresh os update
Henrik
Sometimes i am so negative that i can't be developed
Mac book pro 1 TB ssd Nikon D3,D200 and D90
Lorenzen
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:27 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Back testing C1

Postby NN635680879799322049UL » Fri Mar 22, 2019 4:41 pm

Aperture does open much faster than Capture One Pro. After its open, it is still Aperture with a nice DAM and not as great RAW editing capabilities.

The time to open a COP catalog seems to me to increase less than linearly with size. There appears to be some irreducible overhead in opening a catalog so that a 60 GB catalog takes less than twice the time to open than a 30 GB catalog.

For comparison: I have almost 59,000 images in an 85GB catalog that takes COP v12 30 sec to open on my iMac pro. My catalog is on the internal SSD and the images are in referenced files on an external HDD with USB 3. I have arranged my workspace so that the filters are in a separate tab from the library.

If I open the copy of the catalog located on the HDD, it takes a few seconds longer.
NN635680879799322049UL
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 7:12 pm

Re: Back testing C1

Postby Eric Nepean » Sat Mar 23, 2019 2:23 am

Capture One's strengths are high quality RAW development and high quality color editting with an intuitive interface, camera thethering and very programmable.

Speed is not its strength.

If your need for speed is more important than these other features, Capture One is not for you.
Cheers, Eric
[late 2015 iMac, 4GHz i7, 24GB RAM, external SSDs. GX8, E-M1, GX7, GM5, GM1 ....]
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Back testing C1

Postby SFA » Sat Mar 23, 2019 3:04 am

How is the speed once the catalogue is open?

Did you take the opportunity to tidy up the catalogue in Aperture before converting it to C1?
SFA
 
Posts: 6312
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Back testing C1

Postby Lorenzen » Sat Mar 23, 2019 7:58 am

SFA wrote:How is the speed once the catalogue is open?

Did you take the opportunity to tidy up the catalogue in Aperture before converting it to C1?



The Speed is still the same

yes I did clear up aperture

i even tried to do a fresh install of the os but still the same :(
Henrik
Sometimes i am so negative that i can't be developed
Mac book pro 1 TB ssd Nikon D3,D200 and D90
Lorenzen
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:27 pm
Location: Denmark


Return to Capture One 12.x Software for Mac



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LarsH, Minigill and 15 guests