Page 1 of 1

Up grading Catalogues

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:36 pm
by NNN635648761561625264
Hi to all,

I use Capture One 11.3.1.6 on an OS10.11.6 (Computer is 10 years old and can't be upgraded to the next operating system) and create catalogues for each of my clients.
I also use a Mac Book pro for my location work which runs on OS10.13.6 and have up graded to Capture One 12

I have created a catalogue in 11.3.1.6 and then I wanted to open the catalogue on my laptop with Capture One 12 and I was prompted to up grade the catalogue!
If I do that, can I then use that catalogue once it has been upgraded on my main computer running Capture One 11?

I don't want to loose any of my image edits created in on an older catalogue once the catalogue has been upgraded to Capture One 12 and then use that catalogue again on my older OS system.

is this possible?

Re: Up grading Catalogues

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 11:25 pm
by Ian3
If you upgrade the catalog to version 12, then version 11 will no longer be able to open it. (Though when you upgrade it, Capture One will keep a backup of the version 11 version of the catalog. But of course that won't include any of the edits you made on version 12 after upgrading.)

Ian

Re: Up grading Catalogues

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 12:13 am
by NNN635648761561625264
What if I was to upgrade the catalogue and keep an older version of the catalogue? That should work or not?

Re: Up grading Catalogues

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 8:28 am
by Eric Nepean
It should work, but note that any editting or keyword or metadata changes you make in one copy of the catalog are not transferred to the other catalog.

You can probably find a way to move editted images (images with additonal editting since the copy) from the CO 11 catalog to the CO 12 catalog. You can export a few images as a new catalog, or you can generate packed images, and import these into the CO 12 catalog

But the reverse is likely not possible.