Canon 5DMark IV timeout?

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 11.x for Mac

Canon 5DMark IV timeout?

Postby Kevin5 » Wed Dec 12, 2018 8:47 pm

Hello everyone-
I am tethered to an iMac with a USB 3 cable to the Canon 5D Mark 4. Sometimes I get a block on the image as shown- other times, the connection is lost between Capture One 11 and the camera. If I try turning off the camera, the display says something about 'Recording' an image and never seems to end. So I turnoff the camera, remove the cable, sometimes restart the iMac and start all over. How can I get this all to behave?
http://files.blackinc.net/purple.jpg
Kevin5
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 2:58 pm

Re: Canon 5DMark IV timeout?

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:06 pm

This seems to be a signal/power issue. USB3 is more prone to that then USB2. iMacs are also more likely to have this problem.

You could use a USB repeater, go for the best cable, make sure you do not exceed the 3 meter 10" limit for USB3, or use a different computer (no offence).
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Canon 5DMark IV timeout?

Postby NN636764126397096805UL » Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:28 am

I would just say that your best solution is to look at the Ninja Atomos recorders. You can go as long as you want as well as record to both memory cards in your camera and the external recorder.
NN636764126397096805UL
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 1:23 pm


Return to Capture One 11.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests