Page 1 of 1

Z7 and Capture one

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 4:12 pm
by NNN636522550855651183
Hi
I just received my Nikon Z7 and it looks like capture one is not recognizing it.

Any word for an update coming?

Re: Z7 and Capture one

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 4:38 pm
by Ian3
Capture One won't recognise it until Phase One introduces support for the camera. I have no doubt that support for it will come, and probably quite soon. But Phase One have a policy never to announce in advance. They base their profiles for cameras on their own testing of the model, not just on manufacturers' data, so it may take time. Better perhaps to not announce a date when support will be introduced than to announce one and then take flak for the deadline slipping.

Ian

Re: Z7 and Capture one

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:08 pm
by Peter Gruener
Well, how many more threads about support for new cameras especially the Z7 and potentially Z6 do we really need? :)

viewtopic.php?f=71&t=29238
viewtopic.php?f=71&t=29026

For sure it will be supported with either a .x release or with a new version release - once it will be supported you will find it out.

Re: Z7 and Capture one

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 8:27 am
by NN13765
Ian3 wrote:Better perhaps to not announce a date when support will be introduced than to announce one and then take flak for the deadline slipping.

Ian


Perhaps, unless in the meantime the pesky customers have found alternative solutions and are no longer C1 users.

Re: Z7 and Capture one

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:13 am
by tenmangu81
It would be crazy not to wait for a few weeks or months after having bought a Nikon Z7 and to switch to an other software, with all the issues that could be encountered when changing software (non homogeneous colours, need to become familiar with the new software, less performant tools and capacities,...).
Be patient !! And meanwhile, you can transform your RAW into DNG manageable by C1.

Re: Z7 and Capture one

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:30 am
by NN13765
Not so crazy if you really need to work with the raw files and maybe you are already somewhat familiar with the other software and think "you know what, this isn't so bad after all, think I'll buy it instead of upgrading to v12 ".

As for converting to DNG - I assume you haven't actually tried it.

Re: Z7 and Capture one

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:43 am
by John Doe
What puzzles me is people purchasing a new camera without checking first that the software they use is compatible with it. I don't get it.

Re: Z7 and Capture one

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 11:05 am
by NN13765
John Doe wrote:What puzzles me is people purchasing a new camera without checking first that the software they use is compatible with it. I don't get it.


Speaking for myself, I'm not that wedded to C1 that using an alternative - for a while - is a huge deal, and the inconvenience is compensated by having the Z7 to carry around instead of a big DSLR. When C1 support for Z7 is released, I'll switch back. Or maybe I won't....

Re: Z7 and Capture one

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 3:14 pm
by tenmangu81
NN13765 wrote:As for converting to DNG - I assume you haven't actually tried it.


I haven't try with Nikon Z7 as I don't have one, but tried with other cameras..... And it was correct, not that bad after all.

Re: Z7 and Capture one

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:57 pm
by Keith Reeder
NN13765 wrote:Not so crazy if you really need to work with the raw files

Did someone force you to buy a Z7?

Did all of your other cameras suddenly stop working?

Didn't think so. In which case "need" doesn't come into it.

Re: Z7 and Capture one

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 8:25 pm
by NN13765
Of course none of us “need” any of this stuff. Life will go on with or without PhaseOne’s help. Likewise I’m sure PhaseOne will get by if a few users are tempted away elsewhere.

Re: Z7 and Capture one

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:33 pm
by jknights
NN13765 wrote:
Ian3 wrote:Better perhaps to not announce a date when support will be introduced than to announce one and then take flak for the deadline slipping.

Ian


Perhaps, unless in the meantime the pesky customers have found alternative solutions and are no longer C1 users.



Exactly.
This 'thing' about missed deadlines is cough-aheeem (non-PC statement) 'very American'.
Missing a deadline means that you underestimated - the complexity, the resources available or you got distracted. None of which is a heinous crime (except in USA where there is a blame culture!). If it is late then take a few deep breaths extra! This is real live experience talking so excuse me.