Setting export size

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 11.x for Mac

Setting export size

Postby Thedoctor » Thu Nov 01, 2018 3:52 am

I have been trying to set up the sizes of 800x600 I get 800X534 and 604X345 I get 517X345

What am I doing wrong. I need to vary the sizes fro an online magazine.

Cheers,
Gary
Thedoctor
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 10:40 pm

Re: Setting export size

Postby Ian3 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:53 am

800 x 534 is 3 x 2 aspect ratio. It sounds like some kind of mismatch between your crop ratio and your process recipe size. What happens if you crop the image on a 4 x 3 ratio (which is what you want for 800 x 600) and set up a process recipe that just says that the long edge is 800 px In the Scale field in the Basic tab of the process recipe tool)?

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2538
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Setting export size

Postby Thedoctor » Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:48 pm

I tried that. I erased all the recipes even put in 4.3 and 800X600 and still get 800X534.
There is still no change in 604X345 either comes back 517X345

This has to be the correct settings for a magazine I work for. It unfortunately works with other software
Thedoctor
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 10:40 pm

Re: Setting export size

Postby Ian3 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 3:01 pm

Well, I am just trying this. I have an image that was 6000x4000 at the start, so it's a 3 x 2 ratio.

(1) I created a recipe for output with 800 px on the long edge. (Not specified the other dimension.) I then selected that recipe.

(2) Going to the crop tool with that recipe selected shows the dimensions as 800x533, which is consistent with a 3x2 image with 800 as the long edge, therefore so far it's as you would expect.

(3) I then selected a crop ratio of 4x3 and cropped the image to my taste. The crop as I dragged it, and the crop shown in the crop tool afterwards, shows as 800x600, which is what you want.

What happens if you do those steps in that order?

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2538
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Setting export size

Postby Thedoctor » Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:32 pm

Let me try
Thedoctor
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 10:40 pm

Re: Setting export size

Postby Thedoctor » Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:48 pm

Genius on the 800X600 thanks. But still having problems with 604X345 it changes it to 604x 453 every time
Thedoctor
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 10:40 pm

Re: Setting export size

Postby Ian3 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:24 pm

So if you want 604x345, that is a 7x4 aspect ratio. So you need to do much the same as I suggested above, but at step (1) create a recipe with 604 as the long edge, and at step (3) use a crop ratio of 7x4.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2538
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Setting export size

Postby Thedoctor » Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:33 pm

Thank You, that was it! Thanks so much.

Cheers,
Gary
Thedoctor
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 10:40 pm


Return to Capture One 11.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests