Catalog catastrophe

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 11.x for Mac

Catalog catastrophe

Postby NN634868059562879138UL » Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:44 am

As a super C1 newb I may have just screwed the pooch with my catalogs. I first started using C1 for Sony a few days ago. Processed images from my RX100 VI and was so pleased with the results that I downloaded C1 Pro to try files from my 5D Mark IV. I kept both C1's on my computer and only imported the Canon RAW files into Pro. I just tried opening C1 Sony and the Canon catalog is somehow there with the original Sony files missing. I believe the C1 Pro catalog has overwritten the Sony catalog somehow. I didn't really check the location settings for the catalog when firing up C1 Pro for the first time, not realizing it might write over the Sony catalog (which I spent a lot of time on!). It seems nuts that it would do this, but as far as I can tell that's what happened.

I've searched my computer and can find only one catalog, in my Pictures folder.

Anybody have any suggestions for a way to salvage the Sony catalog, if it still exists? Thanks in advance.
NN634868059562879138UL
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:52 am

Re: Catalog catastrophe

Postby NN634868059562879138UL » Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:47 am

Also, I have no idea why it shows my name as that ridiculous string of numbers. Feels like I'm an anonymous character in a dystopian sci-fi movie...
NN634868059562879138UL
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:52 am

Re: Catalog catastrophe

Postby Ian3 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:03 am

NN634868059562879138UL wrote:Also, I have no idea why it shows my name as that ridiculous string of numbers. Feels like I'm an anonymous character in a dystopian sci-fi movie...

Log in to your account at the Phase One website and you can change your forum user name.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2651
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Catalog catastrophe

Postby Ian3 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:08 am

NN634868059562879138UL wrote:As a super C1 newb I may have just screwed the pooch with my catalogs. I first started using C1 for Sony a few days ago. Processed images from my RX100 VI and was so pleased with the results that I downloaded C1 Pro to try files from my 5D Mark IV. I kept both C1's on my computer and only imported the Canon RAW files into Pro. I just tried opening C1 Sony and the Canon catalog is somehow there with the original Sony files missing. I believe the C1 Pro catalog has overwritten the Sony catalog somehow. I didn't really check the location settings for the catalog when firing up C1 Pro for the first time, not realizing it might write over the Sony catalog (which I spent a lot of time on!). It seems nuts that it would do this, but as far as I can tell that's what happened.

I've searched my computer and can find only one catalog, in my Pictures folder.

Anybody have any suggestions for a way to salvage the Sony catalog, if it still exists? Thanks in advance.

You had no need to download C1 again: all you needed to do was go to the Capture One menu and change the licence.

Also I see you are on a Mac. Presumably there will be a Time Machine backup from which you could restore the catalog you had before you tried Pro.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2651
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Catalog catastrophe

Postby HansB » Mon Oct 15, 2018 2:43 pm

Could it be that you are just looking at a limited selection of images? Like 'recent imports' instead of 'all images' in your image library?


Regards,
Hans
HansB
 
Posts: 892
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:59 pm

Re: Catalog catastrophe

Postby NN634868059562879138UL » Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:10 pm

Ian3, yes I realize that now but that doesn't help me solve my problem. Also, I don't have a Time Machine backup of the older catalog, but thanks for the suggestion.

HansB, I am looking at all the images, thanks. The Sony images I was working with initially are not there. I believe they were overwritten, but wondering if there's a way to access older catalogs via C1 or if it's possible the older version of the catalog exists in some obscure location my Finder search isn't seeing.
NN634868059562879138UL
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:52 am


Return to Capture One 11.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest