Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 11.x for Mac

Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby pope » Fri Sep 07, 2018 3:35 am

Here's my use case:

1. I process my photo and use the Process Recipe to export some images.
2. I later decide to do an edit and I want to re-process the file

What I find is that I will get a (1) suffix added to the file. What I want to do is overwrite the exported image. Is there a way to do that?
pope
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:06 am

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby cdc » Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:41 am

There is not. I'd suggest making a feature request. You're not the only one to ask about this.
cdc
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:15 am

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby C-M-B » Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:47 am

I hope that won't change because this prevents accidental data loss.
Image you had just finished working for hours on some images in Photoshop and then you accidentally hit the "Export"-button in CaptureOne.
All that work would be gone and there'd be no way to recover it.
C-M-B
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:57 pm

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby RobiWan » Fri Sep 07, 2018 9:02 am

C-M-B wrote:I hope that won't change because this prevents accidental data loss.
...
...
All that work would be gone and there'd be no way to recover it.


But this can be realized optionally - something like - "Override existing files yes/no"
RobiWan
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby C-M-B » Fri Sep 07, 2018 1:36 pm

Sure but the sheer possibility that an assistant could potentially overwrite files by ticking the box accidentally - or you forget to untick the box the next time is just too great.
Honestly I think it's better to not even give the option to overwrite files at all.
C-M-B
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:57 pm

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby OddS » Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:08 am

C-M-B wrote:...I think it's better to not even give the option to overwrite files at all.


That may be fine for some users/situations, but not for all. Few things really decode to the binary yes-no. A ternary yes-no-ask may serve some users/situations better.

The task of removing output files before reprocessing can be annoying at times if further automatic or semi-automatic use of output files depends on filenames; like building web pages outside C1 to name one example. Any output file accidentally deleted or overwritten due to a name conflict, ought to be reproducible by C1 reprocessing the image source variant or by the user re-copying from the foreign source image repository.
--
Odd S.
OddS
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 10:28 pm

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby C-M-B » Sat Sep 08, 2018 5:25 pm

The potential for being annoying is one thing.
The potential for data loss is another.
C-M-B
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:57 pm

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby WPNL » Sat Sep 08, 2018 5:35 pm

C1 is the only application on my pc that does not give an overwrite option of any kind, not even Windows Explorer's ...
Go figure what is "normal" or "preferred"

Plus I don't think it's the application's fault it the user decides to overwrite files, he should pay better attention, no excuses...
WPNL
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:11 am

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby IanS » Sat Sep 08, 2018 8:19 pm

WPNL wrote:C1 is the only application on my pc that does not give an overwrite option of any kind, not even Windows Explorer's ...
Go figure what is "normal" or "preferred"

Plus I don't think it's the application's fault it the user decides to overwrite files, he should pay better attention, no excuses...


Totally agree. I put in a feature request some months ago asking for this "normalising" of C1's behaviour. I don't know of any other photo / video image app that absolutely prevents over write of files.

Understand not touching raw files but C1 is a parametric editor so you still have the image in the catalogue?? My guess this is an individuals "idiosyncrasy" at PhaseOne and they must be high enough up to be able to ignore users and common sense. Or they are right and every other program is getting it wrong :-)

I am not holding my breath for change with this one but you have to keep asking, you never know whoever it is might leave or retire :-)

Ian
IanS
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:46 pm

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby IanL » Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:05 pm

I too would like an overwrite option. I view my raw files as the important files any files I produce are just temporary. So, for me anytime I re-export it is because I have made a mistake or need to adjust something. I will never export to create master files. Therefore it would be nice to tweak a setting to get that behaviour.
IanL
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:24 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby SFA » Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:56 pm

I don't often edit processed files in another application and so do not use a workflow that might, for example, export a tiff file, see that processed in PS and put back in the "originals" folder alongside the original raw file or perhaps in an associated sub-folder for both the original processed/exported file and the PS version.

So for my understanding, what amount of checking would be required to allow an overwrite automatically EXCEPT for any instances where the previously processed file had already been further processed outside C1 but saved with the same name?


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6096
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby WPNL » Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:38 pm

Ay the moment you want to modify the TIF ou have to work on RAW again and export a TIF again, at that moment you might consider to overwrite or rename.

This however was not the method of the op if I understood right.
WPNL
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:11 am

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby OddS » Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:48 am

SFA wrote:...So for my understanding, what amount of checking would be required to allow an overwrite automatically EXCEPT for any instances where the previously processed file had already been further processed outside C1 but saved with the same name?


Those who keep round trip TIFFs in the capture folder should not suffer data loss when C1 processes/exports to the output folder. A yes-no-ask option for the output folder would probably work well for many users. Users who prefer to mix originals, round trip files and output files in the same folder, should just keep the yes-no-ask option set to "No".
--
Odd S.
OddS
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 10:28 pm

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby SFA » Sun Sep 09, 2018 3:01 pm

WPNL wrote:Ay the moment you want to modify the TIF ou have to work on RAW again and export a TIF again, at that moment you might consider to overwrite or rename.

This however was not the method of the op if I understood right.


It does not matter much what the OP's needs were when discussing the broader principle of what is required from an accidental overwrite protection system.

In any case, why would you need to re-export again? If you are selectively doing so and want to discard the original TIF (or whatever) complete with its "third party application" changes I don't see that you would have a problem. Delete or move the previous work and repeat the process. It's the user's clear decision.

The problem of an accidentally overwrite is more likely to come form some sort of batch process with one or more previously processed images being accidentally reprocessed and overwritten.

If, in the example I offered, all that happened what that the TIF (or other format) previously output file was simply replaced with the same output it would not matter at all. However, if that file had been processed by a another application and then returned to the original folder using the same name the external work would be lost if the only check was name matching.

Is name matching at a specific location (folder) the only identification required for a replace/do not replace decision?

If we settle on the "Ask" option to resolve possible conflicts - how does the user know how to respond to the question? What information access needs to be allowed at that point for the user to be able to make the replace/do not replace decision?
SFA
 
Posts: 6096
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Any way to Process Output and Overwrite Files?

Postby SFA » Sun Sep 09, 2018 3:07 pm

OddS wrote:
SFA wrote:...So for my understanding, what amount of checking would be required to allow an overwrite automatically EXCEPT for any instances where the previously processed file had already been further processed outside C1 but saved with the same name?


Those who keep round trip TIFFs in the capture folder should not suffer data loss when C1 processes/exports to the output folder. A yes-no-ask option for the output folder would probably work well for many users. Users who prefer to mix originals, round trip files and output files in the same folder, should just keep the yes-no-ask option set to "No".


I would agree OddS, but I suggest there will be people out there who will not want to take on the decision making and who would expect "a professional application" to make the decisions for them without needing to define the rules in advance.

It would probably be better for the developers to address these matters in advance should they decide to undertake to provide such a facility.

Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6096
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Next

Return to Capture One 11.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest