Backup with or without pictures

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 11.x for Mac

Backup with or without pictures

Postby pruegg » Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:48 pm

Hi
I'm new with capture one and have a question. In the tutorial they say, that no original images are saved in the backup folders. I import every picture, most RAW, in the catalog and capture one saves them in the originals folder inside the catalog. Perfect! But why I have in my picture folder a couple of folders with date-time as folder name with the same pictures inside? I have "backup activated" checkbox on, but in the helps, there is always written, that no pictures are saved within the backup. What's wrong?
pruegg
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:13 pm

Re: Backup with or without pictures

Postby digger1914 » Mon Jul 23, 2018 10:32 pm

The backup process saves the database information (what file is where etc.) and details of edits made to files. It does not save the RAW file itself. That needs to be separately backed up.
digger1914
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 5:29 am

Re: Backup with or without pictures

Postby pruegg » Tue Jul 24, 2018 10:08 pm

Then why I have GB of Pictures in the Folders?
pruegg
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:13 pm

Re: Backup with or without pictures

Postby koenig » Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:18 pm

Hi
I have the same problem, 3 folders with 110gb (!), 10gb and 5gb of RAW, JPEG and TIFFs. They are in the Capture One Backup folder and have date and time as names.

In addition I have the capture one catalog file, about 7gb.

Total size of my images is just below 500gb on disk.

Must say I have only had this trial for about 1 week.. :?

In the Preferences menu it is set to do Catalog backup every week. But as I am doing backup myself, can I just turn off this backup function?

Pål
koenig
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:12 pm

Re: Backup with or without pictures

Postby Eric Nepean » Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:42 pm

koenig wrote:Hi
I have the same problem, 3 folders with 110gb (!), 10gb and 5gb of RAW, JPEG and TIFFs. They are in the Capture One Backup folder and have date and time as names.

In addition I have the capture one catalog file, about 7gb.

Total size of my images is just below 500gb on disk.

Must say I have only had this trial for about 1 week.. :?

In the Preferences menu it is set to do Catalog backup every week. But as I am doing backup myself, can I just turn off this backup function?

Pål

I find that catalogs get too big if you store the image files inside the a catalog; they become very difficult to move and to backup. It also gets to be a big problem if the catalog database becomes corrupted, or if you decide to leave C1. It becomes a problem if you want to open the images with another application (which may have some features that C1 doesn't have) and you don't want to or can't use the C1 "open with" function. (My reasoning is not specific to C1, nor is it a negative comment on the C1 implementation - it applies to all applications of this type)

For this reason, I always store my images files as referenced, unless I have a very small catalog that I want to move somewhere.

This was very useful when I moved from Apeeture to C1.
Cheers, Eric
[late 2015 iMac, 4GHz i7, 24GB RAM, external SSDs. GX8, E-M1, GX7, GM5, GM1 ....]
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Backup with or without pictures

Postby NNN636446001167919864 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:27 pm

Eric Nepean wrote:
koenig wrote:Hi
I have the same problem, 3 folders with 110gb (!), 10gb and 5gb of RAW, JPEG and TIFFs. They are in the Capture One Backup folder and have date and time as names.

In addition I have the capture one catalog file, about 7gb.

Total size of my images is just below 500gb on disk.

Must say I have only had this trial for about 1 week.. :?

In the Preferences menu it is set to do Catalog backup every week. But as I am doing backup myself, can I just turn off this backup function?

Pål

I find that catalogs get too big if you store the image files inside the a catalog; they become very difficult to move and to backup. It also gets to be a big problem if the catalog database becomes corrupted, or if you decide to leave C1. It becomes a problem if you want to open the images with another application (which may have some features that C1 doesn't have) and you don't want to or can't use the C1 "open with" function. (My reasoning is not specific to C1, nor is it a negative comment on the C1 implementation - it applies to all applications of this type)

For this reason, I always store my images files as referenced, unless I have a very small catalog that I want to move somewhere.

This was very useful when I moved from Apeeture to C1.


Where in C1 can I set my images files as referenced?
NNN636446001167919864
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 8:35 am

Re: Backup with or without pictures

Postby Ian3 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 7:12 pm

NNN636446001167919864 wrote:Where in C1 can I set my images files as referenced?

When you import images into the Capture One catalog, in the import dialog box there are several options for where you want the images to go. Look at the Destination drop down list. You have the choice of inside catalog (which is NOT referenced, but managed) or two options that are referenced: either Current location (which you might use if you want to just bring into the catalog images that are already on your computer in the place where you want them) or Choose folder... which is what you might use if you were importing from a camera memory card and want to specify where you want the images to go (or if you want to add to the catalog images that are on your computer but not in the place you want them).

If you have images Inside the catalog and would like to move them out to be referenced images instead, you (1) add the destination folder to the catalog (perhaps Pictures>Holidays> Scotland) then (2) drag and drop the images from where the are shown in the catalog to the destination folder. Note: you MUST do that within the Library tool in Capture One.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2555
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Backup with or without pictures

Postby koenig » Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:35 pm

Hi

I have my pictures stored in folders on my Mac, and the plan was only to import previews to C1, but since the backup files are so big can I have done something wrong when I installed C1?

Is there a way to check this?

Thanks
Pål
koenig
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:12 pm

Re: Backup with or without pictures

Postby Eric Nepean » Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:54 pm

I don't suspect the installation.

I wonder if you have set the same folder for catalog back up (in the "General" tab of C1 Preferences) as in the Import menu (the "Backup to" section)

But if you really want to reset C1 to default, then, with C1 not running, use finder to go to your Library folder (you will have to select Finder's "Go" menu, then press option key) find the Preferences folder, and delete the "com.phaseone.captureone11.plist" file. At the next run, all settings of Capture One will be default. (You may have activate the licence again, not sure)
Cheers, Eric
[late 2015 iMac, 4GHz i7, 24GB RAM, external SSDs. GX8, E-M1, GX7, GM5, GM1 ....]
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Backup with or without pictures

Postby SFA » Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:08 pm

When you write "they are in the Capture One backup folder" do you mean you have multiple internal backups of the sort that you might get when upgrading a catalog from a previous version of Capture One?

Putting to one side for a moment the question of whether or not you have RAW images unexpectedly saved inside the catalogue folder structure, the folder sizes you mention are not really so large especially if you are using a relatively new camera with a high resolution sensor and large RAW files.

Typically the jog preview files would be in the order of 1/10th of the size of the RAW file if using a regular screen resolution as the preferred size BUT, if you have a high resolution monitor and and set the preview size accordingly they could be much, much bigger.

TIFF files can also be very large since they are, in many ways, just a portable interpretation of the RAW file unless cropping or compression or editing has changed their content significantly compared to the level of RAW data.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6357
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Backup with or without pictures

Postby koenig » Mon Nov 05, 2018 5:39 pm

Hi

I was asked by computer if about the C1 backup, and I said OK, and then if I wanted to create the Backup folder ince it was not there yet. This is the folder I mean. I thought it be the same as backing up in Lightroom.. The files in this backup folder(s) is same as I have on disk, but not all of them.

I have 500gb of picture files on my Mac, so thinking not the preview files. And I set the preview size to 1280 to match my 1280x800 screen.

I will look more close into your answers tomorrow, and try to remove the big size folders and see what happens. After I back up on external.

Thanks for helping! :-)

Pål
koenig
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:12 pm


Return to Capture One 11.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests