Another instance of Capture One is already running

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 11.x for Mac

Re: Another instance of Capture One is already running

Postby SFA » Sat Sep 29, 2018 11:59 pm

How do you feel about reading the log files?

Some people are fine with such things, others would run a mile.

There may well be something there that will give a clue about what is happening.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6357
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Another instance of Capture One is already running

Postby markalanthomas » Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:59 am

Had a look in the log as Capture One was shutting down, and this seemed like the most relevant bit:

Code: Select all
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.153][739][ID:001,       Main]{APPL } | Closing app: Message pump stopped
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.153][000][ID:001,       Main]{APPL } | Closing...
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.154][000][ID:001,       Main]{APPL } | Saving Documents...
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.155][000][ID:001,       Main]{APPL } | Saving ApplicationSettings...
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.220][064][ID:001,       Main]{APPL } | Closing app: Closing the IC crash handlers
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.427][207][ID:001,       Main]{APPL } | Shutting down processors
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.435][007][ID:029, [FileSyste]{FS   } | Stopped File System Notifications Processing
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.438][002][ID:034, [FileSyste]{FS   } | Stopping Queue Processor Thread : [FileSystem] Scheduler ItemUpdate [34]
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.438][000][ID:033, [FileSyste]{FS   } | Stopping Queue Processor Thread : [FileSystem] Scheduler DirEnum [33]
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.438][000][ID:031, [FileSyste]{FS   } | Stopping Queue Processor Thread : [FileSystem] Scheduler SynchronousDirEnum [31]
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.438][000][ID:032, [FileSyste]{FS   } | Stopping Queue Processor Thread : [FileSystem] Scheduler SynchronousItemUpdate [32]
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.438][000][ID:001,       Main]{FS   } | Failed fully stop thread : [FileSystem] Scheduler SynchronousDirEnum
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.438][000][ID:001,       Main]{FS   } | Failed fully stop thread : [FileSystem] Scheduler SynchronousItemUpdate
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.438][000][ID:001,       Main]{FS   } | Failed fully stop thread : [FileSystem] Scheduler DirEnum
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.438][000][ID:001,       Main]{FS   } | Failed fully stop thread : [FileSystem] Scheduler ItemUpdate
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.650][211][ID:001,       Main]{APPL } | Closing app: Closing OpenCore
[2018-09-29 06:43:54.941][291][ID:001,       Main]{APPL } | Shutdown of managers and cores completed
[2018-09-29 06:43:55.600][659][ID:001,       Main]{PFORM} | Shutdown end


So, figuring it could take me a long time to get to the bottom of this, I opted instead for the nuclear option: I updated my clones, wiped my C drive, and installed Windows 10 from scratch. Took me about half a day to load my apps while OneDrive diligently downloaded my files, and now I'm back up and running like nothing ever happened, except that Capture One now quits normally. Yay!
markalanthomas
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:28 am

Re: Another instance of Capture One is already running

Postby SFA » Mon Oct 01, 2018 11:11 am

Great that you got the system working again!

It may be a one-off situation of course but I think in your situation, given the effort required to resolve the problem that was probably related to a "C1 Active" type temporary file somewhere, I would create a Support Case with Phase One's support team provide the log file info and ask about alternative ways to resolve the problem.

I'll assume this is from the Application.log file.

My system, running Win7, shows similar messages about failing to stop some processes (they may not have been running of course!)

However there are some addition lines between "Closing OpenCore" and "Shutdown of managers and cores completed". You may find them in other section of the log file if yours, like mine, contains extensive log records.

Specifically lines related to these activities:

Stopping IC
Stopping monitor
Cleaning up temporary files
Cleaning up temporary files in C:\Users\[USERNAME]\AppData\Local\Temp\CaptureOneTemp1 ...
Temporary file clean up completed

I suspect that something in the temporary file area, not cleaned up for whatever reason on an earlier shut down, would be worth investigating should you have this problem again. Indeed it may be worth closing C1 when time allows and checking the log file at that time to observe what is reported.

It's worth noting that I work with Sessions nearly all of the time and so there may be some differences in the log reporting if a catalogue is open. That's something I don't have time to look into at the moment.

As mentioned above, I would still recommend creating a support case.

HTH.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6357
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Another instance of Capture One is already running

Postby markalanthomas » Tue Oct 09, 2018 5:27 pm

Great info. Thank you for all your help!
markalanthomas
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:28 am

Re: Another instance of Capture One is already running

Postby markalanthomas » Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:17 am

Looks like I'm going to have to create that support case after all. For no obvious reason, Capture One no longer quits properly again.
markalanthomas
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:28 am

Previous

Return to Capture One 11.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests