Blackout or whiteout the background

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 9.x

Blackout or whiteout the background

Postby PaulPhilly » Tue Feb 07, 2017 5:49 pm

Using CaptureOne Pro 9.3, I want to completely Blackout or whiteout the background of a portrait, keeping the subject intact, but blacking (or whiting) out the entire background. Can anyone tell me how to do that? Thank you
PaulPhilly
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 4:50 am

Re: Blackout or whiteout the background

Postby Ian3 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:57 pm

I think that is a task better done with something like Photoshop or Affinity photo. It's not really the sort of thing that C1 is designed to do.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2269
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Blackout or whiteout the background

Postby Bobtographer » Fri Feb 10, 2017 4:46 am

go to the local adjustments tab, make a new layer - throw the exposure up or down depending on which you want (black or white background)
start brushing.. you can use the auto mask to help when it comes to the edge of your subject.
AMD R1700 OC 3.8GHz | AMD R9 Fury 4GB | 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200MHz DDR 4 | 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M.2 NVMe
LG 27UD88 | LG 27 ColorPrime | C1 11.3 | Win10 64Pro 1803
Bobtographer
 
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:01 am
Location: England


Return to Capture One 9.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests