Noise reduction

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 9.x

Noise reduction

Postby Lorenzen » Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:22 am

Hey there
i pushed my old Nikon d3 to max in low light
so now I have a bit to much noise
and when I try to reduce the noise I can't see much happining
so i was wondering if there is an other way to do with noise reduction
Back in Aperture I used skin smooth to get the noise out the photo
So there must be some other way to reduce noise
Henrik
Sometimes i am so negative that i can't be developed
Mac book pro 1 TB ssd Nikon D3,D200 and D90
Lorenzen
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:27 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Noise reduction

Postby HansB » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:03 am

Option 1: add additional luminosity noise reduction:
- create an adjustment layer
- create a mask (just 'Fill Mask' or 'Invert Mask' if you want to mask everything)
- use local adjustments tab's noise reduction
(Stacking possible)

Option 2: local adjustments negative clarity
- create an adjustment layer
- create a mask (just 'Fill Mask' or 'Invert Mask' if you want to mask everything)
- use local adjustments tab's clarity
(Stacking possible)

Option 3: global negative clarity
- use exposure tab's clarity

In option 1) and 2), creating a masked layer from a selected color range can be very helpful.
Option 3) just softens the whole image.

Hope this helps.


Regards,
Hans
HansB
 
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:59 pm

Re: Noise reduction

Postby Lorenzen » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:22 am

Hans thank you
that safes me form getting plugins
Henrik
Sometimes i am so negative that i can't be developed
Mac book pro 1 TB ssd Nikon D3,D200 and D90
Lorenzen
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:27 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Noise reduction

Postby Ian3 » Sun Nov 27, 2016 2:46 pm

Also you can't really judge how well the NR in Capture One is dealing with the noise until you zoom in to 100%. When you do, you can sometimes see the NR kick in after a moment while C1 calculates the result. (Zoomed out, it is just showing you an approximate result based on the preview, but zoomed in, it is referring bak to the actual raw file and applying your adjustment to it.)

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2436
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England


Return to Capture One 9.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest