Flawed Lightroom import(?)

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 9.x

Flawed Lightroom import(?)

Postby Moin » Sun Nov 13, 2016 10:27 pm

Hi all,

I recently decided to give C1 another try and bought the current version 9.3.

Today I imported my Lightroom catalogue into a new C1 catalogue and found that the import was really flawed.
Ich have (at least) the following issues:

- None of the LR virtual copied were imported at all.
- The color ratings of LR were not applied.
- My black & white images are imported as color images (partly having very strange colors).

For the first two points I assumed the reason was that in LR virtual copy names and color tag names are saved in the language the software was configured to (German in my case). I corrected this directly in the database using SQL statements. Another import in C1, hoever, yielded the same result.

I can't believe that C1's import function is this bad (and no error messages popped up during the import), therefore I assume that I did something wrong.

Has anyone experienced similar results? And do you have any tips what I did wrong and how to correct this? Any hints appreciated.


Stefan.
Moin
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 10:25 pm

Re: Flawed Lightroom import(?)

Postby Class A » Mon Nov 28, 2016 11:24 am

Sorry no tips, but perhaps a consolation: My own attempt at importing an LR catalogue failed completely.

My LR catalogue has no problems at all, but perhaps it is too old (LR 3.6)?

In general, I wouldn't expect too much from importing image adjustments. The translation will always be incomplete and any supported adjustments will only result in approximations of the desired effect, at most, because the underlying engines are most likely fundamentally different.

That said, basic things should work, so I'm not saying you don't have a case. Just pointing out that even a working feature will have very limited value in general, IMHO.
Class A
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 7:35 pm

Re: Flawed Lightroom import(?)

Postby John Doe » Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:20 pm

The Lightroom import functionality is still listed as beta (the title of the window says "Import Lightroom Catalog (Beta)"). As you can guess, Adobe didn't help Phase One to implement it, so they have to do some reverse engineering on this, which makes it hard to debug.
Sony DSC-RX100 - Capture One Pro 10.2.1 (macOS Sierra 10.12.6)
THIS IS A USER TO USER FORUM. FOR FEATURE REQUESTS AND BUG REPORTS, FILE A SUPPORT CASE AT https://www.phaseone.com/SupportMain.aspx
John Doe
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2016 10:15 pm


Return to Capture One 9.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron