Switching from Mac

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 9.x

Switching from Mac

Postby Edward2 » Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:31 am

I've been using macs all my career (since 1995) but really can't justify another overpriced and under powered desktop (and eventually laptop) so I'm building my own. (Core i7 6700, GTX 1070, Windows 10pro, looking forward to a system that will be upgradable in the future without buying a whole new computer)
Anti virus is all new to me, can anyone recommend a good antivirus program, I've read a few reviews and they all come up with different winners.

Thanks
Ed
Birmingham Photographer
http://www.edwardmoss.co.uk/
Edward2
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Switching from Mac

Postby Ian3 » Sat Nov 12, 2016 11:04 pm

I'm a Mac user these days, but I remember from my Windows days the same thing that you mentioned, that the AV reviews come up with different winners. I take the view that the most important thing is that you do have some decent AV program in place, and if it is from one of the reputable producers, it will probably be fine. And as new versions come out, sometimes with new features, which one is ahead in the reviews will change. It's quite like asking which is better, Canon or Nikon. You can do well with either and it is largely a matter of personal preference, I think.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2436
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Switching from Mac

Postby SFA » Sun Nov 13, 2016 12:03 am

I've used AVG on various devices for a few years and they seem reasonable.

Just the free version.

My Broadband is BT and has in-line virus checking of some sort anyway.

I thought Win10 was also self protecting in so far as anything can be? Perhaps not.

If I ever see Norton or McAfee offered I run a mile (metaphorically speaking).

Historically, once installed, they interfered with everything and "for security reasons" were very difficult to remove.

Unless one is really lax about one's interaction with the internet and messages arriving from random sources or odd looking messages from known recognised names I reckon AV security at the base level should be adequate. Nothing really fancy is required.

However if you are especially promiscuous in your approach to internet activity you may need to consider the paid-for "Pro" options.


HTH.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6172
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Switching from Mac

Postby Bobtographer » Sun Nov 13, 2016 12:35 am

Avast.com

I'd also kick the 1080 to touch. my R9 390 kicks it's ass and is cheaper :)
AMD R1700 OC 3.8GHz | AMD R9 Fury 4GB | 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200MHz DDR 4 | 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M.2 NVMe
LG 27UD88 | LG 27 ColorPrime | C1 11.3 | Win10 64Pro 1803
Bobtographer
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:01 am
Location: England

Re: Switching from Mac

Postby Keith Reeder » Sun Nov 13, 2016 2:23 pm

Windows' own native solution protection ("Windows Defender") is probably all you need, Ed - it's never let me down on my (Win 8.1) machine, and I feel in no way more vulnerable for relying on this than on the umpteen others - like Avast!, AVG, Eset and the rest - that I've tried over the years.

It just works.
Keith Reeder
Keith Reeder
 
Posts: 1188
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Blyth, NE England

Re: Switching from Mac

Postby Edward2 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 9:18 am

Thanks for all the comments, I'll probably go with the built in option as I'm hopefully not "that" stupid to click on spam email attachments..

No doubt be back with more questions when all the bits arrive this week.
Bob, got my 1070 for a really good price so happy with that but would I really notice that much difference with 1dx files?
Birmingham Photographer
http://www.edwardmoss.co.uk/
Edward2
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Switching from Mac

Postby Bobtographer » Mon Nov 14, 2016 1:19 pm

Well if you got your 1070 for a steal - why not ;)

For ref takes approx 7 seconds for my R9 to chug through 10, ISO3200 7D2 files (100% JPG)
AMD R1700 OC 3.8GHz | AMD R9 Fury 4GB | 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200MHz DDR 4 | 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M.2 NVMe
LG 27UD88 | LG 27 ColorPrime | C1 11.3 | Win10 64Pro 1803
Bobtographer
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:01 am
Location: England

Re: Switching from Mac

Postby Edward2 » Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:31 am

Well that's me done with Apple, compared to my old "new/current" £3000 Mac pro D300's 32gb RAM, new PC does this...for £1500...
1DX files; (mac was using a slightly older version of C1)
Building 100 RAW Canon previews; Mac 124 seconds PC 43 seconds

Processing 100 RAW Canon files to full quality jpegs; Mac 102 seconds PC 54 seconds

I've never built a PC before, not one problem along the way, Windows 10 takes a bit of getting used to but nothing I won't get used to.
Birmingham Photographer
http://www.edwardmoss.co.uk/
Edward2
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Switching from Mac

Postby Bobtographer » Wed Nov 23, 2016 7:19 pm

I use the only useful part of OS10 - the Dock - check out Rocket Dock :)

I also use Xplorer2 instead of windows explorer
AMD R1700 OC 3.8GHz | AMD R9 Fury 4GB | 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200MHz DDR 4 | 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M.2 NVMe
LG 27UD88 | LG 27 ColorPrime | C1 11.3 | Win10 64Pro 1803
Bobtographer
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:01 am
Location: England


Return to Capture One 9.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests