Synchronizing folder function doesn't seem to work

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 9.x

Synchronizing folder function doesn't seem to work

Postby NNN635871287213256868 » Sun Jun 19, 2016 4:21 am

I have a folder named Unedited Shoots. I have added several new subfolders in it since the last time I synced in Capture One. When I right-click on the folder and click synchronize folder, not all my folders are being detected/imported.

I have checked to see if I have any global filters set and I do not.

Any suggestions?
NNN635871287213256868
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 4:18 am

Re: Synchronizing folder function doesn't seem to work

Postby NNN635871287213256868 » Mon Jun 27, 2016 9:44 pm

nobody?
NNN635871287213256868
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 4:18 am

Re: Synchronizing folder function doesn't seem to work

Postby narration_sd » Wed Jul 06, 2016 4:35 am

I'm not sure if what you found is a bug.

I have some other serious problems with Synchronize Folder in 9.2 released version (maybe not betas), and working them over caused me to read the dialog it raises carefully.

The first checkbox item on the dialog says, 'Include _known_ subfolders', emphasis mine.

I found indeed that even on working Synchronize with reinstalled 9.1.2, I have to manually add any new folders before they will synchronize.

Hoping this helps...I think an additional checkbox to 'Include any new folders' would be quite appropriate...
narration_sd
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:54 am

Re: Synchronizing folder function doesn't seem to work

Postby NNN635915647520068020 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:33 pm

Hi there,

same problem here: Synchronization on folders does sync new images in existing folders, but it does completely ignore new subfolders within this directory.
Is it really just me and the other 2 people in this thread, who are wondering about missing subfolders.
As mentioned already, I need to add each new subfolder manually before the "synchronisation" can find the new images.

Probably there's a completely different use-case behind that feature than I have in mind. If so, I would be interrested about how other people are using this.

Best regards,
Adalbert

Sorry, I have to add: I'm using version 9.3.0, but also earlier versions of 9 series showed the same behavior.
NNN635915647520068020
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 12:32 pm

Re: Synchronizing folder function doesn't seem to work

Postby title-unknown » Tue Nov 08, 2016 9:50 am

Im in the same boat as all of you. This feature doesn't work the same as it does in Lightroom. It should auto detect and add all sub folders when you invoke the "synchronize folder" feature.
title-unknown
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:57 pm

Re: Synchronizing folder function doesn't seem to work

Postby SFA » Tue Nov 08, 2016 1:15 pm

title-unknown wrote:Im in the same boat as all of you. This feature doesn't work the same as it does in Lightroom. It should auto detect and add all sub folders when you invoke the "synchronize folder" feature.


Create a Support Case with "Enhancement Request" in the title and Phase will use the feedback to assess the priority list for future enhancements.

Bear in mind that this forum is intended to be User to User - the Support Case route is direct to Phase.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6618
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Synchronizing folder function doesn't seem to work

Postby Class A » Mon Nov 28, 2016 11:20 am

I have created a support case about this issue with Phase One and was initially told that the feature works "as designed".

I tried to explain that there should be at least an option to "Include Unknown Subfolders". I can only hope that I was successful in elaboration why I think the current "synchronisation" feature is incomplete.

I encourage everyone who thinks that subfolders should be considered during synchronisation (I find anything else to be very odd, TBH) to create their own support case with Phase One. Apparently, they assign priorities according to the frequency of requests, so it helps to let them know that the number of users wanting this feature is large.

Interestingly, Drew Altdoerffer suggested "synchronisation" as a quick and easy way to add photos to a C1 catalog in a blog article, but his approach -- which I wholeheartedly support -- only makes sense if subfolders are detected as well. Who wants to have all their images in one giant folder?

Perhaps a better way than opening a support case for C1 9 to get a complete (i.e., truly useful) synchronisation feature would be to participate in the current Beta programme and suggest that the current synchronisation feature is incomplete?
Class A
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 7:35 pm

Re: Synchronizing folder function doesn't seem to work

Postby SFA » Mon Nov 28, 2016 7:03 pm

Surely the assumption that all subfolder ase synchronisation targets is entirely reliant on people have good management procedures in place for their sub-folders?

Some may have, others may not.

In a typical C1 session, for example, there is a default output folder and very handy it is too. I use them, complete with further subfolders, a lot.

There is absolutely no way that I would want them auto synchronised unless, in some rare situation, I nominated them as known folders.

I would not be surprised that if 100 people were asked about home something should work there would be 100 different answers about the details. All to save the need to tag a folder as needing to be included in a synchronisation process.

My 2 cents, for what they are worth.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6618
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm


Return to Capture One 9.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron