Mask corrupted / C1 kills layer masks?

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 9.x

Re: Mask corrupted / C1 kills layer masks?

Postby BeO » Sun Feb 28, 2016 7:47 pm

btw, it looks like this:

********************************************************************************
[2016-02-28 16:14:03.219][000][ID:007, ]{APPL } | Application started, version Capture One 9.0.3.14
[2016-02-28 16:14:03.484][265][ID:007, ]{LOG } | Log file initialized.
[2016-02-28 16:14:03.952][468][ID:001, ]{APPL } | INFO : Program closed correctly on last run.
[2016-02-28 16:14:04.108][156][ID:001, ]{APPL } | Starting ImageCore
[2016-02-28 16:14:04.139][031][ID:001, ]{APPL } | Application version : Win.9.0.3.14.9f9ab92.c22e66d
[2016-02-28 16:14:04.139][000][ID:001, ]{APPL } | ImageCore version : Build: 19 Commit: c22e66dca91daaf178a8d37f4f8ec55c0068c632 Branch: release/9.0.x
[2016-02-28 16:14:04.139][000][ID:001, ]{APPL } | XMP Sync is set to : None
[2016-02-28 16:14:04.670][530][ID:014, ]{CAMCO} | Succesfully set the OpenCL setting to Never
[2016-02-28 16:14:06.161][491][ID:025, [FileSyste]{FS } | Starting File System Notifications Processing
[2016-02-28 16:14:06.223][062][ID:024, [FileSyste]{FS } | Starting Queue Processor Thread : [FileSystem] Scheduler SDE [24]
[2016-02-28 16:14:06.223][000][ID:023, [FileSyste]{FS } | Starting Queue Processor Thread : [FileSystem] Scheduler SIU [23]
[2016-02-28 16:14:06.223][000][ID:022, [FileSyste]{FS } | Starting Queue Processor Thread : [FileSystem] Scheduler DE [22]
[2016-02-28 16:14:06.223][000][ID:027, [FileSyste]{FS } | Starting Queue Processor Thread : [FileSystem] Scheduler IU [27]
[2016-02-28 16:14:07.003][780][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | CameraProperty: Name='', Value set to ''
[2016-02-28 16:14:07.003][000][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | CameraProperty: Name='', Value set to ''
[2016-02-28 16:14:07.003][000][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | CameraProperty: Name='', Value set to ''
[2016-02-28 16:14:07.003][000][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | CameraProperty: Name='', Value set to ''
[2016-02-28 16:14:07.003][000][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | CameraProperty: Name='', Value set to ''
[2016-02-28 16:14:07.003][000][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | CameraProperty: Name='', Value set to ''
[2016-02-28 16:14:07.003][000][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | CameraProperty: Name='', Value set to ''
[2016-02-28 16:14:07.003][000][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | CameraProperty: Name='', Value set to ''
[2016-02-28 16:14:08.594][591][ID:001, Main]{PSIST} | Opening document : C:\Users\abc\Pictures\NewTrial\C1.cocatalogdb
[2016-02-28 16:14:09.125][530][ID:042, ]{PSIST} | Number of collections loaded for the document is: 102
[2016-02-28 16:14:09.172][046][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | RequestPopulateContents is called for All Images
[2016-02-28 16:14:09.187][015][ID:039, [Collectio]{PSIST} | Loading collection All Images
[2016-02-28 16:14:09.484][296][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | RequestPopulateContents is called for All Images
[2016-02-28 16:14:09.640][156][ID:039, [Collectio]{PFORM} | s_freePreallocatedLocksPool is exhausted
[2016-02-28 16:14:09.640][000][ID:039, [Collectio]{PFORM} | s_freePreallocatedLocksPool is exhausted
[2016-02-28 16:14:09.998][358][ID:040, Persistenc]{VIEWE} | Error: VariantGridView.OnSelectionPropertyChanged SmartBeginInvoke failed - this could mean one missing viewer update
[2016-02-28 16:14:10.753][755][ID:001, Main]{LOG } | User log: description = [Capture One started], details = [The application was started successfully]
[2016-02-28 16:14:12.111][357][ID:014, ]{CAMCO} | Succesfully set the OpenCL External setting to Auto
[2016-02-28 16:14:12.532][421][ID:014, ]{CAMCO} | Succesfully set the OpenCL setting to Never
[2016-02-28 16:14:12.532][000][ID:014, ]{CAMCO} | Succesfully set the OpenCL External setting to Auto

[2016-02-28 16:14:29.636][103][ID:001, Main]{PSIST} | Mask corrupted, regenerating.
[2016-02-28 16:14:29.636][000][ID:001, Main]{PSIST} | Mask corrupted, regenerating.
[2016-02-28 16:14:29.636][000][ID:001, Main]{PSIST} | Mask corrupted, regenerating.
[2016-02-28 16:14:29.636][000][ID:001, Main]{PSIST} | Mask corrupted, regenerating.
[2016-02-28 16:14:29.636][000][ID:001, Main]{PSIST} | Mask corrupted, regenerating.
[2016-02-28 16:14:29.636][000][ID:001, Main]{PSIST} | Mask corrupted, regenerating.
[2016-02-28 16:14:29.636][000][ID:001, Main]{PSIST} | Mask corrupted, regenerating.
[2016-02-28 16:14:29.636][000][ID:001, Main]{PSIST} | Mask corrupted, regenerating.
[2016-02-28 16:14:29.636][000][ID:001, Main]{PSIST} | Mask corrupted, regenerating.
[2016-02-28 16:14:35.112][475][ID:039, [Collectio]{SESPS} | Loading collection finished. Document Type: Catalog. Collection Name: All Images. Collection items count = 4102. Time taken: 25927 ms.
[2016-02-28 16:18:34.743][631][ID:001, Main]{PFORM} | Form Closing - Reason: UserClosing
[2016-02-28 16:18:34.790][046][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | Cancelling collection filling of All Images
[2016-02-28 16:18:34.868][078][ID:031, ]{PFORM} | s_freePreallocatedLocksPool is exhausted
[2016-02-28 16:18:36.688][820][ID:001, Main]{PFORM} | s_freePreallocatedLocksPool is exhausted
[2016-02-28 16:18:37.646][958][ID:001, Main]{PFORM} | s_freePreallocatedLocksPool is exhausted
[2016-02-28 16:18:37.824][178][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | Closing app: Message pump stopped
[2016-02-28 16:18:37.828][004][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | Closing...
[2016-02-28 16:18:37.884][056][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | Closing app: Closing the IC crash handlers
[2016-02-28 16:18:38.412][528][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | Closing app: Closing OpenCore
[2016-02-28 16:18:38.512][100][ID:001, Main]{APPL } | Shutdown of managers and cores completed
[2016-02-28 16:18:39.300][788][ID:001, Main]{PFORM} | Shutdown end


In this above case the second variant of an image lost all 9 layer masks.

Sometimes
[2016-02-28 16:21:31.106][478][ID:045, ThumbnailB]{PSIST} | Mask corrupted, regenerating.
BeO
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Mask corrupted / C1 kills layer masks?

Postby Richard Allen » Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:27 pm

BeO wrote:Hi Richard,

Adjust>Fill Mask: If you mask any closed geometry, then Fill mask fills the empty pixels within that geometry. In case your mask is empty, then it fills the whole image. Is it that what you mean? When you say "then the mask comes back." does it means the whole image is masked and you expect that?

I can't imagine a use case for a mask with 100% image coverage (and equal opacity, gradients are a different story of course).

In case you usually have masks with lesser area coverage (or gradients) and you need to Fill mask and then you have 100% coverage then the mask was either empty by you or you have found a mask which was killed by C1.

I have an image that I believe was first edited in capture One Pro 8 which has a gradient mask applied to the sky.

I then open the same image in Capture One Pro 9 and the gradient mask for the sky isn't automatically re-applied when the image is opened; to do so I have to select the gradient mask and then select Adjust>Fill Mask for the mask to show again.

Very odd behaviour.


10 minutes ago another image lost its mask... (v9 trial on new PC)

Maybe C1 writes bytewise new information like version of userinfo and if the new version or userinfo has more bytes then it overwrites some bytes in the file and therefore corrupts one or more masks in the file?

Yes Grant, I don't use sessions.

Cheers
BeO
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." -- Albert Einstein
Richard Allen
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:38 pm
Location: Waltham Abbey, Essex, UK

Re: Mask corrupted / C1 kills layer masks?

Postby SFA » Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:54 pm

The Message seemingly produced about masks and problems looks fairly simple in its interpretation. But is it?

What do we know abut when it is deployed, where it is used and what it is intended to report?

Absent that knowledge it is an interesting puzzle but not much else that we can be sure about.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 5999
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Mask corrupted / C1 kills layer masks?

Postby BeO » Sun Feb 28, 2016 10:05 pm

Grant, we know nothing from the message itself, but I know that the mask pixel are lost and the file size is smaller after the "regeneration", and I know this by observation.

Richard, I now got you. This does not help in my case, when I "Fill mask" a lost mask layer I got a complete 100% fill, not a restore of the original mask.

Cheers
BeO
BeO
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Mask corrupted / C1 kills layer masks?

Postby Christian Gruner » Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:22 am

I have talked to our developers about this, and they would very much like to investigate this more. We have been aware of this issue for a while, but with more data, we are able make a better fix.

Those of You who experience this issue, please write Support and reference my response here. We can then setup a TeamViewer session or extraction of more data, once we have Your contact details.

Thank You for all your hard work here.
Test-Manager, Capture One, Phase One A/S
Christian Gruner
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1813
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:48 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Mask corrupted / C1 kills layer masks?

Postby BeO » Mon Feb 29, 2016 11:39 am

Hi Christian,

Thank you, this is very good news and very much appreciated!

I've written already quite a lot in my support case and have attached 2 comask files for an image (original/after regeneration), this might maybe already helpful as a starting point for the developers?

Contact
I think my contact details (e.g. email) are accessible for you from my account, case number is 212983.

Maybe you can forward this information, the case has not yet been answered, maybe because of workload, so an additional case might not be recognized soon.

I think there are a number of observations, some of them are not easy to reproduce "on demand", i.e. hard to show in a web session, without a proper demonstation path prepared. I therefore suggest that you (respective development) formulate some ideas what you would like to see.

A short summary of my observations

0. Actual root cause for the mask "corruption" event: That's what we all look for but notthing directly to show, can't determine when and why exactly it happens, so it might only be possible to identify by researching indirect observations or source code inspection?

1. comask file "modification date" is changed when variant is viewed in viewer (easy to reproduce)

2. Image filename is not metioned in application.log when comask file exists but a mask is said to be corrupted.
Adding this information would ease the search.

3. ZMASKUUID is newly created if a mask is "regenerated" as an empty mask (which makes backup comask files useless, because the mask from the backup then is also recognized as "corrupted", suspiciously due to UUID mismatch). This was true for some of the affected images, not for all (some backup files worked). Hard to reproduce for a single layer corrupted, easy if the whole comask file is missing.
Keeping the UUID could ease the pain if a mask gets corrupted and user detects that and still has an uncorrupted backup file.

4. ZMASKUUID remains identical for a layer but ZVARIANTLAYER.Z_PK changes (hard to reproduce). This happened for many images, not only for those which have lost masks. (Observation via SQL, attached to the support case). No idea how to reproduce.

When I say "hard to reproduce" it means that I haven't tried to reproduce it, it sometimes is only an observation after things went wrong, not sure when it went wrong, that's why it is hard to reproduce.

My suspicion is that the corrupted mask "detection" occurs when writing to the comaks file. Writing to the comask file probably occurs when viewing the image. So point 1 (what are the criteria to write, and what data is written on viewing an image) might be a good starting point for your own research as a preparation?

I am very open to help in any way I can.

Cheers
BeO
BeO
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Mask corrupted / C1 kills layer masks?

Postby SFA » Mon Feb 29, 2016 1:00 pm

Christian,

I am not sure about this but it has occurred to me that some useful information about processing activity may be split across log files.

Has this been looked at already?

Has anyone identified some sections of files and combined them in order to see if a repeating series of events can be observed?

I am considering do it with my files but I'm not at all sure I have seen adverse results from the problems mentioned above so I could be wasting the effort.



Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 5999
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Mask corrupted / C1 kills layer masks?

Postby Christian Gruner » Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:27 pm

Some of oddities have been fixed with the just-released CO 9.1, more here: viewtopic.php?f=62&t=22332
Test-Manager, Capture One, Phase One A/S
Christian Gruner
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1813
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:48 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Mask corrupted / C1 kills layer masks?

Postby BeO » Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:15 pm

Thanks Christian.
BeO
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Mask corrupted / C1 kills layer masks?

Postby NN636021790358243348UL » Fri Sep 09, 2016 1:33 am

Hey There Masterminds from Phase One!
I came from Aperture and now using your great Software.
Thanks for all that kind of hard work.
I am using Capture One Pro 9.2.1 on a MAC Book MacBook Pro (17-inch, Mid 2009), OS X El Capitan, 10.11.6 (15G1004).
2,8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3, no windows on it. Sorry i haven´t read the headline.
But the same Problem.
Came back from Holiday with about 2300 pics and 400 have to find their way into a photobook.
The files a delivered, all perfect. Thanks god for that.
After that, i want to number all my seven folder for my sessions. (Diffrent sessions)
Go to finder and changed the folder name, ass well the 4 Sommerurlaub Dachstein.cosessiondb
On the next day i got a failure code (window) on my session from the holiday.
it was a german window and it says something about "anpassungs maske kann nicht geladen werden".
"mask could not be loaded".
Going into several other pictures, the sliders have the position on which it was applied for the mask.
But the effect was not visible.
Either by changing the slider or by on/off selection of the respective mask.
But on a other session, the mask is there and the effect could be seen.
Thereafter i deleted the number on the folder as well on the cosession file.
restart the computer, restart the capture one pro.
several times.
Allways a fault code on the "Dachstein" folder.
opening the file with a texteditor shows only a few lines.
"XCon¿Bæ∫˛ TYPE¿CaptureOne Mask˛VER˛
ˇˇMaskInfo"Hdr"ˇ¿– ˛!ˇˇUserInfo"$A45F3573-B4D9-48FA-A4D5-B7C62DE7EAC7˛1ˇˇUserInfo"$412064B1-CC90-403B-AB07-06EB64960AB8˛1ˇˇUserInfo"$48DACFA3-8206-4990-B4A3-19B6653B3CF7˛1ˇˇUserInfo"$2B78C33D-BF73-402A-860A-346C45C90EC3˛1ˇˇUserInfo"$7ADF969D-8787-4C25-BCA3-57CB35FB0100˛1˛DsMapoP˛oYMapoP˛oYMapoP˛oYMapoP˛oYMapoP˛oYBlk"ˇHdr"ˇ˛ˇˇIdx"˛dat˛˛7˛C3i"

The other ones from other selected sessions, did have more entries in the comask file.
I thought i could bring them back by time machine, but unfortunately i did not save the folders from capture one sessions due to the external HDD was on the "EXCLUDE File List" from time machine due to the size of the HDD.
So i could not bring them back or load it from a few days before.
i tried to repair the HDD by "zugriffsrechte reparieren" but also it won´t work.
I tried also inside the programm the verify function.
did not help.


Mit Datenbank verbunden
/Volumes/Media/Capture One Sitzungen/4 Sommerurlaub Dachstein/4 Sommerurlaub Dachstein.cosessiondb

Datenbank Verbindung OK

Überprüfe Datenbank…Checking database integrity
Database integrity OK
Checking database structure
Checking database structure: tables
Checking database structure: tables structure
Checking database table 'ZCAPTUREPILOT' structure.
Checking database table 'ZCOLLECTION' structure.
Checking database table 'ZDOCUMENTCONTENT' structure.
Checking database table 'ZENABLEDOUTPUTRECIPE' structure.
Checking database table 'ZENTITIES' structure.
Checking database table 'ZIMAGE' structure.
Checking database table 'ZIMAGEINCOLLECTIONPROPERTIES' structure.
Checking database table 'ZKEYWORD' structure.
Checking database table 'ZPATHLOCATION' structure.
Checking database table 'ZPROCESSHISTORY' structure.
Checking database table 'ZSELECTEDVARIANTS' structure.
Checking database table 'ZSIDECAR' structure.
Checking database table 'ZSTACK' structure.
Checking database table 'ZSTACKIMAGELINK' structure.
Checking database table 'ZVARIANT' structure.
Checking database table 'ZVARIANTLAYER' structure.
Checking database table 'ZVARIANTMETADATA' structure.
Checking database table 'ZVERSIONINFO' structure.
Checking database structure: triggers
Checking database structure: indexes
Database structure OK
Checking database content
Checking document type
Checking document type done
Checking document UUID
Checking document UUID done
Checking document selected collection
Checking document selected collection done
Checking Capture Pilot settings
Checking Capture Pilot settings done
Checking layer ordering values
Checking layer ordering values done
Checking layer for missing metadata
Checking layer for missing metadata done
Checking metadata for missing layers
Checking metadata for missing layers done
Checking variant relationships
Checking variant relationships done
Checking image variant relationships
Checking image variant relationships done
Checking variant image relationships
Checking variant image relationships done
Checking local adjustment layer UUIDs
Checking local adjustment layer UUIDs done
Checking style adjustment layer UUIDs
Checking style adjustment layer UUIDs done
Checking stack image relationships
Checking stack image relationships done
Checking stack collection relationships
Checking stack collection relationships done
Checking image relationships
Checking image relationships done
Checking stack-image links
Checking stack-image links done
Checking stack-image links for duplicates
Checking stack-image links done
Checking for duplicate stacks
Checking for duplicate stacks done
Checking sidecar entities
Checking sidecar entities done
Database content OK

Debug OK

I tried to reload the preview pics, no help.

Is there any chance to bring back the applied mask and the effect??
Thanks in advance
Peter, from the AUSTRIA
NN636021790358243348UL
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 8:57 am

Re: Mask corrupted / C1 kills layer masks?

Postby Richard Allen » Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:16 pm

I've just noticed that this has happened again.

I upgraded to 10.0.2 and all the previous masks I have created are still showing as being there but are non active.

By that I mean that if I select any mask I have created prior to the update the mask show in the list but if I select a amsk and press 'M' nothing happens (no red mask appears) and if I remove the tick from a mask nothing happens.

All that work wasted, again!

I'm not impressed!!!
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." -- Albert Einstein
Richard Allen
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:38 pm
Location: Waltham Abbey, Essex, UK

Re: Mask corrupted / C1 kills layer masks?

Postby SFA » Wed Feb 08, 2017 1:52 pm

Richard_Allen wrote:I've just noticed that this has happened again.

I upgraded to 10.0.2 and all the previous masks I have created are still showing as being there but are non active.

By that I mean that if I select any mask I have created prior to the update the mask show in the list but if I select a amsk and press 'M' nothing happens (no red mask appears) and if I remove the tick from a mask nothing happens.

All that work wasted, again!

I'm not impressed!!!


Richard,

Have you renamed the problem file per chance?

Or does this happen for all files?

The comask files are in a different folder in a session but I would guess they are referenced by the cosessiondb file and so something similar is likely in a catalog. That could lead to the editor knowing about the layer but not the mask to apply to it.

As an experiment one might take a couple of minutes to create a new import (to a new session) of the existing files with their adjustments to see what happens. For a catalogue I would guess that one would need to first export with adjustments (EIP?) and then import again - or maybe just try Export to new catalogue directly?

The question is whether the cause is the same as previously or something new and unfortunately similar.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 5999
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Previous

Return to Capture One 9.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests