Preview saturation

General discussion regarding photography practices and Capture One workflow as well as integration with third party applications.
Please DO NOT post to this thread regarding OS specific concerns or questions.
Forum rules
For the sake of being thorough, please remember to note if you are using Mac or Windows.
Hopefully this will keep any confusion to a minimum.

Preview saturation

Postby NNN636858814109688210 » Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:09 pm

Hi everyone!

I'm an almost total newbie in Photography. I just bought myself the first Canon DSLR. But as I'm perfectionist, I wanna start as high as possible with my new hobby.

I downloaded the trial versions of most popular RAW converters and I'm absolutely in love with color editing capabilities of Capture ONE as well as overall color renderings of my CR2 files.

I've encountered one problem, which I guess was the case on few other topics here, but wasn't properly diagnosed. Ad rem.

There is a significant difference in color reproduction on preview image (viewing 'fit to screen' with image cache set above my screen resolution) and 100% image. I'm not sure how should I describe it, it's kinda warmer (other temperature) or maybe more saturated or has more oranges and less magentas. The thing is, it's is really noticeable on photos with higher ISO (really annoying with 6400).

Viewing in Proof mode doesn't solve the problem, as the colors of 100% and fast previews are rendered the same. The rendered output files (whichever recipe used) look of course same as the 100% view.
But if I wanna make use of awesome color editing possibilities of CO then I have to lower my image cache, which means every little adjustment takes frustrating amount of time to calculate (the more of them the slower), which makes work unbearably sluggish.