Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

General discussion regarding photography practices and Capture One workflow as well as integration with third party applications.
Please DO NOT post to this thread regarding OS specific concerns or questions.
Forum rules
For the sake of being thorough, please remember to note if you are using Mac or Windows.
Hopefully this will keep any confusion to a minimum.

Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby NNN636736257860195320 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:21 pm

Hi

I am trying to move to C1 from Lightroom. I have a big Lightroom Catalogue of the last 5 years with about 70000 images.
Its a mix of JPG, Olympus RAW, Canon RAW and now Sony RaWS. When I import the catalogue only 24000 images are imported, mostly the oldest ones from 2014. I tried this so many times I dont get it. It imports the rating, keywords as well as collections, but only partially the image. Any Ideas why it does that? It says 20000 images could not be importet. No mention why. Nevertheless 24k plus 20k is still not the full # of images.

When I start the import it starts to read the catalogue and displays the total images of the lightroom catalogue correctly.

I am looking for help. Thanks
NNN636736257860195320
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:16 am

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby IanL » Wed Jun 12, 2019 3:27 pm

I had some issues with my 62k catalogue that I eventually resolved. I wrote about what worked here:
viewtopic.php?f=52&t=27207#p130622

Tldr version is C1 does not import multiple variants and does not handle some formats. In the end I was able to get a smooth import of an entire LR catalog by using my LR catalog and creating a new LR catalog that only contained one variant of each image and skipped the various unsupported files.

After reading those threads if you still don't have success I recommend opening a support case - they helped me out.
IanL
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:24 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby NNN636736257860195320 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:50 pm

ok thanks that is superb. I indeed have dngs virtual copies and movies in lightroom. So there is no equivalent in C1 to virtual copies? I am exporting those into a separate folder, make a separate lightroom catalog for them and remove them out of the big catalog. takes a while.. will import the remainder again into C1 and hopefully that will work.

I will report back.
NNN636736257860195320
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:16 am

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby NNN636736257860195320 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 5:51 am

no luck. imported again only 24k images. i did a folder to folder comparison betwen lightroom and C. Strange it doesn import some jpg images as part of the catalogue. when I manually import the jpgs as images it works.
This really should not happen.

I exported every year in LR as a separate catalogue to import. Lets see what happens.
NNN636736257860195320
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:16 am

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby IanL » Thu Jun 13, 2019 3:22 pm

NNN636736257860195320 wrote:So there is no equivalent in C1 to virtual copies?


Yes, they are called variants. They are not as flexible in C1 - for example you cannot put just one variant into an album and a different variant into a different album. Apparently you can with smart albums but not with manual ones. Supporting this is a feature request that has been asked for so hopefully someday.
IanL
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:24 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby IanL » Thu Jun 13, 2019 3:24 pm

NNN636736257860195320 wrote:no luck. imported again only 24k images. i did a folder to folder comparison betwen lightroom and C.


Bummer. I did a folder by folder comparison to figure out my problems - on conjunction with C1 support. I would recommend opening a case and letting them know what you found in your folder by folder comparison. There could be a bug they need to log and or they may have suggestions that will work for you.
IanL
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:24 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby NNN636937187209891793 » Sat Jun 15, 2019 6:50 pm

I'm experiencing similar although not as significant issues with importing my catalogue, ~700 of 27K images didn't import. I've searched around for a log of the import to help me see what images didn't get imported, but there doesn't seem to be one. Not sure how you did the folder comparison, as I have hundreds of folders from shots over the last 10 years. Care to explain how you did it, as I expect you didn't do it manually.
Thanks
Ira
NNN636937187209891793
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 8:38 pm

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby IanL » Tue Jun 18, 2019 6:40 pm

NNN636937187209891793 wrote:Not sure how you did the folder comparison, as I have hundreds of folders from shots over the last 10 years. Care to explain how you did it, as I expect you didn't do it manually.


I expect that is exactly what he did. It is what I did when I was trouble shooting. If you open a support ticket they can help guide you to figure out why those 700 images did not import.
IanL
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:24 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby NNN636736257860195320 » Tue Jun 18, 2019 8:23 pm

well I have my structure like 2017 and then 01, 02 and so on.. so looked at one month and compared folder in file explorer vs # images in lightroom and #images in C1.

i cant make sense. given that some jpg didnt import and that file is supported..or maybe as some images have been taken via phone this isnt a supported camera type. really not sure. to be honest if this is already so much struggle before i even start to use C1 i might just stay with crappy LR. at least i dont have to hunt for my images
NNN636736257860195320
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:16 am

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby NNN636937187209891793 » Tue Jun 18, 2019 9:17 pm

I agree it's a bit of a pain given so many files didn't move over, but I'm looking for a good alternative to Adobe and really like how Capture One handles image processing and the colours are far superior to my eye. I'm viewing the extra time I take to get all the files over no different than the work I had to do when I first adopted LR, to add keywords to all my images. Thankfully there were only about 7K at that point, so 700 files to find and move isn't that big a mountain.

I'll have to submit a feature ticket with Capture One support to have them add a logfile at import so you have a list of files that didn't import to help make it easier to find and fix.
NNN636937187209891793
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 8:38 pm

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby NNN636736257860195320 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 6:52 pm

right.. usually it say xx files unsupported.. and no detail what wasnt supported
NNN636736257860195320
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:16 am

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby NNN636736257860195320 » Mon Jul 01, 2019 7:09 am

Hi

small update> it is done. I importet all images. I now have all 100k images in one catalog. I exportet each year as one lightroom catalog and then importet this. 2017 was somewhat troublesome so I had to export each month separate.

now it is mostly in apart from a few incompatible files. The Ratings etc are all there.

I have 115 5 start images, when i now click on it the grid view only shows 22 and says filtered? Why is it not showing all 115 C1 has in the catalogue? Often i only see empty boxes and no image preview. the cpu is always at 100%. When I want to close C1 it takes ages. So overall it feels a lot slower then lightroom. Is this normal?
NNN636736257860195320
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:16 am

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby IanL » Mon Jul 01, 2019 12:19 pm

When dealing with the all images collection yes it is quite a bit slower. I would recommend opening a support case because they can likely help you make adjustments that will help and they need to know that lots of us are experiencing this as a problem.
IanL
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:24 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby mli20 » Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:45 am

NNN636736257860195320 wrote:right.. usually it say xx files unsupported.. and no detail what wasnt supported

Acceptable for version 0.x or maybe version 1.x software - but version 12?

MLi
mli20
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 5:07 pm

Re: Importing large Lightroom Catalogue

Postby NNN636286928999838177 » Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:37 pm

if you go to Windows->Event Log you can get -some- information on errors. You can also go to C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\CaptureOne\Logs and view the contents of various log files. Those are errors logged by the C1 code and can be helpful in understanding why C1 failed to do something.I have found that file "ImgCore.log" has the most useful information. Try opening this log file after you get your errors then scroll all the way to the bottom and look for the text "ERROR". That might give you some clue as to why it's not working correctly.

I had a lot of problems importing my LR catalog (~20k images) into C1 v. It took me several months to get it right. I didn't have many virtual copies in my LR catalog but after my import to C1 finished, C1 had made a variant of just about every single image in my catalog. I ended up deleting them all manually (that took a few months!).

I have also seen C1 import images from disk (not directly from LR) and totally screw up the color. That seemed to fix itself if I deleted the imported images and tried again (repeat several times). C1 seems to have some problems in this area.
NNN636286928999838177
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:54 am


Return to Workflow and Common Photography Exploration



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests