Capture One Pro 7 & JPEG2000 output

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One DB and Capture One Express 7.x

Capture One Pro 7 & JPEG2000 output

Postby kutnahora » Thu Apr 24, 2014 4:53 am

Hi all,
I've seen that Capture One now supports JPEG2000 output. Can anyone comment on their experience using this and how they've found the results?
Also, does anyone know if the JP2 output is based on existing JP2 converter software/library (e.g. Kakadu) or whether it is proprietary?


Process to additional formats
You can now process to several additional file formats. Besides JPEG, TIFF, Capture One Pro 7 offers processing to JPEG XR or JPEG 2000 files with higher or lossless compression, to PNG files, to one-layer PSD files or to calibrated DNG files.
[link]
kutnahora
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:27 am

Re: Capture One Pro 7 & JPEG2000 output

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Thu May 01, 2014 7:54 am

I think JPEG2000 is very little used. Regarding the sofware/library you'd best contact Phase One in a support case.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist, Capture One trainer
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 8902
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Capture One Pro 7 & JPEG2000 output

Postby kutnahora » Mon May 05, 2014 6:26 am

You are correct that JP2K is not that common, but it has some uptake in cultural heritage imaging (my line of work) hence why I'm curious.

I've been using C1 Pro 7 for a week or two now, no problems outputting JP2. However, it's not clear exactly WHAT I'm outputting. The output screen simply has a point slider to set the quality. Does this mean that quality=100 is lossless and any lower setting is lossy? I would appreciate it if someone from Phase could clarify this.
kutnahora
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:27 am

Re: Capture One Pro 7 & JPEG2000 output

Postby CliffCheney » Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:10 am

I am also not clear on how to verify that the 100% JP2 is in fact a lossless output for a cultural heritage workflow.
CliffCheney
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:28 pm
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: Capture One Pro 7 & JPEG2000 output

Postby CliffCheney » Thu Oct 08, 2015 1:45 pm

The 100% JPEG2000 export from C1 7 is not lossless.

I did a difference layer comparison in Photoshop of a 100% JP2 from C1 and the original TIF. I then adjusted the Levels to accentuate the differences. If it were lossless there would be nothing but pure black.

Image
CliffCheney
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:28 pm
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: Capture One Pro 7 & JPEG2000 output

Postby CliffCheney » Thu Oct 08, 2015 2:42 pm

I am opening a support ticket.
CliffCheney
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:28 pm
Location: Cairo, Egypt


Return to Capture One 7.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests