Will Media Pro be Updated?

Discussions about Phase One Media Pro and Media Pro SE

Will Media Pro be Updated?

Postby Jimmy D Uptain » Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:28 am

Its a simple question.
Now that C1 is on V9, Media Pro doesn't honor changes made in the software.
C1 Pro's asset solution doesn't include all the features that I need in a DAM.
I just want to know where Phase One stands with this software. You still offer it for sale, so can I assume that it will be updated?
User avatar
Jimmy D Uptain
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Will Media Pro be Updated?

Postby Brakkar » Sat Jan 16, 2016 1:07 am

I purchased it very recently... i certainly hope it's not a dead product.
Brakkar
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 11:52 am

Re: Will Media Pro be Updated?

Postby macsrock » Sat Jan 16, 2016 2:07 pm

i found iview multimedia on the web in 1996 or so. it was free and was amazing.
Microsoft bought it called it Expressions Media. They broke it. Eventually shelved it, then sold it to Phase One.
Now it is Media Pro, has to be purchased and is broken in different ways.

It is the best DAM software available, even broken. But company after company buys it and misses the point. They all want to integrate it into their software. Cannibalize it. Why????

So welcome to our world of buggy DAM management.

Phase One...please make Media Pro a stand alone application. Have fun with your cool cameras and dedicated software. But develop both applications to be great on their own AND able to work seamlessly together.
User avatar
macsrock
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:44 pm

Re: Will Media Pro be Updated?

Postby CAPTURE NIKON D700 » Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:30 pm

i am really happy when Phase one do that :roll:
but look what they build inside Capture One 9 now .. the new Keywords function.. this telling you that Phase one have problem with developing Media Pro ! i thing also that the developer are not the same team working
in Capture One .

This is my wish list to Phase one.
1. a new program rework for getting Media pro good Profi DAM and stronger use.
2. Media Pro design should looks exactly the same like Capture One.
3. Media Pro should bee a part inside Capture One . just like NIKON VIEW I und NIKON CAPTURE NXD
4. all the reworks on images inside C1 should bee automatically updated in Media Pro.

thats it , great Job thanks you for the new Update..... :D
CAPTURE NIKON D700
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 11:57 pm

Re: Will Media Pro be Updated?

Postby harald_walker » Sat Jan 16, 2016 8:23 pm

While at least some developers of iView Multimedia went to Microsoft when they got acquired, as far as I can tell none of them is now working for Phase One (I found many of them on LinkedIn). So, they have some very old legacy code to deal with, which is already hard enough even if you have the people that wrote it originally.
Would probably be better to rewrite it from scratch or just take the good features and add it directly in C1 (which I think is exactly what they are doing). If I am right, I wish they would just clearly communicate it.
harald_walker
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 7:27 pm
Location: The Netherlands / Germany

Re: Will Media Pro be Updated?

Postby syncrasy » Sat Jan 16, 2016 10:41 pm

harald_walker wrote:... Would probably be better to rewrite it from scratch or just take the good features and add it directly in C1 (which I think is exactly what they are doing). If I am right, I wish they would just clearly communicate it.


I would prefer a standalone Media Pro, but whatever Phase One intends, the company should communicate its intentions. And before a Phase One representative responds with the usual "we don't discuss our plans," I would like to remind PO that it isn't unheard of for software companies to provide "road maps" for future software development (for example, see "TechSmith's Camtasia Future Roadmap").

Road maps can foster good will with customers. But even if the news is bad, honesty will be valued more than obscurity or silence.
— Mark
Camera & Computer: Nikon D500, D7100 • Mac Pro (mid 2010), various OSs
DAM: Media Pro SE
Image Editors: Nikon Capture NX 2, NX-D • Photoshop CS6

(as of 2018)
syncrasy
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:05 am
Location: USA

Re: Will Media Pro be Updated?

Postby Jim_DK » Wed Jan 20, 2016 3:11 pm

James
Phase One DK
Jim_DK
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:00 pm

Re: Will Media Pro be Updated?

Postby NNN636544535841126093 » Sat Feb 17, 2018 8:44 am

Hello all,
I am a newbie here..!!
NNN636544535841126093
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:39 am
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal


Return to Media Pro and Media Pro SE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest