Media Pro crashing or "hanging"

Discussions about Phase One Media Pro and Media Pro SE

Re: Media Pro crashing or "hanging"

Postby Johnnykurtz » Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:57 pm

Thank you Phase One for responding to this issue and your very informative input has really helped.

Nevermind, wrong planet.
Cheers,
Johnny Kurtz

Advertising Photographer

w: www.johnnykurtz.com b: www.johnnykurtz.com/blog
User avatar
Johnnykurtz
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 11:57 pm
Location: Salt Lake City

Re: Media Pro crashing or "hanging"

Postby Drew » Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:21 am

Thanks Johnny :D

As you've seen via the support system, our responses are fast and thorough. If you feel the need to further address this issue please create one as you have in the past.
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Media Pro crashing or "hanging"

Postby rmoorlag » Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:27 pm

Some explanation perhaps?
Roelof
Previously Expression Media v2 SP2 (2.0.2096.0) on Win7 SP1 64bit 16Gb. Nowadays Lightroom 6.x
Last post on this forum: 8 may 2015
http://www.digitaalfotobeheer.nl
User avatar
rmoorlag
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Media Pro crashing or "hanging"

Postby Rowat » Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:24 pm

@Johnny - I am having all the same issues as everyone else above, also on a Win7 64bit machine. Hanging more or less all the time when I try to import images on either a new catalogue or an existing catalogue.

@Drew - I am sure that you do respond quickly to officially submitted tickets, but I think the greater community would benefit from you posting all of that information here too.

The way most people trouble-shoot is to google and hit the forums first, and then rarely do they go to the extra step of actually submitting an official ticket - mainly because there is generally a lag of a 1-3 days (if you are fortunate) before a response comes through. So imagine that for every 'official' ticket that you receive there are probably 10x other users or more who are having the same issue but haven't bothered to actually submit a ticket.

If the info were already here and available in the forums it would have two benefits: (1) the end user (me!) would be able to quickly solve the problem and move on (2) you would have to devote less resources at Phase to actively supporting tickets, because you would have fewer to deal with.

Phase is very fortunate that the community that uses Media Pro generally knows what they are doing, and are really passionate about the program, and *want* you to succeed because it gives us all a better platform.

My 2 cents.


Andrew.
Rowat
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 3:11 am
Location: New York City

Re: Media Pro crashing or "hanging"

Postby Blaya » Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:51 pm

I have the same issue, with 7 and XP, after the update 1.3.
I take a ticket, but no solution.
Today I reinstal 1.2.
MP2+CO10+P40+Adobe CC+5Dmark4+5DS+LeicaSL+pc I7+W10 64bits SSD
and MP2+CO9+Adobe CC+Pc I5+W7 64bits
Blaya
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 9:05 am
Location: sud ouest france

Re: Media Pro crashing or "hanging"

Postby Blaya » Tue Oct 30, 2012 5:16 pm

I talk PhaseOne for weeks for nothing.
There are a few days I returned to Mediapro 1.2 and everything works well.
Importing 36 000 pictures without crash.
Is that someone else can try this solution ?

Ps : Drew, please, What is the solution for johnny ?
MP2+CO10+P40+Adobe CC+5Dmark4+5DS+LeicaSL+pc I7+W10 64bits SSD
and MP2+CO9+Adobe CC+Pc I5+W7 64bits
Blaya
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 9:05 am
Location: sud ouest france

Re: Media Pro crashing or "hanging"

Postby HCS » Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:38 pm

You have to appeal to Johnny, because P1 personnel is not going to reveal support cases on this forum.
HCS
 
Posts: 451
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:48 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Media Pro crashing or "hanging"

Postby PhaseoneUser86086 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:10 pm

I've had various versions of this software for years on my Mac.
Always upgraded hoping the problems would be fixed to be at least useable - unfortunately it never happened.
Media Pro has always been unuseable for me.
I've yet to find a DAM software that works properly, that's under $700.
I wish they'd fix this damn thing. I don't need to use this often, but when I do, I spend hours trying to get it to work ( it may for while and then hangs) then I spend hours trying to find another piece of software.
You pay money and you still end up with shit, no other business but the software business works this way.
PhaseoneUser86086
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 8:49 am

Re: Media Pro crashing or "hanging"

Postby NNN634320717969338257 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 6:48 pm

I have experenced same problems plus some more... (working with Win 7, 64 bits). Finally I felt I have done with MP and started to look around for another DAMs and currently doing some trialing with iMatch.

This is painful task to make a swap if you have some 7 years archive containing 80+ k image files. Fortunately my MP visit was not so long, so I have not everything to redo with another software.

-Mark
NNN634320717969338257
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:20 pm

Re: Media Pro crashing or "hanging"

Postby Rowat » Wed Nov 21, 2012 7:45 pm

Mark -

I hear you. Let us know what you come up with. I

have reverted to using Expression Media which works (more or less) fine.

What I do find peculiar though is that Phase themselves seem to be quite silent on the matter in this thread - it is baffling to me that a company with an existing customer base seems to be ignoring that base of users. The amount of money that banks, cellphone companies, etc spend to *attract* new customers is huge; let alone the $$ to retain them. So with a motivated base of users trying to use the software I just can't understand why there haven't been official announcements/movement from Phase.

I suspect that the experience goes something like this: downloads trial of new software -> tries to get it work without hanging/glitches -> goes on internet / phase forum to search for solutions -> can't find solution -> can't be bothered to open a support ticket (not sure if Phase deals with support tickets for trial software or not) -> moves along and takes their business to another software.....

Phase?
Rowat
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 3:11 am
Location: New York City

Re: Media Pro crashing or "hanging"

Postby Jim MSP » Thu Dec 13, 2012 5:32 pm

I just had another very bad crash during a "save". It was bad enough that the catalog was totally corrupted when I looked at it upon a restart. Fortunately, I had a backup I could reopen and bring up to date. I started a year or so ago renumbering them so I could keep track of the bad crashes. My latest catalog is v23. UGH.
If i didn't prefer MP +CO7 to the latest LR, I'd switch - LR has never crashed on me. But I'm losing my patience as I waste my time.
Just another note to the users - back up your working catalog very often.

I hope MP is updated soon - an update is overdue.
Jim
Windows 7 Professional x64
i7 -3720 CPU @ 2.60GHz, 4 Core(s)
SSD , Physical Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB
CO 7 Pro, M Pro 1.4
Jim MSP
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:20 pm

Re: Media Pro crashing or "hanging"

Postby Blaya » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:11 am

Copy of my last message to Phase One tech case

"Hello,
I reinstalled 1.2, but the management of metadata does not work with C1 7.
I reinstalled 1.3, it still does not work in French.
I reinstalled 1.3 in English, it still works as bad, and does not recognize my French vocabulary for metadata.
The beta version 1.4 that you had kindly supplied has expired.
I can not work under these conditions.
When will we have a new update operation?
I began to test the software Extensis Portfolio today."

The beta 1.4 that I've tried worked better without being perfect.
I am completely desperate ...
MP2+CO10+P40+Adobe CC+5Dmark4+5DS+LeicaSL+pc I7+W10 64bits SSD
and MP2+CO9+Adobe CC+Pc I5+W7 64bits
Blaya
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 9:05 am
Location: sud ouest france

Previous

Return to Media Pro / Media Pro SE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests